Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-22-2016, 06:56 AM
JonesH JonesH is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 159
Default One-click control of automation and scenes

Hi,
I'll probably be using Pro Tools for a reverb installation in a church, where it would be great to be able to run a very simple app that'd let me click on a button and trigger a set of automation parameters.

PT will be in constant Input Monitoring mode, accepting three or four mic signals and sending them to five Lexicom PCM plugins, then sending this to ten outputs. Most of the time they'll be running one fixed preset but they could be interested in using a longer decay time or activating additional microphones.

Is there a way to externally jump to a PT Marker? Preferrably a really clean interface so that they never have to see PT. Sending a MIDI command somehow?
__________________
I just wanna do engineering...

(as opposed to make music :/ )
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-22-2016, 07:04 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,768
Default Re: One-click control of automation and scenes

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonesH View Post
Hi,
I'll probably be using Pro Tools for a reverb installation in a church, where it would be great to be able to run a very simple app that'd let me click on a button and trigger a set of automation parameters.

PT will be in constant Input Monitoring mode, accepting three or four mic signals and sending them to five Lexicom PCM plugins, then sending this to ten outputs. Most of the time they'll be running one fixed preset but they could be interested in using a longer decay time or activating additional microphones.

Is there a way to externally jump to a PT Marker? Preferrably a really clean interface so that they never have to see PT. Sending a MIDI command somehow?
can you just extend a keyboard then you can hit ". marker # ." and recall any marker you wish ..

also: you could use Pro Tools Control app on an iPad (5ghz network) and get at markers that way ..
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD -OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 2019.6 last version
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.14.6 - PT 2019.6 Ended here ..
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-22-2016, 07:22 AM
JonesH JonesH is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 159
Default Re: One-click control of automation and scenes

Thanks for your reply!
Keyboard won't work because the computer is too far away, but WiFi works.
PT control would probably be useful (as long as they don't mess up the mix!!).
Best would be, like, four buttons that could be customized to send a certain setting. Maybe send a MIDI command that makes PT go to a certain timecode?
__________________
I just wanna do engineering...

(as opposed to make music :/ )
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plug-in Automation with the click sound aylavid Pro Tools 11 20 08-31-2020 04:48 AM
Automation creates pops/click Toddhq Pro Tools 12 5 05-04-2016 02:44 AM
scenes mikeyman Pro Tools 10 2 01-09-2014 05:22 PM
Control+Click/Right Click for OS X 6.1 Update Please Cargoplex 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-16-2003 01:20 AM
Help...PLUG IN CLICK NOISE using Automation tomhartman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 05-18-2001 10:35 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com