Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Avid Cloud Collaboration

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 01-14-2017, 05:14 PM
Carl Kolchak Carl Kolchak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: U.K.
Posts: 2,088
Default Re: Only one Cloud account per Avid account

There are a lot of limitations with Cloud Collaboration that actually make sense ;

They mostly boil down to Avid being pragmatic about the adoption of such a feature / service (not overly cautious to inhibit interest, and not wildly optimistic to risk financial ruin).

Avid know that there has been vocal resistance to the idea from many individual PT users, and that large feature film studios will not risk this level of cloud interaction - so it would be suicide for Avid to give every registered user a free 20GB cloud space, and unlimited projects.

Conversely, Avid also know that there is a genuine need for this feature / service for some of their customers, and a significant level of curiosity from customers who can see a potential for it - not to mention the large number of users who just don't get it, and don't yet realise they will come to rely on it (that's giving Avid the benefit of the doubt that they actually have the vision to realise it to it's fullest potential) - so the current limitations make it scalable for early adopters to get pro work done, and the curious to try it out.

I'm certain that Avid are closely monitoring the use of CC, and will scale the service accordingly, year on year.

But the thing I find baffling is that Avid could radically increase the uptake of CC, and open it up to major film studios, at almost ZERO extra cost.

Avid, all you have to do is :

1. Allow multiple cloud accounts / profiles per Avid account.

2. Allow projects to exist on a local server, not just your cloud.


Of course, this presupposes that Avid actually want a surge in uptake - they may be locked in to some ridiculous contract that would penalise them if data usage explodes and it becomes wildly popular overnight.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 02-15-2017, 01:52 PM
protoolsuseraccount protoolsuseraccount is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: poland
Posts: 15
Default Re: Only one Cloud account per Avid account

the technology just doesn't exist to allow more than one cloud account per Avid account - maybe after we invent faster than light travel or cold fusion or...
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 03-28-2017, 02:49 AM
protoolsuseraccount protoolsuseraccount is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: poland
Posts: 15
Default Re: Only one Cloud account per Avid account

it is more complicated than anyone can imagine to enable this feature
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 03-28-2017, 05:45 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,719
Default Re: Only one Cloud account per Avid account

I don't know why it would be, but apparently yes.. I've asked several times, and it has been discussed, but nothing in particular as far as a resolution has been passed down.

Joel
__________________
Laptop:
HP ProBook 650 / Core i5 8GB RAM / Win 10 Enterprise
Pro Tools 12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Desktop:
Intel S5000PSL / 2 x Xeon E5450 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / M-Audio Project Mix IO

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 03-28-2017, 08:59 PM
protoolsuseraccount protoolsuseraccount is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: poland
Posts: 15
Default Re: Only one Cloud account per Avid account

good on you for trying

I believe that there are more pressing concerns in accounting than in software development and licensing that are preventing this from happening or getting any traction.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 05-01-2017, 03:00 PM
protoolsuseraccount protoolsuseraccount is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: poland
Posts: 15
Default Re: Only one Cloud account per Avid account

it's just not possible - too complex - maybe in 10 years once AI assisted software development matures - or after we invent faster than light travel
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 06-17-2017, 08:24 PM
protoolsuseraccount protoolsuseraccount is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: poland
Posts: 15
Default Re: Only one Cloud account per Avid account

I thought I had heard that this had been solved - but I guess they were talking about cold fusion after all - tough nut to crack! Can't imagine what the solution might be. Mind warping challenge.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Pro Tools HD 11/10 Bundle License With iLok Account & Avid Account Jan Pasemann Buy & Sell 0 12-18-2015 07:58 AM
Unable to link Avid Master Account with iLok account "Failed to access the User ID" jburik1176 Licensing & Accounts 31 09-21-2015 04:12 AM
Avid account Rawer Pro Tools 10 Discussion 4 03-30-2015 01:45 AM
Why PT 10.3.3 is not in my Avid Account flautista Pro Tools 10 Discussion 12 01-08-2013 02:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:30 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com