Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-04-2010, 11:45 AM
Infiltrator Infiltrator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 208
Default I need a flexible RTAS pattern generator/slicer/

Why am I having severe issues finding a slicer plug-in that either processes the audio as an insert, or one which acts as a modulation CC midi source routable to anything MIDI?

But it must allow access to an extremely flexible step-sequencer mod source with different shapes to allow me to edit a multi-point, stepped envelope, or patterned slicer which allows for the steps to be curves, ramps, triangles, different waves, saws, squiggly tremolo patterns within the steps, or for the user to be able to draw it out on their own across a multi-point envelope - and either have this sit on the channel as an insert to act either on the level of the audio (at the very least) or any other characteristic of the audio (whatever features the plug-in has). ... OR to act as a CC mod destination to i can send that as a modulation source to any RTAS soft synth or to my Virus - because my virus allows external mod sources of all sorts.

But this has to be a very flexible multi-point envelope or step sequence with tons of options. If I cannot get this in the virus, what is a good tool for this to be able to assign it as a midi mod souce assigning it to some sort of CC and mod source input into the Virus to mod the level of the virus or the other mod destinations.

Somebody told me that only Fruity loops has a flexible slicer like this out of all the DAWs. If that claim is true, then i find that very very disturbing.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-04-2010, 11:48 AM
Gothboy's Avatar
Gothboy Gothboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Santa Monica, Ca.
Posts: 1,596
Default Re: I need a flexible RTAS pattern generator/slicer/

Doesn't Transfuser do all of this?
__________________
Apple Mac Pro 2.88 GHz. Intel Xeon Quad core
16 GB RAM
Mountain Lion 10.8.5/El Capitan 10.11
Focusrite Saffire Pro 40
Ableton Live 10/Presonus Studio 3
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-04-2010, 11:53 AM
Infiltrator Infiltrator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 208
Default Re: I need a flexible RTAS pattern generator/slicer/

I am looking at the transfuser videos and I can only see it kind of acts more like a drum machine and also does stuff similar to beat detective by detecting transients. But I do not need it for drum loops. Let me re-explain: lets say I want to lay down a synthesizer lead - how would transfuser work to patternize that?

I think Transfuser is more of some sort of drum machine acting on transients.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-04-2010, 03:27 PM
Gothboy's Avatar
Gothboy Gothboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Santa Monica, Ca.
Posts: 1,596
Default Re: I need a flexible RTAS pattern generator/slicer/

Yeah it's a beat module but it's got a slicer right in it. You drag an audio file in and it slices it up. You know I have Transfuser but I haven't installed and used it yet. I'm too busy finishing up an album...so I can't explain it all correctly....but you can also just put it on a track and have audio go right in.

If you want a synth with a sick pattern gen that you can paint in curves you should check out NI Massive. That I have and HAVE used and it's great for that.
__________________
Apple Mac Pro 2.88 GHz. Intel Xeon Quad core
16 GB RAM
Mountain Lion 10.8.5/El Capitan 10.11
Focusrite Saffire Pro 40
Ableton Live 10/Presonus Studio 3
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-04-2010, 03:39 PM
burningbusch burningbusch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 272
Default Re: I need a flexible RTAS pattern generator/slicer/

In addition to Massive, Omnisphere has very flexible modulation envelopes.

For an audio plugin, check out Loomer's Sequent.

http://www.loomer.co.uk/sequent.htm

Busch.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-04-2010, 09:09 PM
Infiltrator Infiltrator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 208
Default Re: I need a flexible RTAS pattern generator/slicer/

Yup I just tried Massive - that is the exact patternizer I am referring to, but can't i output that massive pattern as a CC source to input as midi controller data to the virus?

But as for the loomer sequent you recommended me, the Virus already has a window similar to the sequence window. I am talking about a much more flexible multi-point stepper like the Massive one - but as a CC source.

And for omnisphere's flexible envelope modding, can the pattern be set as a CC mod source and go externally? I dont know how to explain that question in any other way other than the fact that I know the Virus has various ways of inputting CC data - such as CC dials, aftertouch, mod wheel, data entry, expression pedal, and all the usuall ones like portamento etc... but it also has some sources called "controller 3", controller 9, controller 12, controller 13, controller 14, controller 15, and stops at controller 16. these do not appear to be standard CC numbers and the manual does not explain what these are. I assume these are some external controllers of various sorts.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-04-2010, 09:20 PM
Infiltrator Infiltrator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 208
Default Re: I need a flexible RTAS pattern generator/slicer/

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gothboy View Post

If you want a synth with a sick pattern gen that you can paint in curves you should check out NI Massive. That I have and HAVE used and it's great for that.
Yes but what if I want to use that performer stepper as a mod source to something outside massive? I need something like that as a mod source to the virus, but loomer does not have the same shape painting capabilities.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-05-2010, 07:52 AM
Gothboy's Avatar
Gothboy Gothboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Santa Monica, Ca.
Posts: 1,596
Default Re: I need a flexible RTAS pattern generator/slicer/

Quote:
Originally Posted by Infiltrator View Post
Yes but what if I want to use that performer stepper as a mod source to something outside massive? I need something like that as a mod source to the virus, but loomer does not have the same shape painting capabilities.
I looked at the manual and you can't achieve that with Massive unfortunately...nor can you process external audio with it alas.
__________________
Apple Mac Pro 2.88 GHz. Intel Xeon Quad core
16 GB RAM
Mountain Lion 10.8.5/El Capitan 10.11
Focusrite Saffire Pro 40
Ableton Live 10/Presonus Studio 3
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-05-2010, 10:41 AM
Infiltrator Infiltrator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 208
Default Re: I need a flexible RTAS pattern generator/slicer/

Actually, I found another one. i can just use this in reaktor. here is the link:

http://www.native-instruments.com/fo...6&d=1278316417

but does anyone know how i assign this to the CC modulation source of another soft synth sitting on an instrument track? for example - my virus control plug-in. do I put this on an aux?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-31-2010, 10:01 AM
Infiltrator Infiltrator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 208
Default Re: I need a flexible RTAS pattern generator/slicer/

Ok so apparently there is a way to route it to a plug-in by using something called Midi Yoke for the PC open outside of pro tools - reaktor open outside pro tools - that is.

But is there a way to make this just act as a slicer on the level of the audio without having to rely on external programs? (Basically a pattern on the volume but putting the ensemble in reaktor on the track and making it act on the level of audio already existing on the track? or is this only for the assigned CC? So would that act on the track's own volume? But do audio tracks even recognize the CC for level? Is that even a CC?

Because thats what I would only use it for if I am not doing the CC assign for the cutoff of another soft synth with the Midi Yoke solution which needs reaktor open outside of pro tools - I want Reaktor open inside of pro tools acting on level.

Otherwise, maybe I can try Absynth because apparently it can act as an effects unit for incoming audio.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beat Slicer Effect??? micline 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-10-2006 08:31 AM
Tip needed for Vocal Slicer Compression Records Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 12-09-2005 08:42 PM
Intakt Beat Slicer for PC RTAS Shan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 11-08-2003 11:34 PM
Free RTAS sound generator for a click? ten cent cat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 01-19-2003 05:29 PM
free/shareware RTAS tone generator superjim 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 09-12-2002 05:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com