Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-12-2012, 08:50 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,811
Default Apple's new Macbook Pro with Retina Display

Just a few quick notes:

Discontinued is the 17" MPB so if you want one, get it before it is out of stock.

13" and 15" (Non-Retina) gets refresh (faster processors and 2 USB3 ports)

Retina model comes only in 15" and is thinner and lighter (flash drive only - no spinning HD). Also DVD-RW is gone (external USB only). Ports on both left and right of notebook including HDMI port and 2 Thunderbolt ports. (NO FIREWIRE PORT)

All models have faster CPU and GPU
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.15.2 running Protools 2019.12.0
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-12-2012, 09:00 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,787
Default Re: Apple's new Macbook Pro with Retina Display

They also announced a new upcoming Thunderbolt to Firewire cable, which will be great for many reasons, and will allow you to use it with this new Macbook.

The new Thunderbolt to Ethernet cable is only $29, hopefully this firewire one will be the same.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-12-2012, 10:10 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,811
Default Re: Apple's new Macbook Pro with Retina Display

That would be a great solution for many of us.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.15.2 running Protools 2019.12.0
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-13-2012, 01:06 AM
tamasdragon tamasdragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hungary
Posts: 2,190
Default Re: Apple's new Macbook Pro with Retina Display

I would immediately buy two of those thunderbolt to firewire cables. I've been waiting for so long....
__________________
my blog:Tamas Dragon
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-27-2012, 07:09 PM
Bielefeld Bielefeld is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Holladay, UT
Posts: 33
Default Re: Apple's new Macbook Pro with Retina Display

I am pretty new to Pro Tools. I have been using a 15" MacBook Pro that was purchased in September. I have just received the new 15" MacBook Pro with Retina Display and a 2.6 GHz (with a turboboost to 3.6 GHz) processer yesterday and so far the machine is amazingly fast! The only downfall I have right now is the fact that Apple as not released its new Firewire to Thunderbolt adapter yet... and for some reason I had Pro Tools 10.2 crash on me for the first time (so far it happend only once). I am hoping that the next update of PT10 will incorporate the HiDef Resolution of the Retina Display.

Like I said I am not a heavy user, only a couple of tracks here and there. But this computer is pretty amazing and light weight. I would recommend it to anyone interested.
__________________
OS:
Mac OSX Maveriks 10.9
System:
2012 15" MacBook Pro With Retina Display
2.6 GHz i7 (Turboboost to 3.6 GHz), 8 GB RAM, 512 GB SDD
3 TB Seagate External USB 3.0 HDD.
500 GB Western Digital External Firewire HDD
Running:
Pro Tools 11.0.3
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-28-2012, 02:24 AM
robertomg robertomg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Mexico
Posts: 12
Default Re: Apple's new Macbook Pro with Retina Display

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bielefeld View Post
I am pretty new to Pro Tools. I have been using a 15" MacBook Pro that was purchased in September. I have just received the new 15" MacBook Pro with Retina Display and a 2.6 GHz (with a turboboost to 3.6 GHz) processer yesterday and so far the machine is amazingly fast! The only downfall I have right now is the fact that Apple as not released its new Firewire to Thunderbolt adapter yet... and for some reason I had Pro Tools 10.2 crash on me for the first time (so far it happend only once). I am hoping that the next update of PT10 will incorporate the HiDef Resolution of the Retina Display.

Like I said I am not a heavy user, only a couple of tracks here and there. But this computer is pretty amazing and light weight. I would recommend it to anyone interested.
Are you using an external drive of any kind? Or are you using just the SSD?
I want to buy the retina macbook pro too, but I am afraid performance is affected by not using a second drive for recording/playback. As far as I know SSD are not officially supported by Avid and they always recomend a second drive just for record/playback.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-28-2012, 06:41 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,787
Default Re: Apple's new Macbook Pro with Retina Display

SSD is not supported for audio, but it works fine as your main system drive, which is what these new Macbook Pro's come with.

For your external drives, you have a few choices with it. You could use Thunderbolt drives, or you could use firewire drives with the inexpensive Thunderbolt to firewire adapter that Apple is releasing soon, or, since it has USB 3.0 ports, you could use USB 3.0 drives, which are much faster than firewire, and much less expensive than Thunderbolt drives.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-28-2012, 09:31 AM
mostapha mostapha is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 15
Default Re: Apple's new Macbook Pro with Retina Display

I've been using an older SSD in a FW800 chassis as my Audio drive for a while (months…maybe a year) on Logic 9 and then PT 10 and had zero issues. (System drive is a newer SSD)

IHNFC why Avid hasn't said it's okay, but their reasons are likely garbage. SSDs are faster and more reliable in every way except a shorter MTTF, which just means that you need to make backups……which you should be doing anyway.

I actually had someone in an Apple store tell me not to do that, and he brought up a bunch of BS reasons like cache size being smaller or seek times being longer, both of which are completely wrong.

It's possible I'm missing something, but I don't think there's any reason to use spinning platters for anything except archives and backups.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-28-2012, 10:44 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,787
Default Re: Apple's new Macbook Pro with Retina Display

Yes, they seem to work fine, but I don't know if the extra expense is worth it for just audio vs. a 7200 rpm spinning drive. But for the system drive or for sample libraries, it certainly is an improvement.

I think the previous poster was concerned about it being the only option for the system drive on the Retina model.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-28-2012, 10:56 AM
Bielefeld Bielefeld is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Holladay, UT
Posts: 33
Default Re: Apple's new Macbook Pro with Retina Display

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
Yes, they seem to work fine, but I don't know if the extra expense is worth it for just audio vs. a 7200 rpm spinning drive. But for the system drive or for sample libraries, it certainly is an improvement.

I think the previous poster was concerned about it being the only option for the system drive on the Retina model.
So far it seems to work fine with playback (I haven't tried recording with the SSD yet) I have had Pro Tools crash a couple of times now though... Any idea when/if Avid will upgrade PT10 to support SSD? Or there reasons for them not to? I mean SSD runs cooler, faster and has less moving parts... Why not support them?

I guess in the worst case senario I could always invest in a thunderbolt or USB 3.0 external.
__________________
OS:
Mac OSX Maveriks 10.9
System:
2012 15" MacBook Pro With Retina Display
2.6 GHz i7 (Turboboost to 3.6 GHz), 8 GB RAM, 512 GB SDD
3 TB Seagate External USB 3.0 HDD.
500 GB Western Digital External Firewire HDD
Running:
Pro Tools 11.0.3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
retina display macs and pt10 pappatoad macOS 40 07-03-2013 09:14 PM
PT 11 Support for Retina Display...? ronwasserman Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 04-22-2013 06:43 PM
Regular Macbook Pro vs. Macbook Pro with Retina display pzykt macOS 9 04-02-2013 09:32 AM
Installing without disks? New Retina Display pro kharla macOS 7 12-06-2012 07:14 AM
Experiences running Eleven Rack with a USB3 MacBook Pro or MacBook Pro Retina? Darryl Ramm Eleven Rack 3 09-19-2012 12:22 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com