Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-05-2018, 07:59 PM
jglunt2112 jglunt2112 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: San Simon, AZ
Posts: 151
Default Windows 10 background apps and programs

I'm running Pro Tools 12.5 on a Windows 10 computer. Occasionally Pro Tools stops and I get that pesky window telling me I'm running out of CPU power. I monitor my CPU workload pretty closely when I'm mixing using the System Usage window, and often when I get that message the system usage window doesn't indicate my CPU is working all that hard, so I can only assume that one of the reasons for this is all the junk Windows runs in the background. I was wondering if anyone knew of a comprehensive list of which of these could be uninstalled or disabled and how to accomplish that? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-05-2018, 08:12 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,429
Default Re: Windows 10 background apps and programs

you know which one I would like to disable...that i havent put that much time into researching.....


Cortana....even though I really like the search feature and find it excellent.

I would like to disable it.

I don't get any kind of shutdowns like this when using PT and Win10 but I always like to tailor my settings.


I would start with disabling - all forms of apple, itunes, icloud, adobe, printer software, update software.....and the like. Only you know what's on your system.

I also would make the change in startup so those things don't load auto matically when I start my computer.




https://windows.gadgethacks.com/how-...ws-10-0163552/


caveot emptor......
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-05-2018, 09:49 PM
seriousfun seriousfun is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 10
Default Re: Windows 10 background apps and programs

W10 is actually pretty good at managing this stuff.

While you are running a PT session, open Task Manager (right click on the Start icon) and sort the list by CPU. You'll see if any programs are hogging the processor.

The Task Manager Performance tab has a running view of CPU, RAM, etc. Chrome is often the problem for both CPU and RAM (each tab is a new instance, basically).

I find that when running PT, it is using ~8% of the CPU, and nothing else comes close.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-05-2018, 10:26 PM
jglunt2112 jglunt2112 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: San Simon, AZ
Posts: 151
Default Re: Windows 10 background apps and programs

I'm with you, YYR123. I'd like to disable Cortana, but I haven't found any way to do it. Microsoft has always set Windows up with a lot of stuff running in the background in order to speed things up, but Windows 10 seems to have taken away the option of disabling most of it that you could disable in the past Of course, the obvious solution is to buy a Mac, but unfortunately I don't have the money available. I use iTunes because I don't care for Windows Media Player (which I think you also cannot disable). I don't have a printer hooked up to my studio computer. Also, I watch tutorials and the like on that computer, so disabling something like Adobe Flash Player probably isn't an option, and I need to read PDF files for manuals, so disabling Adobe Reader wouldn't work either. I'll keep looking...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-05-2018, 10:34 PM
jglunt2112 jglunt2112 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: San Simon, AZ
Posts: 151
Default Re: Windows 10 background apps and programs

Thanks for the info, seriousfun. That's a good idea of how to check out the CPU draw. I've done all the optimizations recommended by Avid for a PC, but this still crops up occasionally. I don't have a wireless system installed in my studio computer, but I do use a USB wireless adapter when I need to connect it to the internet. I like to have two browsers in my computers because I've found that sometimes one works better than another for certain tasks. I recently uninstalled Firefox from all three of my computers because some serious problems had cropped up with it. I replaced it with Chrome, but if Chrome is that much of a CPU hog, I'll sure uninstall it from at least my studio computer. Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-06-2018, 07:25 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,085
Default Re: Windows 10 background apps and programs

Have you done the optimizations outlined in the Avid Optimization Guide?

It doesn't cover disabling background apps, but is a good place to start.

Disabling any 3rd party antivirus program is also typically recommended.
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-06-2018, 08:26 AM
jglunt2112 jglunt2112 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: San Simon, AZ
Posts: 151
Default Re: Windows 10 background apps and programs

Thanks for your response, junkgear. Yes, I did the optimizations several years ago when my computer was a Windows 7 computer. When I did the Windows 10 upgrade, I went back through and did them again. I also don't have a third party antivirus on this computer--I use Windows Defender for that, and of course, it runs in the background. I don't have wireless on this computer, so when I need it, I use a USB wireless adapter, which I usually don't leave plugged in when I'm working in Pro Tools. That being said, I guess I could temporarily disable Windows Defender while I"m not connected to the internet. I also have Malwarebytes in the computer, which I use to do scans about once a week. I use the free version which I understand doesn't run in the background, but maybe I'd best check that out. Thanks for the info.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-06-2018, 10:43 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,953
Default Re: Windows 10 background apps and programs

Have a look at this thread.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-06-2018, 10:47 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,215
Default Re: Windows 10 background apps and programs

Which specific error are you seeing? For me, its a -9093 and I can cut that one by about 95% if I disconnect the internet(I still have a router connected for using Artist Mix and iPad running the CONTROL app).
__________________
HP z820 12 core, 64GB RAM, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs, Warm Audio and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-06-2018, 02:09 PM
jglunt2112 jglunt2112 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: San Simon, AZ
Posts: 151
Default Re: Windows 10 background apps and programs

Thanks to The Weed. That's a link to an ambitious post you sent. I'm not certain that I even understood all of it. Had I known how deeply I'd have to get into computers when I started with Pro Tools 6 years ago, it would have given me pause, maybe even stopping me cold. I love the musical part of digital recording but not the computer tech part so much. I'll study on the post you sent me to. It does sound like it might have the answer. One thing that particularly caught my attention was that Avid did not recommend de-fragging, which I didn't know. The reason that caught my eye is that I de-frag every day using Auslogics defragger.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows sound in background. kol12 Pro Tools 10 4 10-31-2015 11:06 AM
Windows 7 Background services Caatalyst Pro Tools 10 2 08-31-2014 08:34 AM
SO... Programs, System Cache or Background Services? GordonFreeman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 05-24-2009 03:20 PM
No More Windows...just my blue background! Jake001 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 11-02-2004 12:10 PM
Programs running in the Background.... How do you disable them??? Big Tyme 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 02-13-2003 01:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com