Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 03-18-2016, 08:12 PM
JuanPC JuanPC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Miami FL
Posts: 600
Default Re: The newest 6th generation Intel processors

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
What's the best most powerful processor out there for PT?

I don't keep up, I suppose b/c I am happy where I am at...currently not indefinitely
The server version of the i7-5960x,
ECC memory is important.
The Xeon E5-1680 v3,
Or a bit less powerful dual E5-2640 v3,

Has 8-cores/16-threads faster than my 32-core AMD Opteron dual 6276 @ 2.6GHz
In Cinebench R15 Multi-CPU.

http://www.cpu-monkey.com/en/compare...e5_1680_v3-490
http://www.cpu-monkey.com/en/cpu-int...e5_2640_v3-494
...
http://duc.avid.com/showpost.php?p=2335239&postcount=4
http://duc.avid.com/showpost.php?p=2334516&postcount=25
...
board? Supermicro X10DRG-Q "sorry Tyan."
http://www.supermicro.com/products/m...0/X10DRG-Q.cfm

The Tyan S7082 (S7082GM4NR)
http://tyan.com/Motherboards_S7082_S7082GM4NR
Slim!
or the S7070
http://tyan.com/Motherboards_S7070_S7070A2NR-B
Other boards:
http://www.supermicro.com/products/m...600/X10DAX.cfm
http://www.supermicro.com/products/m...600/X10DAi.cfm
http://www.supermicro.com/products/m...600/X10DRX.cfm

Last edited by JuanPC; 03-19-2016 at 09:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 03-20-2016, 12:31 PM
Quickdraw Quickdraw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 60
Default Re: The newest 6th generation Intel processors

Quote:
Originally Posted by JuanPC View Post
The server version of the i7-5960x,
ECC memory is important.
The Xeon E5-1680 v3,
Or a bit less powerful dual E5-2640 v3,

Has 8-cores/16-threads faster than my 32-core AMD Opteron dual 6276 @ 2.6GHz
In Cinebench R15 Multi-CPU.

http://www.cpu-monkey.com/en/compare...e5_1680_v3-490
http://www.cpu-monkey.com/en/cpu-int...e5_2640_v3-494
...
http://duc.avid.com/showpost.php?p=2335239&postcount=4
http://duc.avid.com/showpost.php?p=2334516&postcount=25
...
board? Supermicro X10DRG-Q "sorry Tyan."
http://www.supermicro.com/products/m...0/X10DRG-Q.cfm

The Tyan S7082 (S7082GM4NR)
http://tyan.com/Motherboards_S7082_S7082GM4NR
Slim!
or the S7070
http://tyan.com/Motherboards_S7070_S7070A2NR-B
Other boards:
http://www.supermicro.com/products/m...600/X10DAX.cfm
http://www.supermicro.com/products/m...600/X10DAi.cfm
http://www.supermicro.com/products/m...600/X10DRX.cfm
Almost nothing here is correct. You are talking about a benchmarking app that will give you no indication of actual real world performance in pro tools.
There is no need whatsoever for ECC RAM that's a complete myth.
You don't need to spend $2,000 on a processor just to get decent latency out of pro tools.
If you really want to be sure a system will work consult a competent professional and ignore this nonsense.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 03-20-2016, 08:32 PM
mykhal c's Avatar
mykhal c mykhal c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: san fran
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: Are you using a 6th generation Intel processor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrismeraz View Post
Chris,

Thanks for the screenshots.

I fixed it! I reinstalled EVERYTHING, including the newest drivers for every mobo component and graphics card etc. At this point I still had high latency and audio dropouts in PT. Then:

I disabled my wifi adapter, and
Made sure my Digi 003 was NOT the default audio device for Windows

and now I think everything works. I actually have lower latency reports than you do.

Thanks for your encouragement.
glad you got things dialed in. i'll gladly add to the confusion here no seriously, to look at the lowest level in system delay causes one should first look at the event timer(s) being used. the main 2 are HPET and invariant TSC timers. there's lotsa info out these on both and how to chose and what might be best. i've tested both on my rig. HPET produces higher DPC latency but seems more stable, for me. both allow me to run at 32 to 128 buffer size for my sessions. here are some links. happy reading...

http://www.neowin.net/forum/topic/10...mance-and-fps/

and of course the white paper…

http://www.intel.com/content/dam/www...t-2-manual.pdf
__________________
bassist...deep pocketz anyone???!!!

The Basschakra Lucid Soul Trip

i7 Builds - Specs and Results

HDNative | Omni | i7-3930K OC'd 4.0GHZ |
ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB GSkill DDR3 2133 ram | mo' stuff
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 03-20-2016, 08:41 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,705
Default Re: Are you using a 6th generation Intel processor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mykhal c View Post
one should first look at the event timer(s) being used. the main 2 are HPET and invariant TSC timers. there's lotsa info out these on both and how to chose and what might be best. i've tested both on my rig. HPET produces higher DPC latency but seems more stable, for me.

Are these two timers (?) Windows only? Or related to the CPU?
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 03-20-2016, 11:33 PM
johnnyv johnnyv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,090
Default Re: The newest 6th generation Intel processors

Quote:
Originally Posted by guitardom View Post
You are the only person mentioning Cinebench here. Comparisons are typically made with Geekbench. If you want direct Pro Tools comparisons, the Dverb test is what is used.

You are still running a first gen i7. You really need to work on newer systems before making generalizations about them.
Can you tell me how to set up and run the "Dverb test"?
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 03-21-2016, 12:18 AM
LochNESS LochNESS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 55
Default Re: The newest 6th generation Intel processors

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyv View Post
Can you tell me how to set up and run the "Dverb test"?
Pretty sure I read an incredibly detailed explanation of the Dverb test setup on the "i7 builds" thread (the link is in user mykhal_c's signature... just scroll up a few comments).

Check it out. First post, or second, but it's there for sure.
__________________
PT 2018.7, Sibelius 8.6, Melodyne 4, Cubase LE AI 9, Audacity

Gigabyte H97M-D3H, Intel i5-4590 @ 3.3GHz, Intel H97 chipset, 24GB Crucial Ballistix 1600 DDR3, Win 10, Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD, WD Black 1TB HDD (x2), TP-Link N900 PCIe, EVGA 500w PSU

Dell Studio XPS 8100, Intel i7-870 @ 2.93GHz, Intel 5 Series/3400 Series chipset PCIe, ATI Radeon, Win 7 (64-bit) Home Premium, Realtek HD, THX TruStudio, Chicony 350w PSU
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD or Intel Processor LaEspera Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 3 07-21-2012 10:40 AM
3rd Generation Intel i7 processor? sharpo07 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-04-2012 08:54 AM
Intel Core i7 2.0GHz Quad-Core Processor or Intel Core i7 2.7GHz Dual-Core Processor? okodub Pro Tools 9 3 09-23-2011 08:33 AM
looking for specs with intel i7 processor Onelbkb 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-16-2009 11:05 PM
oo2 with intel processor MR808 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 09-18-2003 01:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com