Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-30-2004, 08:02 AM
CraigLearmont CraigLearmont is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Alberta
Posts: 235
Default G5 with 4 slot Magma Chassis

Hi there.

Does anyone know if you can use the Magma 4 slot chassis with both a G5 with a PCI-PCI interface card as well as a Powerbook G4?

I have two powerbooks, but maybe I'll sell one to get a G5.. Would it be better to put the HD cards right in the G5?

Anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-30-2004, 06:52 PM
Tim R. Tim R. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,102
Default Re: G5 with 4 slot Magma Chassis

I was thinking this would be really cool too. Have your PT's rack able to hook up to either your desktop OR you laptop via 2 different Magma host cards. I suppose it's really a question for Magma. I know their 4 slot is compatible with the G5, but whether you can use 2 different host adaptors with the same chasis is another matter. If you talk to Magma let us know!

Tim
__________________
Tim Reisig
System 1: Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.9, HD Native TB, HD OMNI, S3/Artist Transport/Eucontrol 20.6, Rosetta 800 w/XHD card
Mac OS 10.14.6, 2018 Mac Mini 3Ghz i5, 32Gig RAM

System 2: Pro Tools 2019.12 (no Hardware), Mac OS 10.14.6, MBP (Retina 13in, Early 2015, 3.1Ghz i7, 16Gig RAM)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-31-2004, 06:11 PM
Danny Caccavo Danny Caccavo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1998
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,280
Default Re: G5 with 4 slot Magma Chassis

Unfortunately, Digidesign does not qualify the Magma 4 slot (or 2 slot) chassis with any of the PCI Power Macs. These configurations are not expressly incompatible as far as we know, but we have only ever qualified these chassis with a Power Book G4/CardBus combination.

We have *heard* that they work fine, though...<g>

Danny Caccavo
Digidesign
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-31-2004, 08:47 PM
Don Geppert Don Geppert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 267
Default Re: G5 with 4 slot Magma Chassis

Do we know if the 13 slot chassis will work with a G5 .. ???
__________________
Music Industry Arts
Fanshawe College
MIA2@sympatico.ca
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-31-2004, 11:12 PM
ca4 ca4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 75
Default Re: G5 with 4 slot Magma Chassis

I am (successfully) using the same 4-slot with both a Dual G4 and a PowerBook. I just move the cable and the iLok to switch,

This is with HD Core, HD Process and 2 x HD Accel. The drawback is that the track-count is lower.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-02-2004, 09:49 PM
Danny Caccavo Danny Caccavo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1998
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,280
Default Re: G5 with 4 slot Magma Chassis

Quote:
Do we know if the 13 slot chassis will work with a G5 .. ???
Check the compatos

http://www.digidesign.com/compato/osx/g5/

(yes, btw!)

Danny Caccavo
Digidesign
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: older 7 slot PCI Magma chassis JW1970 Buy & Sell 0 12-02-2012 08:38 AM
will cards from 7 slot magma/digi chassis work with 12 slot? digidesigner Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-02-2008 04:17 PM
Slot Order for PTHD5.3.1 + AV Option 5.3.1 + Magma Chassis 13-Slot + PowerMac G4 AGP Samhein Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 06-27-2002 11:39 AM
MAGMA 6 Slot Chassis AEW Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 09-25-2001 04:46 AM
audiovision with a magma 7 slot chassis? ron meza Post - Surround - Video 3 03-16-2000 11:15 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com