Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-03-2014, 03:29 PM
Farmer Dave Farmer Dave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Marin County, CA USA
Posts: 977
Default PT 11.1.3 - Bizarre plug-in behavior

----------------------------
10.8.5
11.1.3.325
10.3.8.378
2.66 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
16GB RAM - 1066 MHz DDR3

Eucon 3.1.2
Artist Mix
Artist Transport

Audio Hardware - Coreaudio Aggregate MOTU HD Express & 828mk3 Hybrid

ATI Radeon HD 4870:
NVIDIA GeForce GT 120:
----------------------------

I've been seeing this in previous versions of PT11 too, so not new.

The main plug-in I notice this on is DMG Equick.

1) I have a multi-mono instance of EQuick (1.07) on a 7.1 Aux.
2) Automation on this aux is OFF.
3) The setting I have for EQuick recalls with the session, but the moment I press PLAY, EQuick sets to a completely random setting. It will then stay there - ie - doesn't change the next time I press play.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-04-2014, 12:01 PM
Farmer Dave Farmer Dave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Marin County, CA USA
Posts: 977
Default Re: PT 11.1.3 - Bizarre plug-in behavior

I can verify the exact same thing happens with Fabfilter Pro Q.

The session opens up and the plugins are set as I saved them. But as soon as I press play, a random setting occurs in both EQuick and Fabfilter Pro Q.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-04-2014, 12:23 PM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,163
Default Re: PT 11.1.3 - Bizarre plug-in behavior

EQ7 try as it sound like a plug-in issue, clear the AAE pref to rescan plug-ins.
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

APFS 90% 10% Audio on Both
(HFS+)
Pro Tools U-2019.12 macOS 10.14.6 APFS
Second boot-macOS 10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire RX-580 MVC-Edition)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDIoverIP)
----
music-design-creation
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.

Audio Tuning and System Services
new systems builds/upkeep
----
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-04-2014, 03:48 PM
Farmer Dave Farmer Dave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Marin County, CA USA
Posts: 977
Default Re: PT 11.1.3 - Bizarre plug-in behavior

Quote:
Originally Posted by DetroitT View Post
EQ7 try as it sound like a plug-in issue, clear the AAE pref to rescan plug-ins.
EQ3 behaves fine

Confirmed now to occur in at least 3 different 3rd party plugins:

EQuick
Fabfilter Pro Q
Alloy 2

It looks like failure on multi-mono plugin instances, even on stereo tracks. The plug-in "usually" recalls the settings upon session opening, but will set to a random setting once transport is engaged, even though the track is set to automation OFF.

This does NOT occur if the session is opened in PT10.3.8

Here is a copy of a fresh session that shows this behavior, with:

mono - WORKS FINE
stereo (with Stereo plug-in instance) - WORKS FINE
stereo (with multi-mono instance) - FAILS
LCR (with multi-mono instance) - FAILS
5.1 (with multi-mono instance) - FAILS

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...all%20test.zip

And here is a screen capture of this occurring. The 2 instances of the plugin on the left are not multi-mono. The 3 on the right are multi-mono and ALL three show this behavior.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...callError2.mp4

As stated, EQ3 does not show this behavior, but multiple 3rd party vendor plugins do. I've been seeing this in all versions of PT11, but it doesn't happen in PT10.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-04-2014, 04:39 PM
Farmer Dave Farmer Dave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Marin County, CA USA
Posts: 977
Default Re: PT 11.1.3 - Bizarre plug-in behavior

Add McDSP ML1 (again Multi-mono) to the list.

This is really problematic, and is one of the reasons I keep having to postpone the switch to PT11. For those of us in Post, multi-mono plugins are a must dealing with tracks that are LCR and up in track count.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-04-2014, 05:19 PM
Farmer Dave Farmer Dave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Marin County, CA USA
Posts: 977
Default Re: PT 11.1.3 - Bizarre plug-in behavior

This ALSO occurs after an offline bounce, with the multi-mono plugins generating a random setting.

I'm going to have to go back to 10.3.8. I can't risk this any more.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-04-2014, 06:23 PM
TimNielsen TimNielsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,192
Default Re: PT 11.1.3 - Bizarre plug-in behavior

Confirmed that if I take Dave's session to a Mavericks machine, 10.9.2 and pt 11.1.3, can reproduce every time. Simply opening that session and hitting play, the settings randomly change, and don't change the same way each time.

Seriously dangerous bug.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-04-2014, 06:50 PM
philip888's Avatar
philip888 philip888 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1,948
Default Re: PT 11.1.3 - Bizarre plug-in behavior

Ok sorry for you guys.

Glad I am holding off.
__________________
Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R BIOS FH, Intel Core i7 CPU 980X, 24GB Mushkin Enhanced Blackline DDR3 1600Mhz PC3-12800, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560, Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit, Pro Tools 12.4 Antelope Orion 32
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-04-2014, 09:25 PM
Danny Caccavo Danny Caccavo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1998
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,279
Default Re: PT 11.1.3 - Bizarre plug-in behavior

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimNielsen View Post
Confirmed that if I take Dave's session to a Mavericks machine, 10.9.2 and pt 11.1.3, can reproduce every time. Simply opening that session and hitting play, the settings randomly change, and don't change the same way each time.

Seriously dangerous bug.
I have regressed it, written it up and reported it to Avid

FWIW, I'm finding this problem with Brainworx BX Digital V2 in all versions of PT11. With MDW I could only reproduce it in 11.1.3.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-04-2014, 09:41 PM
Farmer Dave Farmer Dave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Marin County, CA USA
Posts: 977
Default Re: PT 11.1.3 - Bizarre plug-in behavior

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny Caccavo View Post
I have regressed it, written it up and reported it to Avid
Thank you Danny!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edit window - right/left arrow keys - bizarre behavior Londoner 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 11-05-2010 06:47 AM
Akai MPD26 creating some really bizarre PT click behavior Jonny Jon Jon MIDI 0 05-07-2010 01:48 PM
PTHD for Windows -- bizarre Edit Window behavior jjnyc Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 4 12-09-2007 07:53 PM
Bizarre behavior on D-Control Mikey MTC ICON & C|24 2 02-12-2007 11:09 PM
Bizarre Premiere 4.2 Behavior JKD99 Post - Surround - Video 8 02-20-2004 10:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com