Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-17-2012, 12:40 AM
Felix Rost Felix Rost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 559
Lightbulb 2 issues with Render Clip Gain

there are 2 things with rendering clip gain which I find not very well implemented:

1. Handle length preference should be separate from Audiosuite processing preference.

2. Render clip gain should only process clips different from 0dB.

Opinions?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-25-2012, 02:53 AM
Felix Rost Felix Rost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 559
Default Re: 2 issues with Render Clip Gain

Really no one interested?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-25-2012, 08:38 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,635
Default Re: 2 issues with Render Clip Gain

#1 I can see, but sometimes a new feature calls for a change in routine(and we do like our old habits, don't we)

#2 not sure I understand your point
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-25-2012, 02:46 PM
Felix Rost Felix Rost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 559
Default Re: 2 issues with Render Clip Gain

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
#1 I can see, but sometimes a new feature calls for a change in routine(and we do like our old habits, don't we)

#2 not sure I understand your point
hi albee,
#1 what are those old habits?

for #2: when you select a bunch of clips and only one of them has clip gain (<>0dB) applied, "render" renders all of them, which is totally unnecesary. If you'd select only this clip, but it's has crossfades to the sides, the neighboring clips also are rendered.
I'd like to be able to select all clips in a session and render only those who are different from 0db, for archiving or exporting to PT versions earlier than 10.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-02-2012, 03:55 AM
Felix Rost Felix Rost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 559
Default Re: 2 issues with Render Clip Gain

Quote:
Originally Posted by Felix Rost View Post
for #2: when you select a bunch of clips and only one of them has clip gain (<>0dB) applied, "render" renders all of them, which is totally unnecesary. If you'd select only this clip, but it's has crossfades to the sides, the neighboring clips also are rendered.
I'd like to be able to select all clips in a session and render only those who are different from 0db, for archiving or exporting to PT versions earlier than 10.
The smallest of those issues has been solved in 10.2.:
Not selected neighboring crossfaded clips are not rendered anymore. Thanks AVID!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-02-2012, 06:06 AM
The golfer The golfer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Montreal / Canada
Posts: 721
Default Re: 2 issues with Render Clip Gain

Quote:
I'd like to be able to select all clips in a session and render only those who are different from 0db, for archiving or exporting to PT versions earlier than 10.
I never had to go back to PT 9 yet but I agree 100%. This is how is should work.
__________________
Serge Hamel
Mixer / Sound Designer
http://www.netpostproduction.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-02-2012, 06:38 AM
Felix Rost Felix Rost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 559
Default Re: 2 issues with Render Clip Gain

I didn't have to go back to PT9 either, but one of my collaborators is mixing still on 9. There's also a lot of other studio still having older version as low as 7.4 around here.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-02-2012, 10:43 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: 2 issues with Render Clip Gain

so you want: Ignore Clip Gain Render if Delta* = 0

* Delta the difference from nominal setting
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adjusting Clip Gain On More Than One Clip Blank Frank macOS 17 05-15-2015 06:34 PM
AudioSuite Gain/Normalize also on Clip Gain A-n-d-i macOS 0 03-13-2014 12:46 PM
Clip gain on clip groups: bug or feature? idris Post - Surround - Video 6 01-02-2013 10:48 PM
Render Clip Gain offsets audio! Felix Rost macOS 11 09-17-2012 08:42 AM
Audiosuite render causes Bus thread error on clips with 'Bypased clip gain' asparknz Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 0 08-19-2012 04:04 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com