Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-07-2012, 02:28 PM
rockguitarist1255 rockguitarist1255 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 182
Default new recorders run 24 bit vs 32 bit float

Im still new to recording, so i want to do things right. I set up all my music in 48k, because my current guitar processor, the axe fx 2, will only allow the digital audio through its spdif output to travel at 48k and sync with the pro tools clock. The question is though, until i downloaded the pro tools 10 trial, i always recorded at 48k 24 bit. Now that i downloaded pro tools 10, it gives me an option for 32 bit float. What exactly does 32 bit float mean,. and should i record in it vs 24 bit?

Also, i have seen the box that says "interleaved" when i set up a session. Do i want to check that box when i record?

Sorry if im asking noob questions, i did read the pro tools help box but it didnt really explain to me what i should do between the bit types.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-07-2012, 11:06 PM
PaulV's Avatar
PaulV PaulV is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Location: Avid, San Francisco
Posts: 296
Default Re: new recorders run 24 bit vs 32 bit float

These are fine questions, and lots of folks have been asking them since the options became available.

32 bit float doesn't help for recording live inputs. It does help for storing processed / mixed audio, as for
  • AudioSuite
  • Bus recordings
  • Elastic Audio "Render" mode (or X-Form processed tracks)
  • Bounces to disk that may be used in the session later
So you'll need to decide whether this will help you - if you use those as a part of your workflow. If you don't want to think about it, just go ahead and leave it on 32 bit float, but be aware that the files will be larger (by 1/3).



Interleaved puts audio recorded on multi-channel tracks into single files, rather than into separate files per channel, as it does normally. This doesn't make a difference for most users.
__________________
Cheers,

Paul Vercellotti
Avid Engineering
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
24 or 32 bit float Bender Pro Tools Software (Mac) 26 03-13-2018 07:41 AM
32 Bit Float boogiemotel Pro Tools 10 28 01-09-2013 11:22 AM
A new recorders question about 24 vs 32 bit float. rockguitarist1255 Pro Tools 10 5 01-07-2012 03:21 PM
32 bit Float Logichead Pro Tools 10 0 10-22-2011 12:08 PM
Help! What is a 32-bit Float Mix ????? Rhapsody 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 02-27-2010 10:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com