Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 04-03-2009, 12:23 AM

Default adjusting recorded audio by system latency?

Hi guys. May sound like a total newb questions but it's nagging in my mind. I made a post yesterday about plug-in induced dealay and while it seems similar this question is still different so I didn't want to mix the two.

Say, I am recording a guitar track "dry" and monitor "wet" in PT, my amp sim (Pod Farm, Sans Amp, etc.) is in inserted in the audio track I am recording onto. I have 512 samples setting in my H/W buffer in Playback Engine - which is equivalent to 11,61 ms ( 512 / 44100 ) * 1000 with 44,1kHz setting, and I am recording with a click (and a drum loop - no effects!!!) on.

Now the questions that pop up in my mind:
1. I should here the click and the loop without any delay - correct?
2. As I play along (let's presume I am very tight and accurate) the dry signal should get recorded exactly alligned with the beat - correct?
3. But now I hear myself play with 11,61 ms delay and while that might not be noticeable - am I guessing it rigth from purely technical point: the recorded sample would be better alligned with the drum loop/click if I nudge the recorded region back by 512 samples backward (or by 256 to make it 50/50)?

I know this all may seem crazy - but I was using Cubase before getting into PT LE and I remember reading that I didn't have to worry about that and plug-in delay compensation as it was all taken care of by Cubase and since PT LE does not compensate for plugin delay automatically maybe there is also no compensation for the system (audio engine) latency when recording and monitoring via PT LE.