Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-31-2016, 04:58 PM
banjo71 banjo71 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Roanoke, IL
Posts: 188
Default not able to commit click track in PT 12.6.1, Win 10

I can't seem to commit the click track in PT 12.6.1 on Win 10. It returns a track that is silent. It worked in previous versions. Is there a glitch in the software with committing click tracks?
__________________
Pro Tools 12.6.1 for Windows 10
ASUS Core i7 3770
HP Intel Core i5 Notebook
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 Interface
Glyph 1TB GPT50 external drive
eSATA card

Equation F.20 condenser mic
AKG Perception 150 Mic
SM81 condenser mic
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-31-2016, 05:09 PM
banjo71 banjo71 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Roanoke, IL
Posts: 188
Default Re: not able to commit click track in PT 12.6.1, Win 10

never mind, I figured it out. Had to choose edit selection instead of track. duh
__________________
Pro Tools 12.6.1 for Windows 10
ASUS Core i7 3770
HP Intel Core i5 Notebook
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 Interface
Glyph 1TB GPT50 external drive
eSATA card

Equation F.20 condenser mic
AKG Perception 150 Mic
SM81 condenser mic
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-01-2017, 12:18 PM
jglunt2112 jglunt2112 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: San Simon, AZ
Posts: 151
Default Re: not able to commit click track in PT 12.6.1, Win 10

I'm having the same problem with the click track in Pro Tools 12.5, though I've used it before with no problems. I know the click track is glitchy--hell, everything is glitchy in Pro Tools--but I thought that was just freezing up. I just need it to establish the tempo of a song, but can't use it if it's silent. I tried your edit selection solution, but it's still silent. Could you please be a little more specific with what you figured out? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-01-2017, 03:00 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,427
Default Re: not able to commit click track in PT 12.6.1, Win 10

Check and make sure that your volume levels are up on that click track.

also make sure your output is assigned properly.

Click commit and it should happen....
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-01-2017, 07:34 PM
jglunt2112 jglunt2112 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: San Simon, AZ
Posts: 151
Default Re: not able to commit click track in PT 12.6.1, Win 10

Volume level was up--if there's no sound, I always check that first, kinda like checking to see if the washing machine is plugged in if it won't run. I never checked the output assignment as I assumed it was set for outputs 1 & 2, as every track I've ever created has been at the start. I'll double check that. Clicking commit on a click track is a new one for me. It usually just clicks when I create a click track. Is that something new? Thanks for your help. I'll check these out when I get back into the studio.

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-01-2017, 07:41 PM
jglunt2112 jglunt2112 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: San Simon, AZ
Posts: 151
Default Re: not able to commit click track in PT 12.6.1, Win 10

Here's something I just thought of. I recently purchased a Focusrite 18i20. Previously, I was using an M-Audio Fast Track Ultra 8R, but I updated to Pro Tools 12.5 and Windows 10. The M-audio was a legacy product with no driver available for Windows 10. Though it was still working alright, I purchased the 2nd gen 18i20 with it's current driver to try to head off any future problems. However, the last time I used click tracks in Pro Tools I believe I was still using the M-Audio interface. Could the Focusrite interface somehow be the problem? I've had some other issues with it since I purchased it, enough so that I don't recommend the 18i20 to others.

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-01-2017, 08:51 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,427
Default Re: not able to commit click track in PT 12.6.1, Win 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by jglunt2112 View Post
Clicking commit on a click track is a new one for me. It usually just clicks when I create a click track. Is that something new?

Well it started b/c at one of the versions Click ii was causing some issues. I don't remember exactly what right now, but that's why people were committing and then taking the plug out of the session.

Seems like it was fixed but I don't remember which version they fixed

I'm still running 12.5.1
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mono source track made into a stereo Commit track [SOLVED] albee1952 Pro Tools 12 9 09-21-2016 06:30 PM
Commit Track Bug metalmixer Pro Tools 12 2 04-26-2016 05:23 AM
Track Freeze vs Track Commit DonaldM Pro Tools 12 35 02-04-2016 09:08 AM
Commit track bug LukeHoward Pro Tools 12 0 11-08-2015 11:16 PM
How do I commit MIDI click track to recording gstockton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-05-2005 11:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com