Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-11-2008, 10:55 PM
The Gaz The Gaz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 14
Default Two HUGE problems with my Digi 002. Assitance please!

Hi Everyone,

My first post and two big problems with my rig:

1. My monitor outputs are not working at all. complete silence. I did all the dummy-checks to no avail. I finally just got real monitors (previously i was monitoring from the rca output), and I have no sound whatsoever. What could be the issue? Do I have a lemon 002?

2. I have had this problem for a little while, and read the fix and explanation on this message board a few years ago, but can't find the thread... Periodically my 002 will lose connection and the 44.1/48/etc. light will go out, then there will be a clicking noise. I then have to literally hit or shake the unit for it to 'connect'. This was happening on rare occasion, thus tolerable, but now happens intermittently during sessions, freezing everything.

Please help!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-11-2008, 11:09 PM
The Gaz The Gaz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 14
Default Re: Two HUGE problems with my Digi 002. Assitance please!

found the answer to #2.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-11-2008, 11:19 PM
OddsAre OddsAre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,027
Default Re: Two HUGE problems with my Digi 002. Assitance please!

is your monitor level up, and not muted?
__________________
Mac Book Pro Retina 2.6 GHz i7 Quad | 16GB | OSX 10.8.5 | Digi 002 | Apogee Rosetta 800/96 | PT 10 | Waves Gold/RevMaxx V9
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-11-2008, 11:20 PM
OddsAre OddsAre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,027
Default Re: Two HUGE problems with my Digi 002. Assitance please!

2 sounds like power harness issue...
__________________
Mac Book Pro Retina 2.6 GHz i7 Quad | 16GB | OSX 10.8.5 | Digi 002 | Apogee Rosetta 800/96 | PT 10 | Waves Gold/RevMaxx V9
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-11-2008, 11:49 PM
The Gaz The Gaz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 14
Default Re: Two HUGE problems with my Digi 002. Assitance please!

Yeah, like I said, I did all the 'dummy checks'. I'm not a noob to protools, just never had enough money for decent monitors. I think the outputs are just screwed, but I thought perhaps someone else had a similar issue.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-11-2008, 11:56 PM
OddsAre OddsAre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,027
Default Re: Two HUGE problems with my Digi 002. Assitance please!

i would suggest anyway something like the Mackie Big Knob if you happen to have the dough. I like mine, it's not the best, but I think it's the best for the money. Then you don't have to use the Monitor Outs, you can use the Main Outs into the Big Knob.
__________________
Mac Book Pro Retina 2.6 GHz i7 Quad | 16GB | OSX 10.8.5 | Digi 002 | Apogee Rosetta 800/96 | PT 10 | Waves Gold/RevMaxx V9
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-12-2008, 12:04 AM
The Gaz The Gaz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 14
Default Re: Two HUGE problems with my Digi 002. Assitance please!

thanks, might do that...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-12-2008, 05:02 AM
RussUK RussUK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 3,724
Default Re: Two HUGE problems with my Digi 002. Assitance please!

The monitors work when connected to other sources?

Which outputs have you connected them to?

Have you tried connecting a source such as an Ipod into 'Alt input' and then switching that to the outputs, that will test the hardware side of your 002.

Keep asking and we'll try and help.
__________________
I work with amazing people who do amazing things.

Founder of the Expert Sites.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-12-2008, 06:08 PM
The Gaz The Gaz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 14
Default Re: Two HUGE problems with my Digi 002. Assitance please!

Quote:
The monitors work when connected to other sources?

Which outputs have you connected them to?

Have you tried connecting a source such as an Ipod into 'Alt input' and then switching that to the outputs, that will test the hardware side of your 002.

Keep asking and we'll try and help.
yes, the monitors are functioning properly, and i'm currently monitoring via the 'Alt Main output'. i have not yet tried the plugging an ipod into the 'Alt input'. how would i "switch that to the outputs?"

can anyone illuminate the problems of monitoring via the unbalanced Alt main output, or what the out put is actually intended for?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-13-2008, 10:04 AM
RussUK RussUK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 3,724
Default Re: Two HUGE problems with my Digi 002. Assitance please!

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Gaz View Post
yes, the monitors are functioning properly, and i'm currently monitoring via the 'Alt Main output'. i have not yet tried the plugging an ipod into the 'Alt input'. how would i "switch that to the outputs?"

can anyone illuminate the problems of monitoring via the unbalanced Alt main output, or what the out put is actually intended for?
You hit the 'Alt Source' button next to the 'Monitor Level' Knob, this then routes the input to the outputs of the 002R.

Your outputs should be routed out of the Monitor L&R jacks on the back.

Using unbalanced outputs may introduce interference in your system, whereas balanced leads can eliminate this.

Hope that helps.
__________________
I work with amazing people who do amazing things.

Founder of the Expert Sites.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid website huge problems hollow General Discussion 0 07-22-2013 07:16 AM
New Mac Pro and HD2 HUGE PROBLEMS Dolly Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 09-13-2010 03:12 PM
Huge problems PLEASE HELP! no midi jskowron 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 12-17-2009 11:10 AM
DIGI 002 & MIDI - HUGE problems...PLEASE help!!!!! yogi snaps 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 12-19-2005 01:34 AM
huge problems with 001 rhysw 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-14-2004 07:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com