Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-06-2012, 06:11 AM
shotgunndunn shotgunndunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 81
Default How to 'humanize' a MIDI drum performance rhythmically...

Hey guys!!!

I'm already aware of the randomize velocity feature. So my velocities are sounding pretty natural. However, all my drum hits are 100% perfectly quantized and I can't stand it. I see the quantized option when I right click in the piano roll view. I have been able to bring stuff that is out of time back into time successfully. Now I need to select a region one note at a time (o.e. kicks, hen snare, etc..) and loosen them up a bit with respect to the grid.

I have tried selecting a group of kick or snare notes and quantize to say, less than 100%. I don't see, hear, or feel things getting any looser.

Any tips?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-06-2012, 07:23 AM
Richard901 Richard901 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 467
Default Re: How to 'humanize' a MIDI drum performance rhythmically...

There is a Randomize tick box and percentage slider in the Quantize window.
__________________
Catalina 10.15.7
Pro Tools 2020.11
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-06-2012, 07:53 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default

Also, don't forget the awesome feature "Restore performance".
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-06-2012, 09:00 AM
WombatStudio.Org's Avatar
WombatStudio.Org WombatStudio.Org is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Gibbsboro, NJ
Posts: 532
Default Re: How to 'humanize' a MIDI drum performance rhythmically...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard901 View Post
There is a Randomize tick box and percentage slider in the Quantize window.
+1 ... I'm always using this to "humanize" a quantized human performance.

It's weird, it's played by a human, then quantized to fix, then randomized to sound like a more perfect human. Ah computers!
__________________
WombatStudio.Org • Digital Recording, Mixing and Mastering in Gibbsboro, NJ • USA
"It's not the gear ... it's the ear"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-06-2012, 11:35 AM
shotgunndunn shotgunndunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WombatStudio.Org View Post
+1 ... I'm always using this to "humanize" a quantized human performance.

It's weird, it's played by a human, then quantized to fix, then randomized to sound like a more perfect human. Ah computers!
Almost as ironic as what the heavy metal band Anthrax posted on their website in the days after 09-11-2001.

The five of them would come out on stage in mechanic jumpsuits. Each with a word on their chest. It said, "WE'RE NOT CHANGING OUR NAME!!!"

Then on the bottom of their site it said...

"If any member of Anthrax should contract the disease anthrax, please call Alanis Morrisette. Because that would be ironic. Don't ya think?"

Well, that had very little to with anything in this post... I've always wanted to tell that to people. There's one item off my bucket list. Actually, I told sorry dozens of times. Now what?!?

I'll be sure to try these suggestions out.

I like that... "To sound like a perfect human." Nice!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-06-2012, 11:38 AM
shotgunndunn shotgunndunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 81
Default

For the record, the tracks I'm editing are totally quantized programmed MIDI drum performances never played by a human. I have the fun job of editing out all the "multiple arm hits" as in... Two toms in addition to two crashes and a ride bent struck simultaneously. Not to mention the double kick with the pedal hi hat. L-l-l-l-l-lovely!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-06-2012, 11:43 AM
shotgunndunn shotgunndunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard901 View Post
There is a Randomize tick box and percentage slider in the Quantize window.
So this will take a perfectly programmed performance and loosen it up depending on the slider value? With 100% being total machine and 0% being 'time to find a new drummer'?

I believe I may have messed with that parameter before but didn't see anything shift nor did I hear or feel anything change in the performance.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-06-2012, 12:44 PM
Richard901 Richard901 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 467
Default Re: How to 'humanize' a MIDI drum performance rhythmically...

Quote:
Originally Posted by shotgunndunn View Post
So this will take a perfectly programmed performance and loosen it up depending on the slider value? With 100% being total machine and 0% being 'time to find a new drummer'?
The higher the percentage - the more random.
__________________
Catalina 10.15.7
Pro Tools 2020.11
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-06-2012, 01:02 PM
colinmansfield colinmansfield is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 183
Default Re: How to 'humanize' a MIDI drum performance rhythmically...

Quote:
Originally Posted by shotgunndunn View Post
Hey guys!!!

I'm already aware of the randomize velocity feature. So my velocities are sounding pretty natural. However, all my drum hits are 100% perfectly quantized and I can't stand it. I see the quantized option when I right click in the piano roll view. I have been able to bring stuff that is out of time back into time successfully. Now I need to select a region one note at a time (o.e. kicks, hen snare, etc..) and loosen them up a bit with respect to the grid.

I have tried selecting a group of kick or snare notes and quantize to say, less than 100%. I don't see, hear, or feel things getting any looser.

Any tips?
There are several ways to do this, some of them are in the replies above. A bit more involved would be to find a drum loop whose feel you like, import it into your project, then use Beat Detective to extract and copy the groove and apply it to the MIDI track(s) through the Quantize dialog.. Then mute or remove the audio loop.Beat Detective gives you a way to save the groove to use again or you can simply use it through the "from clipboard" setting in Quantize, in the pop-up where you choose the note division.

I have a largish set of groove files that I've moved and converted to different formats (DP and PT for instance) that I've used since my Studio Vision days. I know I found many free groove files to download over the years. although those years were long ago now. A quick Google search on this phrase: "drum groove MIDI files" yielded decent results. Top of the list was Groove Monkey.

Groove files go into a special folder -- Avid>Pro Tools>Grooves and can be accessed through the Quantize dialog box via a pop-up menu near the middle of the Quantize box. Avid already supplies some, but I'd recommend trying out some more human-like grooves if you can. try here: <http://www.numericalsound.com/dna-groove-templates-notes.html>

I used to use groove files at 100% strength, but now that I've got many more years under my (ever expanding) belt I shoot for more moderate values. You can use these with other MIDI instruments as well (bass and keys for example). Just remember if it's a melodic instrument to uncheck the duration line in the Quantize window (unless you want extremely staccato bass).

__________________
------------------------------------------------
Colin Mansfield

Mac Pro, 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon, 32 GB RAM, OS X 10.8.5
PT 10.3.10, cheapo Behringer interface (because my Digi 002 Rack stopped working)

Bandcamp
Soundcloud
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-06-2012, 07:14 PM
shotgunndunn shotgunndunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 81
Default

While I'm thinking of it... How do I select all of one note in piano roll view and adjust all note lengths? I mean, I know how to select all of one note by clicking on that note on the piano key. Here's my dilemma... My friend has programmed MIDI drum parts in a program called Tabit. For some reason the note lengths are as long as until the next drum hit. This makes for a messy view. How can I quickly shorten the note lengths?

I've tried to quantize note off to no avail.

Any thoughts?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
profire2626-pro T. 8.0.1-tracks out of sync rhythmically tinners Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 03-19-2011 08:50 PM
PTLE 8.0.4 performance issues with TL Drum Rehab nean 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-04-2010 08:06 AM
Any easy way to sequence MIDI drums over rhythmically imperfect audio tracks? sehrlangsam 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-10-2008 05:16 PM
PT LE equivelent to DP humanize theremin Tips & Tricks 3 12-04-2006 09:09 AM
What is the best method to rhythmically align background vocals? Guitarman2k2 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 02-21-2003 01:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com