Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-26-2012, 04:56 PM
Bender Bender is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,146
Default 24 or 32 bit float

I have always used 24 bit
Now I have the 32 bit floating point option.
I always checked stereo interleaved when I bounced and now it is an option at session setup as well.
What are the benefits of these options

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-26-2012, 05:04 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: 24 0r 32 bit float

tracking, none the converters are still 24 bit
mix, there is some benefit now can you hear that on your system in your room, I don't know
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-02-2012, 02:13 AM
stevecaboose stevecaboose is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 26
Default Re: 24 0r 32 bit float

Lets be real here. Like Craig said (and hes right) your converters are only going to convert at 16 or 24 bit, not 32. I personally think that making a Pro Tools session at 32 is pointless. In the end your going to be at 24 or 16 bits anyway. And you are not going to be able to hear a quality difference between 24bit and 32bit. The human ear cannot hear a difference what so ever after 20bits. The only thing you are doing by making a session at 32bits is using a lot more disk space and also demanding more processing power from your computer.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-02-2012, 03:11 AM
Franco1967 Franco1967 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Kassel,Germany
Posts: 177
Default Re: 24 0r 32 bit float

What you are not seeing is the major fact, that the plugins are using 32-Bit and you have an enhanced headroom. By the way, the point is not, if anyone can hear 32-Bit, but the quantization noise is lower when you are working with lower levels. That´s a thing everyone can hear. The SNR is more enhanced than with lower Bit-Levels.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-02-2012, 07:44 PM
janmuths janmuths is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Byron Bay / Australia
Posts: 373
Default Re: 24 0r 32 bit float

Quote:
the quantization noise is lower when you are working with lower levels. That´s a thing everyone can hear. The SNR is more enhanced than with lower Bit-Levels.
Your audio still goes in and out thru 24 bit converters. Thus giving you a fix quantisation error before the signal even reaches PT. And even 24-bit converters have a quantisation error way below the noise floor of all your analogue front end: mics, pres, amps, speakers (assuming proper gain structure). Recording audio in 32 bit makes little sense to me.

You do have a valid point about processing. Higher bit-rates make perfect sense when summing or processing. Plug-ins should be of higher bit-rate and they are: 48-bit linear in TDM, 32-bit float in most native DAWs. But recording audio files to disk... I really don't see the point.

Quote:
That´s a thing everyone can hear.
Are you sure you can hear the quantisation-error level difference between two audio files recorded thru the same 24-bit converter, one recorded in 32-bit float, the other recorded in 24-bit linear?
I'd be seriously impressed if you identified the 32-bit-float file in a blind test.

My two cents.

Jan
__________________
2010 Dolphin Award for Production / Engineering

AVID Certified Instructor
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-03-2012, 11:11 AM
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,259
Default Re: 24 0r 32 bit float

My 16 bit tests showed that files first dithered to 24 bits sounded better than 32 bit float files when they were were subsequently dithered to 16. Writing processing to 32 float makes sense if you are going to be doing radical additional processing or gain changes but dithered 24 seems to retain image size and low level harmonics better if you are only making minor changes.

64 bit float or 32 bit fixed intermediate process files are a different story but 32 float is still for all intensive purposes a truncated 24 bit file.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
32 Bit Float boogiemotel Pro Tools Software (Mac) 76 01-20-2013 10:28 PM
32 Bit Float boogiemotel Pro Tools 10 28 01-09-2013 11:22 AM
new recorders run 24 bit vs 32 bit float rockguitarist1255 Pro Tools 10 1 01-07-2012 11:06 PM
32 bit Float Logichead Pro Tools 10 0 10-22-2011 12:08 PM
Help! What is a 32-bit Float Mix ????? Rhapsody 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 02-27-2010 10:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com