Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-05-2002, 11:24 PM
EDurney EDurney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 283
Default P4 user want to change to ATHLON your advices are welcome

That`s right, i need your advice..
The thing is that i already have:

P4 tower and power supply
256 SDRAM / PC 133
TNT2 Nvidia 32Mb M64
Samsung Syncmaster 17`` monitor
LG CDRW 12x8x32
SEagate barracuda ata 66/7200 (C/D)

And i need to know , Can I use all this stuff
With a MOBO Gigabyte Ga-7DX and an AMD XP 1800 CPU????
is that MOBO OK? is compatible with the rest of my Hardware? ( especially the RAM)

Please, any suggestion wiil be well received.

Thank you guys.

Eduardo Durney
eduardodurney@myrealbox.com
__________________
Pro Tools 10 / Duet 2 - Eleven Rack - Mbox 2 pro
MacBook Pro 2.2ghz Quad Core/ 8gb RAM/ 750HD

Pro Tools 9 HD / 192io / C24
Mac Pro Quad 2.66 / 8Gb Ram
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-06-2002, 05:42 AM
8mmOverdose 8mmOverdose is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 1,318
Default Re: P4 user want to change to ATHLON your advices are welcome

i can answer your ram question. the ga7dx uses pc2100 ram, not pc133. http://crucial.com usually has good prices on ram.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-06-2002, 09:12 AM
Allen Hallada Allen Hallada is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sun Valley, ID
Posts: 6,686
Default Re: P4 user want to change to ATHLON your advices are welcome

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by EDurney:
That`s right, i need your advice..
The thing is that i already have:

P4 tower and power supply
256 SDRAM / PC 133
TNT2 Nvidia 32Mb M64
Samsung Syncmaster 17`` monitor
LG CDRW 12x8x32
SEagate barracuda ata 66/7200 (C/D)

And i need to know , Can I use all this stuff
With a MOBO Gigabyte Ga-7DX and an AMD XP 1800 CPU????
is that MOBO OK? is compatible with the rest of my Hardware? ( especially the RAM)

Please, any suggestion wiil be well received.

Thank you guys.

Eduardo Durney
eduardodurney@myrealbox.com
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


Check the thread in the above Windows forum for the Under 900.00 PC. It has a listing of everything you will need to run an Athlon like the GA7DX. For the money I'm a big fan of the 1.4Ghz T-bird still with the Volcano II heatsink/fan. Has outperformed the XPs on most motherboards so far with PTLE. Maybe that will change with Windows XP support coming.
Good luck.
Allen
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-06-2002, 03:36 PM
Dreamware Dreamware is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 484
Default Re: P4 user want to change to ATHLON your advices are welcome

I would not change to an Athlon if you already have a P4. Tests fully prove that with Windows XP optimized architecture for the P4, you should see a vast improvment when PTLE is released in May for Windows XP. Athlon XP owners will also see an improvement in Windows XP because it is also optimized for this processor.
__________________
Alex

www.dreamware.ca
Have something to brag about...Own a Dreamware Audio PC...

My Rig:

AMD Athlon XP 1700+
512MB PC2700C2 Corsair
MSI KT3ULTRA ARU
2x 80GB Seagate Barracuda 4 in RAID 0
GeForce 2 Ti 64MB
Lite-On 40x12x40 CD-RW
16x Pioneer DVD
Intel Pro/100 +
SB Audigy
Digi 001
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-10-2002, 07:47 AM
da BaSsTaRd! da BaSsTaRd! is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 4,933
Default Re: P4 user want to change to ATHLON your advices are welcome

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by Dreamware:
Athlon XP owners will also see an improvement in Windows XP because it is also optimized for this processor.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

windows xp is optimized or PTLE on winxp is optimized?
__________________
i love my apple iPhone!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-10-2002, 11:27 AM
Allen Hallada Allen Hallada is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sun Valley, ID
Posts: 6,686
Default Re: P4 user want to change to ATHLON your advices are welcome

Good point Brian,
I doubt that the XP processor is optimized for PTLE. Steinberg is the only company that is working with AMD to optimize processors for its programs that I know of.
Allen
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-11-2002, 10:29 AM
Dreamware Dreamware is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 484
Default Re: P4 user want to change to ATHLON your advices are welcome

da Basstard: PTLE is not optimized, but Windows XP is optimized for the Athlon XP processor. During tests we have found that even with applications not optimized, as long as they run in Windows XP, have offered a significant performance boost.
__________________
Alex

www.dreamware.ca
Have something to brag about...Own a Dreamware Audio PC...

My Rig:

AMD Athlon XP 1700+
512MB PC2700C2 Corsair
MSI KT3ULTRA ARU
2x 80GB Seagate Barracuda 4 in RAID 0
GeForce 2 Ti 64MB
Lite-On 40x12x40 CD-RW
16x Pioneer DVD
Intel Pro/100 +
SB Audigy
Digi 001
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
001 user looking to change from Mac to Windows ryepie75 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 11-03-2006 12:37 PM
troubled Athlon 1.4 user upgrading from ME to XP Chimo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 12-11-2003 06:30 AM
user switch change MR808 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-17-2003 01:44 PM
Need reply from athlon/asus/pt5.1le user JoeyInMemphis 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 07-19-2001 10:59 PM
Change user name on DUC 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-24-2000 11:28 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com