Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Old 03-16-2004, 07:19 AM

Default Mixing technique and steps for getting there...

first of all I'm no professional... I just wanted to see if I could get a topic going on mixing steps and I wanted to see how you guys handle this stuff and what order usually you do this type of thing. (ie. compressiong before EQ?) I wouldn't think this would take too much time to type up and I'm curious as to how many ways people accomplish basically the same thing. (My reason for doing this is to see if I can reduce the number of steps before I get to the automation side of things..) Hopefully. I'll learn something from this provided some of you mixing gurus chime in and offer up some good info... maybe this will give some novices some ideas but I'm no ace mixer or anything.. so mostly I'm wanting to know how other people handle the early mixing stages. If you have the time, please reply w/ your techniques.

My mixing steps.. nothing is ever set in stone but this is usually the way I begin.

Step one (Panning, Busses and compression)