Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Old 12-14-2002, 09:08 AM

Default building the allen machine

hi everyone.. ok. .ive read alot of the "best machine under 900$ post"... but im not a computer expert so it dosent make much sense... althought have learned alot... and im sorta a get down to business type guy when it comes to computers, since i dont know much about tinkering with them... so this may be a stupid question.. and it may have been answered somewhere in that post.. but here goes... i am completley totally absolutley without a doubt SICK of trying to get the computer that i h ad built to run pro tools to work correctly .. something is malfuncioning.. ive posted on here through out the year and done everything recomended...its gotten to a point where the computer is so quirky that i cant even explain to anyone what is going wrong with it....aaaaanyway... i need a new home computer so im thinking of retiring that computer to be my home computer...(just need to write letters and check email.. itll work for that i guess)...NOW.. if i buy EXACLTY the parts listed in allens first post... and have a real computer guy put it together.. then i follow all the instructions from digi EXACTLY... shuold i expect that system to run flawlessly?... like 32 tracks? and be as stable as you can want a pc to be?... the only difference might be the case. id like a rackmount... but that might mean it would be a different power supply than recommened...would that make a difference??... so again.. if i follow it exaclty.. it should work ? no tinkering?? correct?

Beige EVERCASE E4252W005A ATX MID Tower Case 23.00

Enermax Adjustable 8CM cooling fan 7.00

ENERMAX EG365P-VE(FMA). 350W PSU 60.00