Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-29-2016, 11:14 AM
peterle peterle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Berlin , Germany
Posts: 457
Default PT HD 12.5.1 Cant play DNxHD QT !!!! WTF !!!

plz AVID get AVE proper working , its far from beeing working as it should.
Today i imported , for recording purposes , a QT file which was with
avids own DNxHD codec encoded and PT 12.5.1 HD , HDX , Yosemite
on MacPro 4.1 , SSD etc etc refuses to playback the video .
Still frame works , scrubbing works , when pressing playback it freezes the first frame and after hitting STOP the last Frame of the sequence is shown.
No running video while playback or record. really pissed off and asking myself
why i upgradet from PT 10 HD (HD Accel Hardware)...
Theese Files work fine in PT 10 why not in 12.5.1 ??????

In the end , lucky about my dualboot option , i had to use PT HD 10.3.8 on HDX , which is due the lack of dsp plugins
far away from optimal since i had not the time convert the 90 min video file in an NON AVID CODEC , assuming it helps.

GET AVE WORKING AS IT SHOULD !!
__________________
foley artist , soundeditor
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-29-2016, 02:29 PM
JuanPC JuanPC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Miami FL
Posts: 600
Default Re: PT HD 12.5.1 Cant play DNxHD QT !!!! WTF !!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterle View Post
plz AVID get AVE proper working , its far from beeing working as it should.
Today i imported , for recording purposes , a QT file which was with
avids own DNxHD codec encoded and PT 12.5.1 HD , HDX , Yosemite
on MacPro 4.1 , SSD etc etc refuses to playback the video .
Still frame works , scrubbing works , when pressing playback it freezes the first frame and after hitting STOP the last Frame of the sequence is shown.
No running video while playback or record. really pissed off and asking myself
why i upgradet from PT 10 HD (HD Accel Hardware)...
Theese Files work fine in PT 10 why not in 12.5.1 ??????

In the end , lucky about my dualboot option , i had to use PT HD 10.3.8 on HDX , which is due the lack of dsp plugins
far away from optimal since i had not the time convert the 90 min video file in an NON AVID CODEC , assuming it helps.

GET AVE WORKING AS IT SHOULD !!
ProTools is very limited/picky about file types & frame size... When it comes to video.
FullHD .mov or .mp4 recommended,

DNxHD is a lossless or near lossless codec for Video Editors like Avid Media Composer...

Edit video first,

Rule of Thumb, if plays in QuickTime Player, Plays on ProTools.

Also you should have a large RAM disk cache in ProTools, and wait for the files to load into ram. Green Bar.
Ram goes faster than SSD or Dual Raid SSD.

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...r-Pro-Tools-11
__________________
--->If you don't like what i wrote:
Click: JuanPC
Click: View Public Profile
Click: User lists^
Click: Add to ignore list.
Solved.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-29-2016, 03:00 PM
peterle peterle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Berlin , Germany
Posts: 457
Default Re: PT HD 12.5.1 Cant play DNxHD QT !!!! WTF !!!

"Rule of Thumb, if plays in QuickTime Player, Plays on ProTools"

read my post complete before typing plz :

Same File plays fine in PT10HD (via quicktime) , btw also in Quicktime..

it is NOT playing in PT12 (via AVE)

btw it is FULL HD , it is same as "prefered" in your link

it is AVIDS own DNxHD codec

btw since feature -film post audio-sessions and video files are that large
ram -cache isnt a real option and caches ONLY audio , at least to my knowledge..
__________________
foley artist , soundeditor
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-29-2016, 03:09 PM
JuanPC JuanPC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Miami FL
Posts: 600
Default Re: PT HD 12.5.1 Cant play DNxHD QT !!!! WTF !!!

upload a small clip, that does not work in your PT, if want to test in other systems.
__________________
--->If you don't like what i wrote:
Click: JuanPC
Click: View Public Profile
Click: User lists^
Click: Add to ignore list.
Solved.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-29-2016, 03:13 PM
feliponk's Avatar
feliponk feliponk is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Miami, FL, USA
Posts: 1,213
Default Re: PT HD 12.5.1 Cant play DNxHD QT !!!! WTF !!!

Peterle: I guess you have also updated the Quicktime PE in your system. Can the installed version of Quicktime play the video?, if not, ProTools won't be able to do it.
I have QT 10.3 in my laptop and it plays MOV with DNxHD 185x, after converting the file, so I guess that's what you are facing there. Try to do that and save the converted clip and try in PT.

There's a free app that is very helpful to check codecs and wrappers, Media Info, available for OS X and Windows.

Can you confirm, please?

Regards.
__________________
Felipe Gonzalez A.
Avid ACSR Elite
Dante Certified
http://felipousismix.wix.com/felipousismix

Custom Mac Pro OSX Sierra | Windows 10 Pro 64 | ProTools HD 2019 | Pyramix XI | Merging HAPI ADA8 | MBox 3 | UAD Quad PCIe | Avid Artist Mix | Kali LP-6 | Presonus Temblor 10 | Universal Audio, Slate Digital, McDSP, Fabfilter, Plugin Alliance among other plugins
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-29-2016, 03:16 PM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,255
Default Re: PT HD 12.5.1 Cant play DNxHD QT !!!! WTF !!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JuanPC View Post
DNxHD is a lossless or near lossless codec for Video Editors like Avid Media Composer...


Rule of Thumb, if plays in QuickTime Player, Plays on ProTools.

NOT TRUE.

I use DNXHD MXF files in PT 12.5.1 they do not play in Quicktime.

Remember Quicktime is a WRAPPER, not a CODEC.
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-29-2016, 03:18 PM
feliponk's Avatar
feliponk feliponk is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Miami, FL, USA
Posts: 1,213
Default Re: PT HD 12.5.1 Cant play DNxHD QT !!!! WTF !!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by TVPostSound View Post
Remember Quicktime is a WRAPPER, not a CODEC.
Correct!
__________________
Felipe Gonzalez A.
Avid ACSR Elite
Dante Certified
http://felipousismix.wix.com/felipousismix

Custom Mac Pro OSX Sierra | Windows 10 Pro 64 | ProTools HD 2019 | Pyramix XI | Merging HAPI ADA8 | MBox 3 | UAD Quad PCIe | Avid Artist Mix | Kali LP-6 | Presonus Temblor 10 | Universal Audio, Slate Digital, McDSP, Fabfilter, Plugin Alliance among other plugins
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-29-2016, 03:38 PM
dwaynedelario dwaynedelario is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 363
Default Re: PT HD 12.5.1 Cant play DNxHD QT !!!! WTF !!!

Hi peterle,

I am on PTHD 12.5.1, Yosemite 10.10.5 and running an HDX2 system on a Mac Pro 5,1. DNxHD quicktime files (not MXF) playback fine on my system. What kind of video card do you have in your Mac? Also, what are your settings in the Preferences/Operation tab bottom right corner? Do you have Enable GPU checked?
__________________
----------------------------------------------------
HDX2 / OS X 10.12.6 / Mac Pro 2012 40GB RAM
ProTools Ultimate 2019.6
Avid OMNI+Artist Mix
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-29-2016, 04:13 PM
JuanPC JuanPC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Miami FL
Posts: 600
Default Re: PT HD 12.5.1 Cant play DNxHD QT !!!! WTF !!!

http://www.avid.com/~/media/avid/fil...t_wp.pdf?la=en

http://www.avid.com/products/avid-dnxhr-and-dnxhd

http://www.avid.com/~/media/avid/fil...nxhd.pdf?la=en
http://www.avid.com/~/media/avid/fil...s_wp.pdf?la=en

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...nload/en423319
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...Time-Codecs-LE
__________________
--->If you don't like what i wrote:
Click: JuanPC
Click: View Public Profile
Click: User lists^
Click: Add to ignore list.
Solved.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-30-2016, 07:50 AM
peterle peterle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Berlin , Germany
Posts: 457
Default Re: PT HD 12.5.1 Cant play DNxHD QT !!!! WTF !!!

funny about the video-file...

QT Pro 7 (!!) plays back the File fine,
QT X (recent) cannot play the File and "converts"
the File when opening , which results , when saving , in a QT with H264 codec....

holy crap
__________________
foley artist , soundeditor
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Codec dnxhd Sid0 Windows 11 01-10-2019 06:49 PM
H264 conversion to DNxHD MIKEROPHONICS Post - Surround - Video 21 06-30-2016 09:47 AM
PT11.3.1 wont play DNxHD Video..PT10 will peterle Post - Surround - Video 7 06-05-2015 03:21 AM
Bug: DNxHD 36 Color levels 709 vs RGB mgoorevich Post - Surround - Video 0 03-14-2013 06:39 AM
DNxHD Codec and HD Native don't mix ggegan Post - Surround - Video 7 02-05-2013 07:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com