Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-18-2012, 12:12 AM
primomusic primomusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 168
Default ProTools 10 & Mac mini?? please help

Hey Fellas gonna be purchasing a mac mini tomorrow and it has the version of OSX mountain lion 10.8.2. and will also purchase protools 10. I have a control 24. Will this be a good idea or will I be running into alot of problems with plugin compatibility etc.. I see they're deals on ebay for PT 9. thanks fellas
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-18-2012, 01:31 AM
JazzyJ JazzyJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 787
Default Re: ProTools 10????

Most plugins are updated to work in 10.

Haven't got PT10 myself but have been on a friend's machine. After all of my cynicism I must say that the 'clip gain' feature is great and could have saved me so much time in the past. I'm a fan!

Also PT10 has 16,000 delay compensation (or something like that) which means that it will now actually be possible to use UAD plugins in a realistic manner.

UAD must be kissing the feet of Avid now as this means that UAD plugins will now cease to be the biggest joke in plugin history and potentially could now end up being the best plugins in plugin history.....

Saying that, I'm not gonna drop £400+ quid on PT10 right now anyway. Happy to make music in PT8 and use whatever cash I've got spare to live life a bit with family and friends.....
__________________
Hack Pro (4.2Ghz i7 Quad/16GB)
PT11 / OSX 10.8.5
TC Electronic Konnekt 24D

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-18-2012, 07:38 AM
himynameisdustin himynameisdustin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 45
Default Re: ProTools 10 & Mac mini?? please help

I just received a refurbished mac miniserver from apple . says it comes with lion but came with 10.8. This machine is amazing for the price. here is the link


http://store.apple.com/us/product/FC...-intel-core-i7
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-18-2012, 11:58 AM
primomusic primomusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 168
Default Re: ProTools 10 & Mac mini?? please help

Awesome!! But I know it is expensive but since i am a student I can always use my student I.d to get the discount, I mean its the same as the full box version anyway right? If I do get it is there any updating I would need to do for protools or its should work right out of the box? thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-18-2012, 12:44 PM
himynameisdustin himynameisdustin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 45
Default Re: ProTools 10 & Mac mini?? please help

Well i can not guarantee it would work with Pro Tools 9 but I am using Mac mini server 10.8 with Pro tools 10 and it works.

Here is a video of someone showing 9 works but again can not say for sure.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jZnVAMB6ikY
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-18-2012, 02:14 PM
primomusic primomusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 168
Default Re: ProTools 10 & Mac mini?? please help

Quote:
Originally Posted by himynameisdustin View Post
Well i can not guarantee it would work with Pro Tools 9 but I am using Mac mini server 10.8 with Pro tools 10 and it works.

Here is a video of someone showing 9 works but again can not say for sure.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jZnVAMB6ikY
Ok Got ya so PT 10 is guaranteed to run smoother with the new MAC MINI 10.8.2. I keep hearing alot of people using the mac mini server what is that and its difference?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-18-2012, 03:10 PM
himynameisdustin himynameisdustin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 45
Default Re: ProTools 10 & Mac mini?? please help

Well I can not speak for 10.8.2 as mine came with 10.8 and everything works so not updating.

Mac mini server is basically the mac mini with an extra hard drive (2 total) additional server software that you can just disregard.

The link i posted for the refurbished one is cheaper then the new ones and comes with 2 - 500 gb 7200rpm hard drives (Totally separate hard drives)

2012 Mac Mini comes with 5200 rpm drives or upgraded ssd.

Anyway there pros and cons

2011 Mini - No USB 3.0 and has slower processor


BUT both have thunderbolt which is what sold me on 2011

Also 2011 Mini can be upgraded to 16 gb even though apple says only 8gb


Good Luck!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-18-2012, 07:15 PM
primomusic primomusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 168
Default Re: ProTools 10 & Mac mini?? please help

Got ya now I understand so a server is just like an external hard drive it benefits by not having to buy a third pary hard drive.. thats actually pretty cool now not sure If I want to get the one with the server. Because I also need an External Hard drive.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-18-2012, 07:38 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: ProTools 10 & Mac mini?? please help

also the servers come with i7 CPUs were the regulars are i5's
if you bought 9 educational version as a student you get 4 years of upgrades for free
if your did not get the educational version (fromm a schools bookstore ore qualified online reseller) then never-mind
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-19-2012, 02:41 PM
primomusic primomusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 168
Default Re: ProTools 10 & Mac mini?? please help

Well I acutally plan on getting the lower priced PT 10 cause im a student.

Since I plan On getting the $799 version I not understanding what a SSD is I did see that GLYPH hard drives were popular. Is this the way I should go as far as HARD Drives goes. thanks merry christmas fellas
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2012 i5 mini and ProTools 10 propower macOS 7 12-03-2012 08:56 PM
Mac Mini for Protools LE strat71 macOS 2 03-26-2012 04:53 PM
Protools le 8.0 Mbox mini ineedanswers 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-10-2010 04:16 PM
mac mini and protools LE lukeyy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 02-23-2006 10:13 AM
RAM for ProTools and Mac Mini Maarsmusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 01-25-2005 12:18 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:32 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com