Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-12-2002, 03:46 PM
el matador el matador is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: long beach,ca, usa
Posts: 306
Default IS MORE RAM REALLY GONNA HELP MY PLUGIN COUNT?

I have a one gig athlon, runs great, love it. Right now I have 256 megs of ram and wonder if going 512 will really make any difference. Some people say it does but I thought plugins run off of CPU not memory. Can someone brief me?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-12-2002, 04:38 PM
Chris Scott Chris Scott is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Huntington Bch.
Posts: 63
Default Re: IS MORE RAM REALLY GONNA HELP MY PLUGIN COUNT?

It's all about the processor....
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-12-2002, 04:50 PM
Captain_Pants Captain_Pants is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,993
Default Re: IS MORE RAM REALLY GONNA HELP MY PLUGIN COUNT?

Well, True to an extent. If you are running XP, I would upgrade to 512. Id upgrade to that even if you we're running 98SE actually. It oculd help a bit, but higher ram(and GOOD ram) will help you run other things like a lower buffer setting.
__________________
Ill suffer winter alone;
ten thousand miles from home...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-12-2002, 08:18 PM
J. FO J. FO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: NYC, NY
Posts: 502
Default Re: IS MORE RAM REALLY GONNA HELP MY PLUGIN COUNT?

right on the button. another stick will help your over all performance, but not neccesarily with your plug-in count. tried over clocking your cpu? just make sure you have it cooled well.
__________________
Jeremy Forbis
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-12-2002, 08:33 PM
gracejames gracejames is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Silicon Valley, CA, USA
Posts: 230
Default Re: IS MORE RAM REALLY GONNA HELP MY PLUGIN COUNT?

El Matador:

I also have an AMD with 256Mb
Win98SE. I definately plan to upgrade
to 512 but no more for PT. I keep putting
it off. I haven't had any major probs
with my set up but i am running 2 apps at
the same time. That's why i'm upgrading.

--james
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Guide/Count Plugin z1221 Virtual Instruments 2 12-12-2013 04:18 PM
When are we gonna get a working Vari-Fi plugin again? DJ Hellfire Pro Tools 10 8 01-01-2012 08:44 AM
hd1 plugin count/usability?? blumediaprojekt Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 11-14-2005 11:13 AM
Mbox Plugin count Larryboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-21-2002 06:19 PM
Plugin count jfk-studio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 01-09-2002 08:26 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:36 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com