Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-22-2020, 07:38 AM
Eoin2000 Eoin2000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1
Default New to ADAT

Hi,

I am using a very old system which has always done the magic for me. I have recently purchased an ADAT 8 ins/outs optical board (U-PHORIA UMC1820) and done extensive googling to try get it to work.

I can get the pro tools suite to accept the ADAT as the clock source at 48kHz and I can hear audio from the headphone outs on the ADAT board.

I have tried all sorts of permutations of busing and interfaces (which I don't fully understand).

While the ADAT is new and the rig is old, I am wondering if they are not compatible. If they are compatible, would anyone have advice on what I should be looking for to get a signal on a recording enabled track?

Thanks in advance
__________________
Mac (Tiger - 10.4)
Digi 002
Pro Tools 7LE
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-22-2020, 12:36 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,098
Default Re: New to ADAT

In Pro Tools’ Hardware Setup, make sure optical format is set to ADAT and clock source is set to optical. In I/O Setup, default the input, output, bus, and insert tabs. This will make sure you can see all the inputs and outputs at your tracks.

The UMC1820 won’t be the simplest thing to use to get expansion with your 002 since it is a USB audio interface. A simpler option would be the ADA8200. But, you can configure the 1820 to send the mic ins to the ADAT outs via whatever proprietary cue mix function they provide for it. You’ll always need to have the 1820 plugged in via USB to do this even though you won’t be using the USB connection to get audio into Pro Tools. The 1820 clock source should be internal with an ADAT cable going from the 1820 output to the 002 input.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Sierra 10.12.6.

Pro Tools HD 2019.10, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ADAT to PTMixPlus via ADAT bridge...digital pops? Phattlippz Digidesign Hardware & Software 2 05-28-2006 06:13 PM
ADAT IN works fine - but dont get Output via ADAT kaladun 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 10-08-2005 05:15 PM
Digi001 ADAT, Alesis ADAT Edit and Fostex VM00 phobia 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 03-24-2001 09:57 AM
PT/ADAT Bridge/Fostex ADAT/USD/Beta...... Raven Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-27-2000 07:27 AM
cable lenght (fiberoptics) adat to adat bridge olek Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 02-21-2000 08:47 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com