Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-19-2017, 03:45 AM
underthebigtree underthebigtree is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Sausalito, CA
Posts: 9
Default Exact steps to using MC Mix with Quick Controls in Cubase

Hi all -

I've been on a mission to get my MC Mix and/or MC Control to generate continuous controller data in Cubase. From what I've read on the internetz, Cubase is the only DAW that will do this, and you do so by configuring some faders on the box as Quick Controls. Once that's done, you can then assign the quick controls to generate whatever CC you specify on a per-track basis.

Makes sense. However, when I go to the device setup Track Control, put it in Learn mode, select a quick control slot, and wiggle the fader to configure that slot to that fader, nothing happens. I don't see the MIDI data change in that window to reflect that it saw the fader. And the faders continue to function as volume faders, not Quick Control faders.

I'm running Cubase 8.5.30, on a Mac Pro tower running OS 10.11.x. I've established that the MC units have the latest firmware, and have installed the Eucon Driver 3.6.

Everything else is functioning normally - the MC Mix and Artist see the Cubase track names, they operate correctly as volume faders, and so forth.

I found a snippet online saying to hold down the EQ button until it blinks, and the faders will then be able to send CC data. I tried every permutation of this I could, and no joy.

If anyone out there reading this has successfully mapped their MC Mix or MC Artist faders to Quick Controls in Cubase, would you be so kind as to lay out the exact steps you took to make it work? The number of hours I've already burned trying to get my MC series to generate continuous controller data has been silly.

Many thanks in advance.
__________________
Nick Peck
Sound Designer/Audio Director
http://www.perceptivesound.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-19-2017, 11:06 AM
robertg robertg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: houston
Posts: 420
Default Re: Exact steps to using MC Mix with Quick Controls in Cubase

i don't think it's possible because the MC mix talks directly to eucon only in a proprietary way. there's no CC data
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there a quick way to pare down clips to exact length of waveforms [solved] SigFriedChicken Pro Tools 12 Discussion 2 03-13-2017 08:53 AM
assigning Quick Control in Cubase on Avid S3 vudoo Pro Tools | S3 1 08-08-2015 10:05 AM
Eucon Command for Quick Controls on Nuendo 7 wont work. KeyplayerG Artist Series 2 07-11-2015 08:54 AM
How to have Quick controls on Mc mix from cubase 6 ? entoine Artist Series 2 02-23-2011 03:13 PM
MAC controls PC , PC controls MAC, wireless crazy stuff....you got to have it... lucian Tips & Tricks 7 12-13-2000 12:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com