Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-15-2003, 09:54 AM
xeeganx xeeganx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: washington, d.c.
Posts: 11
Default 002 rack - distorted audio playback

I've been having about every possible thing go wrong with my new 002r, so I will just start with the first problem. After about 5-10 minutes of using protools, all my audio tracks start to distort. From what I remember of the demo of the plugin, it sounds a lot like if I were using the sci-fi plugin on the tracks. It only happens to the audio I have recorded, and not the aux inputs from the keyboard. This will also happen during recording a track. The audio sounds like it is going through a ring modulator. The weird thing is that if I just close the session and open it back up again, everything is fine. Even the tracks I was recording at the time are okay. I've searched the DUC for any answers already, but I'm not finding anything. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Here are the specs for my computer as far as I know.
PT 6.1.1 (occured on 6.1 as well)
Dell Latitude D600
Pentium M 1.4
512MB ram
XP pro sp1
5400 internal drive
Buffer - happens at any setting, with or without low latency monitoring.
Firewire PC card - Adaptec Fireconnect - on Digi supported list
NO external HD -> I don't want to throw any more money into this computer until I know it will fix any problems

I've tried doing all of the tricks I can figure out like turning off stuff in the device manager and changing the computer Standard PC instead of ACPI. However - I am coming from a mac so I have no idea if i am doing this stuff correctly. Any help would be appreciated. All tracks are just guitar tracks coming in from a PodXT.

Tyler

P.S. -> as a side note, I am also having constant 6085 and 6095(?) errors telling my to switch my buffer around. I can record one track for about 10-30 seconds before this happens. Argh...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-15-2003, 03:13 PM
xeeganx xeeganx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: washington, d.c.
Posts: 11
Default Re: 002 rack - distorted audio playback

Hey - just wanted to let those 8 people who had viewed this topic what I did to fix it! I just created a new user, and the distortion was gone. The interrupt errors - 8095 and 8093 - appear to be reduced; although I did get one of each over the course of about 1/2 hour, it is a big improvement over the 30 seconds I was getting before. Does anyone know if these errors are related to me not using a different HD for audio? if they are, I will order an external drive right now. If not, I'll continue to save up for the next G5 rev. Thanks anyway!

Tyler
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-15-2003, 05:48 PM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,091
Default Re: 002 rack - distorted audio playback

Tyler - very interesting. When I set up PT this summer, it was also pretty unusable. I created a new user, new desktop and PT has been solid since. I too only had 8 views when I mentioned my solution so I thought it was my own mojo - glad it is more universal
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-17-2003, 07:44 PM
Doogz Doogz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 109
Default Re: 002 rack - distorted audio playback

Howdy X

It seems to me that your main problem is that your harddrive is too slow! 5400rpm just wont cut it for a system drive - let alone an audio drive - and from your spec list you only have one drive to do everything!. A song with lots of tracks and lots of edits can be hundreds of megs in size and the drive needs to spit out chunks of sound that could be located all over the drive in fractions of a second.

I reckon if you go out and get yourself a couple of decent 7200rpm drives (one for your system, one for your audio (at least get one for your audio)) all your problems will be solved ...

... well, at least the Pro Tools ones!

Doogz
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
002r and Cubase - Distorted Audio Playback 1234 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 05-15-2013 07:35 AM
Playback gets lost or distorted while recording - Pro Tools 8/M-Audio Profire 2626 xiauoko Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 13 09-27-2011 04:39 AM
Fuzzy\distorted playback of recorded audio. Caatalyst 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 01-04-2011 04:19 PM
HELP!! Digi 002 rack audio playback TomcatMF2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 11-17-2003 07:54 AM
JAM 2.6.2 DISTORTED AUDIO PLAYBACK mike@riddlemusic.com General Discussion 3 07-18-2002 01:42 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com