Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 03-18-2012, 05:23 PM
Carl Kolchak Carl Kolchak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: U.K.
Posts: 2,198
Default Re: Fast paning weirdness

Crikey!

Have you tried duplicating the track, so that you have a hard wired left and right track, and then cutting and fading the audio as an alternative to using automation?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 03-18-2012, 08:47 PM
ggegan ggegan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Culver City, CA
Posts: 389
Default Re: Fast paning weirdness

I would think that this problem has to do with PT having to interpolate panning between breakpoints faster than it is capable of doing. It seems that perhaps the breakpoints give an absolute position, so no interpolation is necessary to describe the pan position at that specific subframe. By subdeviding the linear pan, you reduce the number of calculations.

I remember at one time there was an opposite issue of super long linear automation volume changes (meaning one breakpoint at the start of the change and one at the end) of say one dB taking place over several hours in the timeline causing PT to grind to a halt. The problem was apparently that there were so many calculations taking place to determine the interpolated volume at any given point in time that The computer just couldn't keep up.
__________________
Gary Gegan
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 03-20-2012, 10:17 AM
Irl Sanders Irl Sanders is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 236
Default Re: Fast paning weirdness

You could use the "freehand" tool to draw your pans, if you are just a little shaky with it it will put in plenty of breakpoints. The triangle, square, and random drawing tools put in breakpoints at every grid value. Perhaps Avid could add that feature to the line tool as well.
__________________
Irl Sanders
Music Editor
LA, CA, USA
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-06-2013, 04:54 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,352
Default Re: Fast paning weirdness

Update:

Still happens in PT11.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.6 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 06-05-2019, 07:10 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,352
Default Re: Fast paning weirdness

This stills seems to happen in 2019.5
__________________
PTHDn 2019.6 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New PT10 User. MBox3, MAudio Fast Track Ultra, MAudio Fast Track 8R? epu Pro Tools 10 3 06-13-2012 03:55 PM
digi 001 nor paning right?? broken81 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 11-26-2006 08:37 AM
IR/1 weirdness jeff markham Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 6 09-01-2006 12:54 AM
Paning a stereo channel rodrigo21 Tips & Tricks 2 05-31-2005 07:39 AM
Surround Paning on C24 blairl ICON & C|24 5 07-06-2002 07:36 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com