Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-13-2017, 04:37 AM
andyonio andyonio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Pinerolo Italy
Posts: 1
Default Mbox 3rd gen and piezo pickup

I have bought a 3rd gen Mbox.
I want to record my nylon strings classical guitar.
I have a piezo pickup that sounds good when used with my stand alone ampli.
This is my pickup:

http://www.kremonausa.com/en/pickups...pickup-kremona

I am not able to record my guitar with protools 9 (bundle) when I plug the piezo pickup directly to the guitar front input of the Mbox. Very low level and high distortion.
The mbox input impedance is 1 MOhm. Do I need a preampli or is there a impedance mismatch? Which settings should I use in protools?
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-13-2017, 03:13 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 11,186
Default Mbox 3rd gen and piezo pickup

What is the gain knob on the Mbox for that DI input set to? Definitely avoid cranking up all the way.

What dBFS levels are you getting into Pro Tools? (Make sure meters are in pre-fader and classic mode).

Do you play this live? With what amp/preamp and how does that sound?

What amp sim plugin are you using in Pro Tools? I am guessing none.... start with sansamp or some if the clean fender amps if you have Eleven. In reality you will need to do careful gain staging between the DI input gain and gain in the amp sim plugin and rest of Pro Tools. Compared to other stuff out there you don't have a great pickup or great preamp but this should be usable. But if you had access to a decent condenser microphone I would invest time working with that instead.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 doesn't pickup Mbox Pro 3rd Gen. showerscene FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 17 05-09-2016 08:36 PM
Preset for acoustic guitar with piezo Peter Kroner Eleven Rack 0 07-10-2013 08:11 AM
Not getting Mic pickup on MBox Mini alanagrace Pro Tools Software (Mac) 8 12-31-2011 09:18 PM
OT: Les Paul pickup switch mhelm01 Eleven Rack 10 10-04-2010 06:43 AM
OT: Bass Pickup's Matt Whritenour 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 06-07-2004 08:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com