Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-08-2003, 02:10 PM
jpd jpd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: california
Posts: 3
Default Mbox And mic pre amps

I am a new user and and wondering if there is any significant benefit to using a low cost mic pre amp (100$-300$) over simply using the pres built into the MBox. Also any tips on good swiss army type mics that work well with percussion acustic guitar and voice
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-08-2003, 04:30 PM
lynxxx lynxxx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: L.A., CA USA
Posts: 316
Default Re: Mbox And mic pre amps

1.The only way to answer that is to try it on the application you need it for(before buying-if possible). Entirely subjective.

2.Shure SM 57 or SM 58. THE Swiss army knife of microphones (for a dynamic, anyway). Ultimately, you'll want lots, condensers, etc.
__________________
Mbox /PTLE 5.2
G4 QS Dual 1Ghz OS 9.2.2
512mb RAM
80 G Seagate internal HD
60 G IBM Deskstar internal HD
40 G Buslink (Seagate)FW ext.HD
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-09-2003, 03:06 AM
Larryboy Larryboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 357
Default Re: Mbox And mic pre amps

Don`t replace something that only goes to second base with something that only goes to first. If you`re looking for more outboard gear to use with the Mbox then a compressor (for use with the inserts) would be a better buy which can dramatically change the sound.
__________________
27in 3gHz Intel iMac w/8gb RAM, 13" MacBook Pro 2.7gHz i7, Pro Tools 10, Logic Pro 9, Apogee Quartet, Grace M101, Rosetta 800, Speck X-Sum, Roland XV-5050, Event PS6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-09-2003, 07:11 PM
glamfolk glamfolk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: madison, WI
Posts: 42
Default Re: Mbox And mic pre amps

i use one of the cheap tube mic pre's (ART) and it warms up my 58 very nicely.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-10-2003, 09:19 AM
Duardo Duardo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 978
Default Re: Mbox And mic pre amps

The Focusrite preamps in the M Box are actually pretty decent preamps. I don't think you'd necessarily find anything "better" for the price, although you may find somethign "different" that's just as good. Some of the cheaper tube preamps especially certainly do offer a different color than the (relatively) transparent preamps in the M Box, although they may not spec out as well nor be a better choice for every situation.

-Duardo
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox 3 Pre amps vs. External Pre amps? evanbgrove 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-10-2011 06:21 AM
Mbox 2 pro... Pre Amps (vs) 003 Pre... Amps Norm Mix 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-24-2009 03:37 AM
mBox pre amps Kia43 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 03-03-2006 04:43 PM
do you use pre amps with your mbox ? hodge 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-28-2005 11:48 AM
The Pre-amps on MBox is amazing J. Guerrero 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 07-10-2002 01:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com