Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 06-05-2017, 04:59 AM
Audiosweeet Audiosweeet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Northampton PA
Posts: 23
Default Re: MacPro 5,1 sweet spot?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry Johns View Post
Yes, if you do not delid the CPU's, which is so easy it's crazy, then yes, you have to use the spacers and the strips, which I own enough of them to do 50 upgrades, bought them before I learned how easy it is to Delid and still have them.

What is your delidding process? That parts freaks me out the most. I found a 4,1 machine with dual 2.9s which I may load up and just see how it all runs before doing the upgrade. How sure shot is the firmware upgrade? Any reason why it wouldn't take?
__________________
2011 Macbook Pro ML 10.8.5 2.5ghz i7 16 gigs 256 gig SSD Pro Tools 10.3.10 and 12.3.1, 002r, Command 8
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 06-06-2017, 09:48 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,556
Default Re: MacPro 5,1 sweet spot?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Audiosweeet View Post
What is your delidding process? That parts freaks me out the most. I found a 4,1 machine with dual 2.9s which I may load up and just see how it all runs before doing the upgrade. How sure shot is the firmware upgrade? Any reason why it wouldn't take?
I know this sounds scary, if you are not comfortable, buy a bunch of old CPU's for pocket change to practice on.

Take a utility knife blade, start working slowly around the edges of each corner slicing between the heat sink and CPU, it's soldered very solid, so it's not easy to get very far into the solder. ATTN: Don't slip and cut your finger off!!!!!!!

Place the CPU in a vice, with one side against the green CPU board, the other against the heat sink. Make 1/8th turn, 180 degree rotate, keep repeating until it seperates.

The CPU will be covered with silver solder. Take another utility knife blade and begin to scrape the old solder off, try hard to not scrape the green board the CPU is attached to. Eventually the solder will all go away, keep cleaning with 95% rubbing alcohol.

I have a detailed post recapping my experience, I will try to find it and copy a link here as well.

Don't be afraid, after you've done it, you will be amazed how simple it was to do, but its natural to be intimidated doing it the first time.

Going the spacer rout is fraught with potential issues, and I do not recommend it. I read numerous post/articles where people screwed up thier CPU's by over-tightening.
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp

Last edited by Barry Johns; 06-07-2017 at 02:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 06-06-2017, 09:54 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,556
Default Re: MacPro 5,1 sweet spot?

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=370850
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 06-06-2017, 10:00 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,556
Default Re: MacPro 5,1 sweet spot?

Here is another forum, where I found a ton of information about the upgrade. You also see I have a post there, going into a little more depth, than I did here at the DUC.

http://www.reduser.net/forum/showthr...94#post1543894

My post is on page 11 of the thread.
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp

Last edited by Barry Johns; 06-07-2017 at 02:41 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 06-07-2017, 01:23 PM
Audiosweeet Audiosweeet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Northampton PA
Posts: 23
Default Re: MacPro 5,1 sweet spot?

Great stuff Barry thank you!
__________________
2011 Macbook Pro ML 10.8.5 2.5ghz i7 16 gigs 256 gig SSD Pro Tools 10.3.10 and 12.3.1, 002r, Command 8
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 06-07-2017, 03:27 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,556
Default Re: MacPro 5,1 sweet spot?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Audiosweeet View Post
What is your delidding process? That parts freaks me out the most. I found a 4,1 machine with dual 2.9s which I may load up and just see how it all runs before doing the upgrade. How sure shot is the firmware upgrade? Any reason why it wouldn't take?
There is a known issue with Siera that there is a fix for.

https://www.ifixit.com/Answers/View/...Upgrade+Solved
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 06-08-2017, 03:12 AM
Audiosweeet Audiosweeet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Northampton PA
Posts: 23
Default Re: MacPro 5,1 sweet spot?

I will be mostly working in Mountain Lion but will definitely keep that for later. Could i just throw my SSD from my MBP right into the Mac Pro and be off to the races/upgrades?
__________________
2011 Macbook Pro ML 10.8.5 2.5ghz i7 16 gigs 256 gig SSD Pro Tools 10.3.10 and 12.3.1, 002r, Command 8
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 06-09-2017, 10:16 PM
Matt Hepworth's Avatar
Matt Hepworth Matt Hepworth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Utah
Posts: 385
Default Re: MacPro 5,1 sweet spot?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Audiosweeet View Post
I will be mostly working in Mountain Lion but will definitely keep that for later. Could i just throw my SSD from my MBP right into the Mac Pro and be off to the races/upgrades?
Maybe. Obviously, you'll need one of the adapter trays. You can definitely boot off the MBP drive using the Mac Pro.

Yes, what Barry mentioned is really similar to how I did mine. $20 Amazon vice works fine. I used some gaff tape to protect the chip. Wrap in a rag loosely just in case it pops off. Mine didn't. Mine had to be finished by slight pressure from two razor blades. Fast and easy. I used a card to push most the solder off. Razor to clean off the neoprene seal. Very find sandpaper and a bit of alcohol to finish the top CPU clean off.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 06-10-2017, 05:32 AM
Audiosweeet Audiosweeet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Northampton PA
Posts: 23
Default Re: MacPro 5,1 sweet spot?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Hepworth View Post
Maybe. Obviously, you'll need one of the adapter trays. You can definitely boot off the MBP drive using the Mac Pro.
What if i went through the PCIe slot with this jammer?https://www.amazon.com/OWC-Accelsior...dapter+mac+pro
__________________
2011 Macbook Pro ML 10.8.5 2.5ghz i7 16 gigs 256 gig SSD Pro Tools 10.3.10 and 12.3.1, 002r, Command 8
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 06-19-2017, 09:34 AM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 517
Default Re: MacPro 5,1 sweet spot?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Audiosweeet View Post
What if i went through the PCIe slot with this jammer?https://www.amazon.com/OWC-Accelsior...dapter+mac+pro
I have one of those. It works fine. I also have the next one they made that's faster. But both work really well and I can't tell a difference in speed.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using carbon copy to move from macpro to a newer Macpro fourthtunz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-10-2012 02:39 PM
A smaller, more focused sweet spot. mikevarela Post - Surround - Video 1 03-27-2012 09:16 PM
Spot function will not Spot?? frequencypoet Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 02-08-2010 12:29 PM
PC and analog console - how do you share the sweet spot? Inaam ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 1 01-24-2003 04:43 PM
AD8K input levels: "sweet spot"? EJolson Tips & Tricks 0 12-20-2001 12:38 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com