Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-23-2020, 01:33 PM
randomdude84 randomdude84 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 43
Default 2 Quick and Easy Questions

Hey guys, for some reason my waveform when recording my guitar is gigantic and basically in block form even though its selected on waveform.

Also, there is a gap/space from the starting position and my 1st grid number.

Not sure what buttons i pressed to mess this up but its super annoying.

you can see the differences i am talking about the in the two pictures, these are from 2 different sessions. not sure what i did

the first picture looks like it starts with a waveform but thats just the mic picking up room noise before i started actually playing the guitar. once i start playing it goes right to block form. has to be some sort of zoom issue.

i am running 11.3.1 on a mac v 10.12.6
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_8909.jpg (48.2 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_8908.jpg (87.3 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-23-2020, 02:30 PM
randomdude84 randomdude84 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 43
Default Re: 2 Quick and Easy Questions

ok so through a quick revised google search i found out that double clicking the zoom button will bring it back to default zoom. problem fixed.

but i still cant figure out why my starting position has a big gap like in the first picture. i am trying to google the issue but I'm sure my terminology is whats throwing my search results off. has to be a simple click and drag issue.

Last edited by randomdude84; 08-23-2020 at 02:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-23-2020, 03:20 PM
randomdude84 randomdude84 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 43
Default Re: 2 Quick and Easy Questions

just figured that one out too, i was on continuous scroll. just set it to no scrolling and it fixed it.

my only last question is how to set that as default because my new sessions are automatically going to continuous scroll.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-23-2020, 03:28 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,921
Default Re: 2 Quick and Easy Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by randomdude84 View Post
just figured that one out too, i was on continuous scroll. just set it to no scrolling and it fixed it.

my only last question is how to set that as default because my new sessions are automatically going to continuous scroll.
The scroll setting is global so it should stay at whatever setting you last used. Personally, I set scrolling to PAGE(you should try all the options to find which suits you best)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-23-2020, 05:14 PM
randomdude84 randomdude84 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 43
Default Re: 2 Quick and Easy Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
The scroll setting is global so it should stay at whatever setting you last used. Personally, I set scrolling to PAGE(you should try all the options to find which suits you best)
will do, thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-24-2020, 04:48 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,293
Default Re: 2 Quick and Easy Questions

PAGE is my fav too. Not distracting, keeps things in place.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick and easy rig question... sparky3000 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 12-02-2011 08:33 PM
Quick and easy question... geengir 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-02-2011 07:16 AM
Quick easy question Bookerv12 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 09-08-2010 06:26 PM
Quick and easy copyright? fenderrocker General Discussion 25 10-05-2009 01:45 AM
Quick and easy question :) JCFreak88 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-02-2009 06:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com