Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-11-2004, 05:06 PM
filmixer filmixer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Studio City, CA, U.S.A.
Posts: 953
Default Pro Tools relaunch crash

Having problem of Pro Tools 5.3.1cs7 crashing if I quit and then try to relaunch. I get Type 1, 3 or 10 error code (memory address problem or init/extension conflict). The system has worked fine in the past. I've tried swapping around RAM, trashed all Pro Tools related prefs including sound manager, reinstalled PT application and DAE etc. System works perfectly after a reboot but this crashing is a pain. PT 6.1 works fine. Anybody have any suggestions? Quicksilver Dual 800, OS 9/10 (5.3.1/6.1) dual boot, 1.5 G RAM, Magma 4-slot expansion chassis.
__________________
Mark Ettel C.A.S.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-12-2004, 06:18 AM
trakbytes trakbytes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles CA USA
Posts: 845
Default Re: Pro Tools relaunch crash

Do you have Waves plug-ins? Waves 4.0 caused our PT 5.1.3 systems to crash on re-launch. Moving back to version 3.6 solved the problem.

rcm
__________________
Save early and often! (or once a day whether you need to or not...)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-12-2004, 09:22 AM
filmixer filmixer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Studio City, CA, U.S.A.
Posts: 953
Default Re: Pro Tools relaunch crash

Yes, I do have Waves 4.0 plugins. I have Ren Maxx and Restoration. Should I go back a version of Waves Shell also? How will this affect my OS X plugins? Someone just told me going back to 5.3.1cs6 will help. Any experience with this?
Thanks.
__________________
Mark Ettel C.A.S.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-12-2004, 03:40 PM
filmixer filmixer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Studio City, CA, U.S.A.
Posts: 953
Default Re: Pro Tools relaunch crash

So I swithched back to PT 5.3.1cs6 and this solved my problem. I now know there is a warning on Digi's download page about this, but I think I upgraded to 5.3.1cs7 before I did the Waves 4 upgrade last year and so missed the warning. Thanks for your suggestion though trackbytes.
All the best, filmixer.
__________________
Mark Ettel C.A.S.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Play 1 then need to relaunch for song2? DetroitT Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 12-10-2011 11:06 AM
Spinning ball, can't save, can't relaunch PTLE, reboot then drive unreadable! accession 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-10-2010 12:40 PM
Having to relaunch session after PT is fully launched notrude55 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 04-23-2009 08:12 PM
when starting up, PT won't load. Goes to "relaunch"box garretm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 12-01-2007 12:40 PM
Crash Crash Crash Live 6 Pro Tools Rewire TimmyP 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-12-2007 11:26 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com