Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-23-2009, 09:37 AM
swgerow swgerow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7
Default Pro Tools 8 and Mac G4 compatibility

I've got a Dual 1.25Ghz Mac g4 running PT 7.4 pretty well. I noticed that in the compatibility info for PT8 only the G5s were supported. I've heard that PT8 will still run on a G4. Does anyone know if that's true or not? Also should I expect a drastic drop in how fast Pro Tools runs if I upgrade to 8?
Thanks,
Scott
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-23-2009, 10:38 AM
b mcgibney b mcgibney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Vancouver, B. C.
Posts: 602
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 and Mac G4 compatibility

I'm impressed that you could get 7.4 to run at all on a G4.

I'm assuming that your running Leo 10.5.5. I still have my G4 but I found it hopeless after 001/6.4. Still it may work albeit with pretty limited track count.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-23-2009, 10:53 AM
shanabit shanabit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Home
Posts: 506
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 and Mac G4 compatibility

Quote:
Originally Posted by swgerow View Post
I've got a Dual 1.25Ghz Mac g4 running PT 7.4 pretty well. I noticed that in the compatibility info for PT8 only the G5s were supported. I've heard that PT8 will still run on a G4. Does anyone know if that's true or not? Also should I expect a drastic drop in how fast Pro Tools runs if I upgrade to 8?
Thanks,
Scott
Im running Protools LE 8.0 here on OSX 10.5.5 with my OLD Dual 1.42 G4
No problems yet.
__________________
MacPro 8 Core,2.4, 14 Gig Ram.
OSX 10.8.2
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pro tools 10 compatibility djecaron16 Pro Tools 10 2 09-06-2013 05:34 PM
Pro Tools 9 and M box compatibility tombh Pro Tools 9 2 11-18-2010 05:40 AM
Pro Tools TDM 6 compatibility portolibero Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 08-12-2008 06:59 PM
Compatibility from pro tools 7 to 6 ped Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 03-28-2006 12:56 PM
M-Box to Pro Tools TDM / HD compatibility ? SportsSounds Post - Surround - Video 1 12-17-2003 08:15 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com