Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-14-2009, 06:08 AM
soul's Avatar
soul soul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 217
Default Magma PCI Expansion Alternative?

Has anyone seen this:

http://www.startech.com/item-downloa...nsion-Bay.aspx

Its $360. Any idea if it will work for PT HD on a PowerMac? I have HD Core, and Process cards PCI which I need to put in a PCIe G5.

Any suggestions or opinions greatly appreciated!

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-14-2009, 06:25 AM
Stereosurfer Stereosurfer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22
Default Re: Magma PCI Expansion Alternative?

Check UA webzine, they did a detail test included HD cards on those chassis, and the best product is way cheaper than Magma
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-14-2009, 06:43 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,476
Default Re: Magma PCI Expansion Alternative?

Quote:
Originally Posted by soulsystem View Post
Has anyone seen this:

http://www.startech.com/item-downloa...nsion-Bay.aspx

Its $360. Any idea if it will work for PT HD on a PowerMac? I have HD Core, and Process cards PCI which I need to put in a PCIe G5.

Any suggestions or opinions greatly appreciated!

Steve
If you mean the Star tech..

PCI Express to 4 Slot PCI Expansion System

It doesn't support Mac and i would have doubts about using a box with no cooling facility! heat can be our worst enemy.

Magma work close with Digi to provide a system that runs smooth under maximum performance and track count, so i would be surprised if they did work reliably when running large mix sessions!

Anyone running such a system?

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-14-2009, 06:52 AM
Stereosurfer Stereosurfer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22
Default Re: Magma PCI Expansion Alternative?

http://www.uaudio.com/webzine/2006/d.../content5.html, check this out!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-14-2009, 09:13 AM
jeremyroberts jeremyroberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 3,020
Default Re: Magma PCI Expansion Alternative?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereosurfer View Post
That article is 3 years old.
__________________
--Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-14-2009, 05:02 PM
soul's Avatar
soul soul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 217
Default Re: Magma PCI Expansion Alternative?

Thanks for the article, good info! I didnt even know there were companies other than Magma making expansion chassis.

Still, it doesn't mention Star Tech. But if Star Tech isn't Mac compatible thats a good reason why not. Im trying to contact the sales rep for the SBS model. Anyone know how much it costs? Or of anything else in the hundreds, not thousands that will get my PCI cards to my PCIe G5?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-14-2009, 09:43 PM
dcboucher dcboucher is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: LA, CA 90025
Posts: 94
Default Re: Magma PCI Expansion Alternative?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremyroberts View Post
That article is 3 years old.
How old is HD for PCIe?

Last edited by dcboucher; 10-15-2009 at 08:23 AM. Reason: added the PCIe bit for relevance
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-23-2009, 06:36 AM
MikeC MikeC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: London, England
Posts: 426
Default Re: Magma PCI Expansion Alternative?

I notice that the manual of the 4 slot expansion bay states that it is Mac compatible.

http://www.startech.com/Data/Product...PEX2PCI4GB.pdf

Cheers,

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-23-2009, 07:56 AM
Ru_C Ru_C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London + Bedford, UK
Posts: 872
Default Re: Magma PCI Expansion Alternative?

You can get this thing from PC world etc in the UK it seems..

http://www.startech.com/WhereToBuy/

http://www.startech.com/item/PEX2PCI...on-System.aspx

http://www.startech.com/item/EC2PCI-...-PEX2PCI4.aspx


http://www.dabs.com/products/startec...sion-5D3W.html

£223 from DABS !

It's almost tempting to just order one & try it with my macbook pro.

If it doesn't work, use the 14 day money back guarantee.

Is there any danger it could blow up a PCI card? Or is the worst that could happen, just rubbish performance & crashing?

x
__________________
Studio A: Mac Pro 12 core, OSX 10.9.5, PT HD 10.3.10, HD3 Accel, AVID I/O 16xanalog i/o x2 , Benchmark DAC1, 32 Fader Procontrol
Studio B: Mac Pro Dual 8 core, OSX 10.8.5, PT 10.3.10, HD3 Accel , 192-Digitalx2, Apogee+Audient/Converters
Home: Mac Pro Dual 8 core, OSX 10.9.5, PT 10.3.10, HD3 Accel. 96 i/o (Dual boot with) OSX 10.13.6, PT 2018.x.x, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Mobile: 2017 Macbook Pro, OSX 10.13.6, PT 2018.x.x, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-23-2009, 08:05 AM
smfelton's Avatar
smfelton smfelton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: South Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 682
Default Re: Magma PCI Expansion Alternative?

Looks interesting but is it long enough to fit the cards in ?
__________________
 OSX 10.11.5, PT 12.5, iConnectAudio4+, Axe FX 2 XL+, Music Man Majesty
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Magma Or Digi PCI expansion? louisenslinproduce Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 01-25-2011 06:55 AM
Has anyone switched from Expansion HD to the new Magma? mixboy bob Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 22 10-30-2007 05:44 PM
MAGMA EXPANSION CHASSIS studiojimi Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 03-09-2007 07:40 PM
Magma expansion on a a 15" or 17" PB G4, OSX, PT6? tlester Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 08-29-2003 12:46 PM
Expansion Chassis Alternative? cjguitar Tips & Tricks 1 05-02-2001 01:07 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com