Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11 Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-12-2017, 11:58 PM
Bfearr Bfearr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 159
Default Audio Recording Erases Right After Recording

I had a guitarist over today to record on one of my tunes. The weirdest thing happened for the first time (been using Tools since v6). I would record him and then when I stopped it, what he recorded immediately erased. This is a jazz piece with a long guitar solo. I got to a point where I would record 8 bars and stop it. That worked. On another track I had him do the next 8 bars, etc. In the end, I had to patch it all together. Any idea at all what was going on? What could cause that?

I use a PC with Windows 7/64.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-13-2017, 04:44 AM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,706
Default Re: Audio Recording Erases Right After Recording

I've seen this after updating Windows, uninstall, clean registry, install again and good luck
__________________
Dell XPS 8700, Windows 10, NI Komplete Audio 6, Pro Tools 12
andreimartinezagras.webs.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-18-2017, 06:01 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,793
Default Re: Audio Recording Erases Right After Recording

Plenty of room left on your system and recording drives?

Never seen this before.
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System Drive: Samsung SSD 840 Evo 512GB
Recording Drive: Samsung SSD 840 Pro 512GB
Samples Drive: Samsung SSD 840 Pro 512GB
StorageDrive: 3 x1TB WD Caviar Black 64mb Cache
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-18-2017, 06:14 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,617
Default Audio Recording Erases Right After Recording

If you're really on LE 8.0.3 as is in your system details, you need to update to 8.0.5. Some versions of 8 on Windows had a file ID bug that would cause files to go missing, not quite the way you describe as I remember it, but while the newly recorded files were still in the audio files folder, Pro Tools could no longer find them. This was fixed in 8.0.5.

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...nload/en393667


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Sierra 10.12.2.

Pro Tools HD 12.8.1, Mbox3, MOTU PCI-424 w/ 2408mkII & 1224 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2, Focusrite Scarlett 18I8 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-18-2017, 06:19 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,793
Default Re: Audio Recording Erases Right After Recording

Nice work TJ, I didn't think to look at his profile
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System Drive: Samsung SSD 840 Evo 512GB
Recording Drive: Samsung SSD 840 Pro 512GB
Samples Drive: Samsung SSD 840 Pro 512GB
StorageDrive: 3 x1TB WD Caviar Black 64mb Cache
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recording Guitar | Frustrated (no audio on track after recording) Aftershock64 Pro Tools | First Discussion 6 08-04-2016 10:03 AM
ERROR MESSAGE : "Could not allocate space for recording! " when recording audio. Save|The|Architect 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 01-03-2011 11:04 AM
low latency recording vs low hardware buffer size recording chrisdee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 01-27-2009 07:49 AM
Midi recording - I hear no audio, I am new to midi recording Peter Roberts MIDI 13 08-19-2007 03:15 PM
PT 5.1 - Recording very lengthy narrative project.. ran out of recording disk space? Rockman-Songwriter Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 04-16-2003 12:32 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com