Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | S6

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-04-2017, 09:56 AM
youngas75 youngas75 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Hull, UK
Posts: 167
Default S6 Lost Network Connection

Our S6 has been installed for just over 12 months and this week has lost it's network connection. Nothing has changed hardware or software wise on the S6 or the Mac Pro, it just stopped working. Whenever it is started I get this.

'Network communications failed to start correctly. Check networking connections and restart'

Anyone had a similar issue?
__________________
6 x HDX
21 x Vanilla
D-Command ES
S6 M10
SSL Duality, AWS924, AWS948, Nucleus
All Mac

Last edited by youngas75; 12-04-2017 at 09:58 AM. Reason: Removed picture link.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-05-2017, 09:28 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,155
Default Re: S6 Lost Network Connection

That error means that the Master Module doesn't even see the network switch in the back of the S6 so I would start by making sure thats powered on and working.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-06-2017, 01:59 AM
youngas75 youngas75 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Hull, UK
Posts: 167
Default Re: S6 Lost Network Connection

Thanks Eddie, everything was powered on same as it always was. Strange thing is, it came back online yesterday. Dropped connection once during the session but restarted the WS control app and it came back online.
__________________
6 x HDX
21 x Vanilla
D-Command ES
S6 M10
SSL Duality, AWS924, AWS948, Nucleus
All Mac
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-07-2017, 03:09 AM
marty martin marty martin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 259
Default Re: S6 Lost Network Connection

Hi, we're having a similar issue.
'Network communications failed to start correctly. Check networking connections and restart'
'Failed to initialize network connections. Make sure the Network Interface has been selected on the Surface Page settings'
Network switch is powered on and all connections flashing.
Anybody any ideas? Eddie Jones?
Thanks.
__________________
Studio: Mac Pro Trash Can 2.7 Ghz, 32Gb RAM, Sonett xMac Pro Server, HDX 12.4, S6 M10 24 Fader, Rednet 5,1 and 4
Live: MBP 15" 2.5Ghz i7 16Gb RAM, Avid S3L, Venue 4.5.1, OS10.11.1 + PT12, UAD Apollo 8
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-07-2017, 09:47 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,155
Default Re: S6 Lost Network Connection

This error means the Master Module doesn't see a network connection. Possible causes:
Bad Ethernet cable
Bad Switch or powered off
Bad pass-through connector (silver joiner in the back of the chassis)
Failed Network port in Master Module motherboard

Make sure the Ethernet cable is plugged into the correct port on the back of the Master Module...that it matches the settings in the Surface Setup page.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-07-2017, 10:03 AM
marty martin marty martin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 259
Default Re: S6 Lost Network Connection

Thanks Eddie I'll give that a try.
__________________
Studio: Mac Pro Trash Can 2.7 Ghz, 32Gb RAM, Sonett xMac Pro Server, HDX 12.4, S6 M10 24 Fader, Rednet 5,1 and 4
Live: MBP 15" 2.5Ghz i7 16Gb RAM, Avid S3L, Venue 4.5.1, OS10.11.1 + PT12, UAD Apollo 8
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-12-2017, 02:20 AM
youngas75 youngas75 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Hull, UK
Posts: 167
Default Re: S6 Lost Network Connection

Ours is back online but will intermittently drop connection. It can be brought back to life by opening the WS Control app and clicking 'Apply and Relaunch'. It's odd that it would just start doing this, no connections have changed (they're all behind various panels or inside the furniture), the software configuration hasn't changed (we have Deep Freeze) and there's been no configuration changes within the S6.
__________________
6 x HDX
21 x Vanilla
D-Command ES
S6 M10
SSL Duality, AWS924, AWS948, Nucleus
All Mac
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-12-2017, 11:36 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,155
Default Re: S6 Lost Network Connection

Next time it does this could you grab the logs straight away and message me with them.
Mac Workstation WSControl Logs Location:

Logs: /Users/”user name”/Library/Logs/Avid/S6

The User Library Folder is hidden, don’t get confused with the System Library folder rather than the User Library. The easiest way to get it to show is the following:
Click the Go Tab at the top of the Finder screen. When the menu drops down, hold down Option to reveal the hidden User Library Folder, select Library. Once selected you should be able to navigate to the Log files…
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eucon Network connection not found walter rohrbach Pro Tools | Control 2 07-19-2016 08:04 AM
Offline working: Can't create from template when no network connection therobyouknow Pro Tools | First Discussion 1 08-12-2015 07:40 AM
E3 Engine I/O and Network Switch Connection Error Davoetta VENUE Live Sound Systems 4 10-21-2014 08:00 AM
allow incoming network connection dialogue shakes my nerves in Pro Tools 11 Franco1967 Pro Tools 11 Discussion 46 12-23-2013 03:38 PM
Icon Locks up on Network connection roberts ICON & C|24 0 04-25-2012 10:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com