Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-22-2020, 04:43 AM
ejsongs ejsongs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: los angeles
Posts: 425
Default GUI issues 2020.5 and 2020.9

Im having crazy gui issues. I get:


1. phantom notes in midi editor
2. rulers over laying headers
3. distorted/compressed tracks in editor and mixer

4. artifacts when scrolling thru plugins
5. no slider in midi editor to scroll up and down



ive run at resolutions of 1360x786, 1600x900 and 1920x1080...all exhibit same behavior. most problem goes away if i resize screen but it is very annoying. nothing fixes the missing up and down slider ins midi editor.


My system:
2010 5,1 Mac Pro
12 core 3.46 ghz
64 gigs of ram
AMD Radeon HD 7950 3 GB
mac os 10.14.6


Any ideas? is there anyway to est my video card to see if it is failing?


Thanks,


Ej
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-22-2020, 07:26 AM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,282
Default Re: GUI issues 2020.5 and 2020.9

Your AMD Radeon HD 7950,
is it flashed for mac?

AMD branded or other like Sapphire?

Any chance you can test with another Metal card?

Zap the P-ram?
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

Last edited by DetroitT; 09-22-2020 at 07:28 AM. Reason: Add
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-22-2020, 05:42 PM
ejsongs ejsongs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: los angeles
Posts: 425
Default Re: GUI issues 2020.5 and 2020.9

i have the AMD Radeon HD 7950 3 GB mac edition so no it was never flashed.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-22-2020, 05:53 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,397
Default Re: GUI issues 2020.5 and 2020.9

Ten year old mac.
say no more!
Clean install, did you?
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac mini, quad core i3, 3.6 GHz (Late 2018), 16 GB RAM
Focusrite 2i2 3rd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command 8.
Pro Tools 2020.9.1, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-23-2020, 12:38 AM
ejsongs ejsongs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: los angeles
Posts: 425
Default Re: GUI issues 2020.5 and 2020.9

yes it was a clean install...painful to go from high sierra to mojave. I originally was coming from mountain lion. new ssd. had to go from high sierra to mojave and do firmware updae to get to mojave.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-23-2020, 07:01 AM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,282
Default Re: GUI issues 2020.5 and 2020.9

Did you try boot into recovery. Repair boot disk
Then zap p-ram
(Option command R P)
Also maybe try reseating power cables x2 to vid card.

I had the sapphire mac edition and it seemed to slow with Mojave.
But no artifacts as you describe.
Switched to macvideocards 580. They are Ca. based.
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-23-2020, 07:47 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,320
Default Re: GUI issues 2020.5 and 2020.9

Quote:
Originally Posted by ejsongs View Post
yes it was a clean install...painful to go from high sierra to mojave. I originally was coming from mountain lion. new ssd. had to go from high sierra to mojave and do firmware updae to get to mojave.
So it is not a clean install. But now that you are on Mojave, you should be able to do a clean install (straight to Mojave)
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-23-2020, 07:42 PM
SDDP SDDP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angles, CA
Posts: 543
Default Re: GUI issues 2020.5 and 2020.9

I thought you needed a Metal GPU card for anything HS or above, is the 7950 metal compatible? I have the same mac and like everyone else, installed RX 580 8GB and on 10.13.6 and PT 2020.5 with zero issues.
__________________
-Mac Pro 5,1 12core 2.4GHz Westmere 40g
-RX 580 8GB GPU
-OSX 10.13.6 on a 1TB SSD Via PCIE card
-PTHDN 2020.9.1 Ultimate
-HD Omni
-BM Intensity Pro

-Waves Mercury+SSL4000 Collection+Abbey Roads
-iZotope RX7 Advanced
-iZotope Post Production Suite 4
-iZotope Music Production Suite 3
-HALO UP/DOWN MIX
-ANYMIX
-Delonghi Perfecta ESAM 5600.S
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-23-2020, 07:43 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,320
Default Re: GUI issues 2020.5 and 2020.9

Quote:
Originally Posted by SDDP View Post
I thought you needed a Metal GPU card for anything HS or above, is the 7950 metal compatible? I have the same mac and like everyone else, installed RX 580 8GB and on 10.13.6 and PT 2020.5 with zero issues.
https://www.macrumors.com/2018/09/24...raphics-cards/
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-23-2020, 07:49 PM
SDDP SDDP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angles, CA
Posts: 543
Default Re: GUI issues 2020.5 and 2020.9

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
I stand corrected, maybe buy a RX 580 8gb and try it out? Got mine from Best Buy for around $185 and power cable from Amazon, just a suggestion
__________________
-Mac Pro 5,1 12core 2.4GHz Westmere 40g
-RX 580 8GB GPU
-OSX 10.13.6 on a 1TB SSD Via PCIE card
-PTHDN 2020.9.1 Ultimate
-HD Omni
-BM Intensity Pro

-Waves Mercury+SSL4000 Collection+Abbey Roads
-iZotope RX7 Advanced
-iZotope Post Production Suite 4
-iZotope Music Production Suite 3
-HALO UP/DOWN MIX
-ANYMIX
-Delonghi Perfecta ESAM 5600.S
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 2020.5/2020.3 Compatibility with Catalina 10.15.4? derrickhou macOS 4 07-26-2020 08:46 AM
Avid Control App Rollback (2020.5 to 2020.3) budster Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 2 06-09-2020 12:01 PM
Pro Tools (2020.3) on MacBook Air 2020 compatibility pellekuipers Pro Tools 2020 1 04-04-2020 09:01 AM
New Avid Link 2020.1 - launched today 1/16/2020 marianna Licensing & Accounts 8 01-17-2020 12:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com