Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 05-07-2010, 02:29 PM
Felix Rost Felix Rost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 559
Default Re: corrupt audio files PT 8.0.3

I just had the same issue:
The session was fine before I closed.
I opened today and the 1 last recording file is reported offline. It is visible in finder and the workspace browser but can't be opened by any application.
The backup I did right after the recording is the same.

My client needs this file!

Mac OS 10.6.3
LE 8.0.3cs2
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-08-2010, 12:16 AM
Felix Rost Felix Rost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 559
Default Re: corrupt audio files PT 8.0.3

I managed to restore the file with SH header repair.

This is the worst Protools bug since dissappearing regions in 7.3!

(I know 10.6.3 is not yet qualified)
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05-08-2010, 10:01 AM
timragnur timragnur is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: corrupt audio files PT 8.0.3

A friend of mine's got this problem.
Felix> How exactly did you do the header repair, is that some kind of software? Maybe you have a link?
thanks
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05-08-2010, 10:14 AM
Felix Rost Felix Rost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 559
Default Re: corrupt audio files PT 8.0.3

Tim,
I used Soundhack for this, it's free.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 05-14-2010, 01:16 AM
TheLastHobson TheLastHobson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 17
Default Re: corrupt audio files PT 8.0.3

Felix, hate to say it, but I'm pretty sure 8.0.3 has issues with missing regions as well.

good to know about the soundhack fix for these corrupt audio files.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 05-14-2010, 02:25 AM
AdamPT8 AdamPT8 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 393
Default Re: corrupt audio files PT 8.0.3

I have been having similar problems, when inverting a file using the AudioSuite facility, that file can not be found on re-opening the session.

I know I could just invert in using one of the eq's or whatever but this shouldn't be a problem.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 05-14-2010, 12:16 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,531
Default Re: corrupt audio files PT 8.0.3

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamPT8 View Post
I have been having similar problems, when inverting a file using the AudioSuite facility, that file can not be found on re-opening the session.

I know I could just invert in using one of the eq's or whatever but this shouldn't be a problem.
Could you test this using a different drive and let us know if the same problem occurs?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 05-15-2010, 07:54 AM
AdamPT8 AdamPT8 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 393
Default Re: corrupt audio files PT 8.0.3

Just tested this with my system drive and with my external drive, both worked fine this time. As I said though, it seems to just randomly happen. Will it make a difference inverting it on LE and opening it the next time on HD? I think thats when I found out, when I inverted in on my LE and then took it to the HD in the studio. I'm not able to test this atm. Shouldn't be a problem though I wouldn't have thought.

My HDD is a brand new 500GB Lacie D2 Quadra
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 05-15-2010, 05:53 PM
VRS VRS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 112
Default Re: corrupt audio files PT 8.0.3

I had the same problem a few weeks ago.
MacPro 8 core, OS X 10.6.3, PT 8.0.3cs2.

I was recording engineer for 2 days on this session, 20 composers for a seminar with a chamber orchestra. I was not the ProTools engineer so I don't know for sure if there were errors when recording but I suspect not. The person running ProTools was very good.

When I went to mix the sessions, 2 audio files were corrupted. Different sessions. They were in the Audio Files folder, and the Finder saw them but ProTools did not recognize them as audio files.

I suspected a header problem. I tried Soundhack and it would not fix the header.

I opened a hex editor and compared a couple of good tracks of that take against the corrupted track. I noticed the header was fine for the first few bytes until after the ProTools information, then went crazy until the 'data' section then seemed to be OK. I tried just copying the info from the good file to the bad, maintaining the sector count so the file length wouldn't change. It worked.

Now, I had 30 tracks that were recorded at the same time for each take so I could compare one file with another. If I had recorded only one track at a time I don't know if I would have found the header corruption. I haven't had any corrupted files since so I don't know what was going on - although, the studios I've been working at have older versions of PT, not 8.0.3.

I could see if I still have the corrupted files around to specifically detail what I fixed (if anyone is interested) but I suspect that they're gone. I think I fixed the problem and deleted the bad files.
I have mixed all the tracks from that session - on that machine with PT 8.0.3cs2 - and not one corrupted file.

Vince
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 05-17-2010, 01:41 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,531
Default Re: corrupt audio files PT 8.0.3

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamPT8 View Post
Just tested this with my system drive and with my external drive, both worked fine this time. As I said though, it seems to just randomly happen. Will it make a difference inverting it on LE and opening it the next time on HD? I think thats when I found out, when I inverted in on my LE and then took it to the HD in the studio. I'm not able to test this atm. Shouldn't be a problem though I wouldn't have thought.

My HDD is a brand new 500GB Lacie D2 Quadra
I'm thinking it's a bad drive or bad drive format on the one you're having problems with.

If the problem doesn't occur with the drive you're currently using, I would recommend backing up the problematic drive, erase it and copy everything back, then test again.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
corrupt audio files? active Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 08-12-2012 12:24 AM
corrupt audio files PT 9 Pro Logic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 02-16-2011 02:53 PM
Restore Corrupt Audio Files? U2502 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 09-24-2007 10:54 AM
Audio Files corrupt on FireWire drive sphereman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 08-21-2003 02:44 AM
corrupt audio files please help tomcat Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 06-05-2000 01:42 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com