Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Old 04-13-2004, 09:49 AM

Default Mixing Technique (Panning question)

I am new to mixing and find myself wondering what would an expirenced engineer do differently than me. I have an R&B group, 4 male singers. This question is mainly about panning backround vocals.
What I have been doing is "Stacking" each part 4 times (having each person record their part 4 different times. Backround only of course). Sorry, I am not sure what terminology people are fimilure with.
In the mix I have:
The "1st tenor" part: first 2 tracks panned <100 Left and 100> Right. The next 2 tenor parts a litt1e less than that. Maybe (I am not sitting in front of the session) <95 left and 95>.

The "2nd tennor part": first 2 tracks panned <90 Left and 90> Right. The next 2 tracks a litt1e less than that. <85 left and 85> right.

The "Baritone": first 2 tracks panned <80 Left and 80> Right. The next 2 tracks a litt1e less than that. <75 left and 75> right.

The "Bass": first 2 tracks panned <60 Left and 60> Right. The next 2 tracks a litt1e less than that. <55 left and 55> right.

I also have 4 aux tracks for effects Rverb Compression delay.... Oh and a headphone mix.
And I have the sends panned exactly the same way.

The blend sounds ok to me, but when I listen to store bought "Professional" CDs they still seem to have more depth and pressence. I am curious as to what someone with more expertice would think about my technique, or what they would do differently.
Old 04-13-2004, 10:35 AM

Default Re: Mixing Technique (panning)

Whew. Tough questions. There are no right and wrong ways to do this, Dawacker. I'll give you some of my thoughts -