Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-25-2019, 03:23 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,702
Default Re: Not answering

What is your audio interface?
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.5, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-25-2019, 03:26 AM
JNSW JNSW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 60
Default Re: Not answering

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
What is your audio interface?
Apollo twin USB
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-25-2019, 03:30 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,996
Default Re: Not answering

Windows 10 will show floppy drives like the attached screenshot. Click the Disable button for each that show up. If none show up then its not the floppy drive issue and we'll think what else it can be.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2019-05-25 at 3.26.31 AM.jpg (65.4 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-25-2019, 03:40 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,996
Default Re: Not answering

If the floppy is not it, one thing that may help is to get a Sandra report from your systems. Look for the Sandra information under the Windows General Troubleshooting link under "Help Us help you" up the top of this DUC web page.

Copy and paste the text output of the Sandra report (not a screenshot), it should look similar to the one here: http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=269583

--

BScout may have better ideas. I'm guessing he might have wanted to check you have an ASIO interface (you do, so great). But never assume Pro Tools has started up witt the correct interface. Open the Playback Engine dialog and check. Sometimes screwed up playback engines esp. ASIO4ALL drivers can cause weird hangs etc.

Just on that line of thought, and not that it should cause these problems, make sure Windows Sound and no other applications are trying to use the Apollo Twin, they should all be set to use the computers build-in audio.

You'll likely be removing all plugin files, trashing prefs again, checking Windows Event Viewer and other things if you still gave this behavior.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-25-2019, 04:18 AM
JNSW JNSW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 60
Default Re: Not answering

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Windows 10 will show floppy drives like the attached screenshot. Click the Disable button for each that show up. If none show up then its not the floppy drive issue and we'll think what else it can be.
Here´s a screenshot of my deice manager and i don´t think i have any floppys.

PT always open up with the correct sound engine if i turn the interface on before launching PT , so that shouldn´t be an issue. I´m looking in to the Sandra thing.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Floppy.jpg (27.0 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-25-2019, 05:11 AM
JNSW JNSW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 60
Default Re: Not answering

Here´s the computer overview made by SiSoftware Sandra

ID
Host Name : JNSWRNHD
Workgroup : WORKGROUP

Computer
Model : HP Z420 Workstation 103C_53335X G=D
Serial Number : CZC34*****
Chassis : HP Mini Tower
Mainboard : HP 1589
Serial Number : CZC34*****
BIOS : HP J61 v03.50 08/15/2013
TPM - Trusted Platform Module : IFX 1.2 (PCR 24)
Intel vPro : 8.1.40.1416
Total Memory : 128GB ECC DIMM DDR3

Processors
Processor : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2680 0 @ 2.70GHz (8C 16T 3.2GHz/3.5GHz, 3.2GHz IMC, 8x 256kB L2, 20MB L3)
Socket/Slot : FC LGA1567

Chipset
Memory Controller : HP Core (Sandy Bridge-E) DMI2 100MHz
Memory Controller : Intel Core (Sandy Bridge-E) Integrated Memory Controller Registers 100MHz, 4x 4GB ECC DIMM DDR3 1.6GHz 256-bit

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : SanMax M393B2G70BH0-CK0 16GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600
Memory Module : SanMax M393B2G70DB0-CK0 16GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600
Memory Module : SanMax M393B2G70BH0-CK0 16GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600
Memory Module : SanMax M393B2G70BH0-CK0 16GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600
Memory Module : SanMax M393B2G70BH0-CK0 16GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600
Memory Module : SanMax M393B2G70BH0-CK0 16GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600
Memory Module : SanMax M393B2G70BH0-CK0 16GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600
Memory Module : SanMax M393B2G70BH0-CK0 16GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600

Video System
Monitor/Panel : BNQ BenQ GW2450H
(1920x1080, 24.0")
Monitor/Panel : Philips PHL 241S4
(1920x1080, 24.0")
Video Adapter : NVIDIA NVS 310 (1CU 48SP SM5.5 1GHz, 512MB 1.75GHz, PCIe 2.0 x16)
Video Adapter : NVIDIA NVS 310 (1CU 48SP SM5.5 1GHz, 512MB 1.75GHz, PCIe 2.0 x16)

Graphics Processor
OpenCL : NVIDIA NVS 310 (48SP 1C 523MHz, 512MB 1.75GHz)
D3D 11 : NVIDIA NVS 310 (48SP 1C 523MHz, 512MB 1.75GHz)
OpenGL : NVS 310/PCIe/SSE2 (512MB)
OpenGL : NVS 310/PCIe/SSE2 (512MB)

Storage Devices
Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB (500.1GB, SATA600, 2.5", SSD, OPAL) : 466GB (C:)
Micron MTFDDAK256MAM-1K1 (256GB, SATA600, 2.5", SSD) : 238GB (G:)
TF CARD Storage (USB2/NVMe) : N/A (D:)
hp CDDVDW SH-216DB (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW) : N/A (E:)

Logical Storage Devices
Återställning : 499MB (NTFS, 4kB) @ Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB (500.1GB, SATA600, 2.5", SSD, OPAL)
Primär (C:) : 465GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB (500.1GB, SATA600, 2.5", SSD, OPAL)
Återställning : 499MB (NTFS, 4kB) @ Micron MTFDDAK256MAM-1K1 (256GB, SATA600, 2.5", SSD)
Min Moosika (G:) : 238GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ Micron MTFDDAK256MAM-1K1 (256GB, SATA600, 2.5", SSD)
Hard Disk : 95MB (FAT32, 1kB) @ Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB (500.1GB, SATA600, 2.5", SSD, OPAL)
Hard Disk : 95MB (FAT32, 1kB) @ Micron MTFDDAK256MAM-1K1 (256GB, SATA600, 2.5", SSD)
Removable Drive (D:) : N/A @ TF CARD Storage (USB2/NVMe)
Optical Drive (E:) : N/A @ hp CDDVDW SH-216DB (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller #1 : HP Patsburg LPC Controller
Audio Device : HP Patsburg High Definition Audio Controller
Audio Codec : Realtek Semi 262 High Definition Audio
Audio Device : HP HDMI Audio stub
Audio Codec : nVidia 001C
Serial Port(s) : 1
Disk Controller : HP Patsburg IDE-r Controller
Disk Controller : HP Patsburg SATA RAID Controller
Disk Controller : HP Patsburg 4-Port SATA Storage Control Unit
USB Controller #1 : HP Patsburg USB2 Enhanced Host Controller #2
USB Controller #2 : HP Patsburg USB2 Enhanced Host Controller #1
USB Controller #3 : HP TUSB73x0 SuperSpeed USB 3.0 xHCI Host Controller
FireWire/1394 Controller #1 : HP FW322/323 IEEE1394 OHCI FireWire Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller #1 : Intel ICH SMBus
SMBus/i2c Controller #2 : Intel MCP2-E(P) XMB Ch 0 SMBus
SMBus/i2c Controller #3 : Intel MCP2-E(P) XMB Ch 1 SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer v4 (600x600, Colour)
Printer : Microsoft Print To PDF (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)

Peripherals

Network Services
Network Adapter : Remote NDIS based Internet Sharing Device (Ethernet, 150Mbps)
Network Adapter : TAP-Windows Adapter V9 (Ethernet)
Network Adapter : Intel(R) 82579LM Gigabit Network Connection (Ethernet)

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 10 Professional 10.0.17763
Platform Compliance : x64

Thank you guys for helping me. I really appreciate it. / Jonas
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-25-2019, 05:35 AM
JNSW JNSW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 60
Default Re: Not answering

Can my problem be related to my plug-ins in any way? I run the program now and it seems to work just fine. It hasn´t stopped/frozen at loading tracks or shut down when changing value in GUI or even when just opening a plug-in. I´m asking about plug-ins because the PSP audioware nexcellence and Springbox are the one´s i´m often using when the issue with shut down when turning knobs in GUI. From PSPs side they only tell me to reinstall and i´ve done so plenty of times. Right now i´m trying nexcellence out and it work as it should.

Closed session and PT and tried launching a the same session again and it freezes/doesn´t answer at restoring track. It´s not even the same track it stops at when restoring, seems random. What could be the issue?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-25-2019, 11:30 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,996
Default Re: Not answering

You do not have any floppy drives. That would have been too easy. :-(

Thanks for the Sandra report, I do not see anything that looks like a problem.

Yes plugins can cause just about anything. You might also have a corrupted session. Or it could be other stuff. Lets test for plugins first

The quick test for plugins is to remove *all* .aaxplugin files from C:\Program Files\Common Files\Avid\Audio\Plug-Ins. Just move them out of there to anywhere else. The Unused Plugin folder is a handy place for that. Then trash prefs. Start Pro Tools and it will magically put back the default plugins. See now if any of your sessions, including the ones that behaved badly before. (this also specifically gets all your UAD plugins out of Pro Tools... you want to try that). Obviously the actual third party plugins will then be disabled, but this is still a very useful test. If you do not see problems you can move back some of your suspect third party plugins into that plugin folder, start Pro Tools, and see if the problem reappears. If you see problems with only the standard plugins installed then leave all the third party ones uninstalled and keep going....

If that is not it. Try making Pro Tools as easy to run as posible, in the playback engine settings set the playback buffer a large as you can, uncheck "ignore errors" (we want Pro Tools to tell you if it has problems), check "dynamic plugin processing" and set the disk cache to a nice number, say 8GB (you have so much memory...).

If that is not it I would next check the full optimization again. But I'd leave hyper-threading enabled. Turn off WiFi and bluetooth (if you have wired mice and keyboard), and all networking (if you are not relying on cloud iLok) I would also physically unplug every external device possible, control surfaces, USB hubs, Ethernet cables, etc., and just leave the keyboard, mouse, interface, iLok, and one monitor. And I would make sure no other applications are running, no web browsers, no desktop search/indexing software, and definitely no anti-virus software, fully disable all Antivirus software, including from Microsoft. If you are not sure how to disable it uninstall it.

--- ---

BTW with such a nice computer the only things I might upgrade in future is use a higher end-GPU than the NVS-310, especially to support more display resolution. And maybe use M.2 PCIe SSDs especially since you have PCIe 3 slots... but it takes a bit of care to get compatible NVMe drives/boot support. But none of that that is not going to cause things like you are seeing.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 05-25-2019 at 01:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-25-2019, 11:45 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,542
Default Re: Not answering

Just wanna flag one thing here, PSP has been an issue here too with both Sierra and the following update to High Sierra.

We had bought a bunch of them and unknowkngly installed them and forgot a out them. I noticed this issue after a few weird things last year on one of our Trashcans here with 12cores and 64GB ram all SSD’s which should be awesome but had some bad behavior.

I trashed all the PSP plugins and vóila! No more strangeness so follow Darryls steps and advice with moving them out of the AAX folder as they cause havoc by just beeing installed, not just when instantiatedz

And furthermore as Darryl pointed out turn off any cloud stuff as it seem like many have problems with dropped sessions and hanging of sessions etc when connected and using Cloud Collab unfortunately. Use the save function for the local drives only so you are 100% sure that internet is not interfering with your sessions.

NY1 want some PSP plugins we will never install them again. Not that great either so no loss ... except the monetary outlay but I value my time more !
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-25-2019, 12:04 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,160
Default Re: Not answering

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
PSP plugins we will never install them again. Not that great either so no loss
PSP42 emulation is good.. but sure, I've been looking for one hardware for some time, just hard to find at reasonable price
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thanks to all for answering my dumb questions mfleming 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 04-21-2005 03:05 PM
OFF TOPIC - Answering Machine (Software) ... Camilo Orozco 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 05-14-2003 04:25 PM
Digi - Please Read - Changes in DUC make answering difficult Mark_Knecht 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 06-14-2001 09:15 PM
Digi not answering emailed questions on Platinum G3's and Cubase usage with digi001 long2play 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 01-18-2000 12:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com