Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-16-2018, 11:10 AM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 191
Default No more HD Native PCIe card?

I have an HDX system but was just looking for a friend and it appears that the Native PCIe card is no longer available, just the thunderbolt interface.

Is this a recent development?

This kinda rules out using a MacPro 5,1 cheese grater as a basis for a ProTools Ultimate Native system.
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, AMD 7970 GPU, SSD boot drive on 6Gb/sec PCIe card, 36GB RAM, MacOS 10.14.5.
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6. HDX, UA Octo PCIe cards, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Mostly Avid, Waves, Sonnex and UAD Plug-ins
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-16-2018, 11:33 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,922
Default Re: No more HD Native PCIe card?

Still see it available for sale at dealers but it is weird it's been pulled from the Avid website. The dealers would have gotten a notification.

Also not listed on the End of Life list
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...-support-dates
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-17-2018, 02:19 PM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 989
Default Re: No more HD Native PCIe card?

Got me curious, appearantly the cards are still available at some dealers

HD N PCIe card only , no software for $999 @ Sweetwater

https://www.sweetwater.com/store/det...clude-software

Or as a combo package with Omni HD hardware and HDN PCIe card and Ultimate software

https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/PTNativeOmni--avid-pro-tools-hd-native-and-hd-omni
__________________
System :
Avid HD Omni I/O Interface ...Mid 2010 Mac Pro/ processor- 3.33 6-core Intel Xeon "Westmere" w/ Memory- 24 GB........PTHDN 2018.12 on OS 10.13.6 High Sierra on primary boot drive (SSD PCIe 512 GB Samsung SM951) FCPX files storage on Samsung 970 EVO 1TB and PT sessions storage on 2dn Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB --


"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-17-2018, 02:22 PM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 191
Default Re: No more HD Native PCIe card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by K Roche View Post
Got me curious, appearantly the cards are still available at some dealers

HD N PCIe card only , no software for $999 @ Sweetwater

https://www.sweetwater.com/store/det...clude-software

Or as a combo package with Omni HD hardware and HDN PCIe card and Ultimate software

https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/PTNativeOmni--avid-pro-tools-hd-native-and-hd-omni
Both of those are not currently in stock, so I wouldn't assume they are going to get any if Avid has removed them from their site.
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, AMD 7970 GPU, SSD boot drive on 6Gb/sec PCIe card, 36GB RAM, MacOS 10.14.5.
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6. HDX, UA Octo PCIe cards, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Mostly Avid, Waves, Sonnex and UAD Plug-ins
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-17-2018, 02:44 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,922
Default Re: No more HD Native PCIe card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by off the wall View Post
Both of those are not currently in stock, so I wouldn't assume they are going to get any if Avid has removed them from their site.
They (dealers) would pull it off the website. Avid does have phone calls with their dealers.

Both HDX and HDN cards are mostly out of stock due to production issues until later this week when stores will be receiving them again.
(though I don't know about the longterm viability of more HDN)
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-17-2018, 03:04 PM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 989
Default Re: No more HD Native PCIe card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by off the wall View Post
Both of those are not currently in stock, so I wouldn't assume they are going to get any if Avid has removed them from their site.
You are correct I did not notice that they were out of stock, it does say "coming soon" . If your friend needs one right away have them call Wind Over the Earth in Longmont Colorado. They usually have a fair bit of Avid inventory so they might have them .

http://www.windovertheearth.com/contact.html
__________________
System :
Avid HD Omni I/O Interface ...Mid 2010 Mac Pro/ processor- 3.33 6-core Intel Xeon "Westmere" w/ Memory- 24 GB........PTHDN 2018.12 on OS 10.13.6 High Sierra on primary boot drive (SSD PCIe 512 GB Samsung SM951) FCPX files storage on Samsung 970 EVO 1TB and PT sessions storage on 2dn Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB --


"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-17-2018, 05:30 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,651
Default Re: No more HD Native PCIe card?

Used market, eBay
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-17-2018, 05:40 PM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 191
Default Re: No more HD Native PCIe card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
Used market, eBay
Thanks everyone. It's not so much finding one but rather building a system on something that's EOL.

If avid isn't making/supporting it any longer, I'm not going to recommend building a system based on it.
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, AMD 7970 GPU, SSD boot drive on 6Gb/sec PCIe card, 36GB RAM, MacOS 10.14.5.
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6. HDX, UA Octo PCIe cards, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Mostly Avid, Waves, Sonnex and UAD Plug-ins
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-17-2018, 06:14 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,922
Default Re: No more HD Native PCIe card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by off the wall View Post
Thanks everyone. It's not so much finding one but rather building a system on something that's EOL.

If avid isn't making/supporting it any longer, I'm not going to recommend building a system based on it.
Even if EOL, Avid supports 5 years from the final sale date. You can look at the EOL link I posted earlier to see. (And sometimes longer for more expensive items like consoles -- there's a legal requirement in some states/countries to do this so it isn't like Avid has a choice)

But the truth is the thunderbolt external is just the pci-e card in a thunderbolt chassis (since thunderbolt can be just an extension of the pcie lanes.) So if that exists, then there's still no issue.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-18-2018, 02:03 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,371
Default Re: No more HD Native PCIe card?

Wow that would be a shame. The HDn card is one of the best value product in the PT line. Outperforms HDX1 easily and sometimes even HDX2 when you run large surround sessions.
In some mixes we ditched the HDX cards for HDn in order to get better voice performances.

Would be a pity if they dropped them unless there's an alternative product in the pipeline. HDX1 surely isn't at the moment.

F.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.6 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTT My HD Native Thunderbolt Box for your HD Native PCIe card whittybeats Buy & Sell 3 01-06-2018 12:52 PM
HD Native card in PCIe x1 slot? Wcutta Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 10 09-16-2017 06:03 PM
HD Native PCIe card Media Man Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 10 01-13-2016 10:31 AM
Trade hd native PCIe card for hd native thunderbolt card and cash? Brandonx1 Buy & Sell 8 03-22-2015 01:45 AM
PT HD Native or PT9 with PCIE card jcolagross Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 1 04-28-2011 08:45 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com