Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-23-2008, 04:09 PM
mifo mifo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Poland
Posts: 10
Default One licence for PT8 Mac & PT7.1 PC (not simultaneously) ???

Hello everyone, here is the question:

Is it possible to have one iLok (PT M-P licence) for two platforms with different PT versions? - in my situation it would be PT M-P 8 on Mac & 7.1 on PC (not working at the same time of course).

I had PC working on M-P 7.1.
Now, I have bought a Mac and would like to upgarde to PT8 and instal it on Mac, but keeping old workstation working too (for some old plugin's, Trilogy for example).
I would like to point, that I don't want to work on both DAW's simultaneously.

I'm almost sure, that it should work fine on Mac and than switch to PC, but is possible to upgrade to PT8, and to keep the old workstation? Does the licence on iLok "remembers" which PT version it's working with?

And will it be fine to put iLok on keyboard's USB port with mouse on the second one, and interface on the second Mac USB port?

Thanks and Merry Christmas
Michal
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-24-2008, 03:40 AM
shorty909 shorty909 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Japan
Posts: 4
Default Re: One licence for PT8 Mac & PT7.1 PC (not simultaneously) ???

I'd like to know about this too.
I am on a Mac and would like to use both M-powered 7.1.1 on 10.4.11 and M-powered 8 on 10.5 by switching startup disk -
I hope I won't have to do that, but I'd like to confirm that I can go back to my old stable setup after I upgrade to version 8.

Thanks in advance and Merry Christmas
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-25-2008, 07:10 AM
doomain doomain is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 8
Default Re: One licence for PT8 Mac & PT7.1 PC (not simultaneously) ???

Yes it is possible. Pt8 and pt7 have different licences. I have on my Desktop Mac Pt 7.4 and Laptop Mac Pt8. Works perfect!
-Janne
__________________
CHEERS!
-Toolberg-
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-25-2008, 06:17 PM
shorty909 shorty909 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Japan
Posts: 4
Default Re: One licence for PT8 Mac & PT7.1 PC (not simultaneously) ???

Thanks Janne,
I'll get if I lose the v7 license after I upgrade to v8. I expect that both will work on same one computer too.
Yuki
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-27-2008, 01:40 PM
mifo mifo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Poland
Posts: 10
Default Re: One licence for PT8 Mac & PT7.1 PC (not simultaneously) ???

Thanks Janne. I'll check that soon too.

Michal
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-29-2008, 12:03 PM
johnwesleybarker johnwesleybarker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Blandford Forum, Dorset, England
Posts: 83
Default Re: One licence for PT8 Mac & PT7.1 PC (not simultaneously) ???

I'm teaching ProTools at the moment and my university may not install PT8 until the summer (in the UK so that's a while from now). However, I have just purchased PT8. I have an iMac and MacBook Pro both with PT7.4.2 running from one iLok license. I want to be able to use PT8 at home and also teach with PT7.4.2

Can I use both for a while? Perhaps by Partitioning drives or is that NOT necessary?

Thanks,
John
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-05-2009, 07:31 AM
faceb faceb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: France
Posts: 50
Default Re: One licence for PT8 Mac & PT7.1 PC (not simultaneously) ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by shorty909 View Post
Thanks Janne,
I'll get if I lose the v7 license after I upgrade to v8. I expect that both will work on same one computer too.
Yuki

Hi Yuki, can you confirm that your 7.1 license has not been surrender after upgrading to 8 !

Thank You.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-05-2009, 08:02 AM
bensoft bensoft is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 49
Default Re: One licence for PT8 Mac & PT7.1 PC (not simultaneously) ???

I upgraded PT M-Powered 7.1 to 7.4.
The 7.1 licence "changed" to 7.3/7.4, the 7.1 licence "disappeared".
7.1 license has been surrender after upgrading to 7.4.
I could use the 7.3/7.4 m-powered "only", but not the 7.1.

After upgrading to PT-MP 8.0, the 7.3/7.4 licence still available. Now I can use PT-MP 7.3/7.4 and PT-MP 8.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-05-2009, 03:23 PM
faceb faceb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: France
Posts: 50
Wink Re: One licence for PT8 Mac & PT7.1 PC (not simultaneously) ???

Thank you soooo much, i'm actualy working with 7.3 and i will now do the upgrade !

Great clear response......
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-06-2009, 07:49 PM
shorty909 shorty909 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Japan
Posts: 4
Default Re: One licence for PT8 Mac & PT7.1 PC (not simultaneously) ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by bensoft View Post
I upgraded PT M-Powered 7.1 to 7.4.
The 7.1 licence "changed" to 7.3/7.4, the 7.1 licence "disappeared".
7.1 license has been surrender after upgrading to 7.4.
I could use the 7.3/7.4 m-powered "only", but not the 7.1.

After upgrading to PT-MP 8.0, the 7.3/7.4 licence still available. Now I can use PT-MP 7.3/7.4 and PT-MP 8.
Thanks a lot bensoft, far more helpful than the japanese m-audio useless tech support!
But I still don't know why they did that... Should let us keep the older lisence
now I need to know if I can use whatever version of 7, after I upgrade from 7.1 to 8..
Anyone here upgraded PT-MP 7.1 to 8 directly?
Thank you
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading used licence glawe Pro Tools 11 2 06-23-2013 09:49 AM
Pro Tools licence? alfaholic macOS 3 04-08-2013 01:41 PM
WTB: Pro Tools HD 9 or 10 licence crazy_ow Buy & Sell 1 03-20-2013 10:04 AM
2nd licence? mitchellcalvin Pro Tools 10 4 01-09-2013 03:02 AM
iLok + licence kofajz macOS 2 10-27-2012 07:20 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com