Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-12-2020, 07:25 AM
dg27 dg27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 283
Default Re: Moving from 12.8.3 to 2019.12

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Nothing to worry about. The older .ptf session format opens just fine in PT10 and later, and .ptx format introduced in 10.0.0 is still current. Going for a newer version is not a problem.
Thanks--this is good to hear. Would hate to think there'd be a problem with earlier session.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kw88keys View Post
I did the same as you - updated to W10 and from 12.4 to 2019.12.
The only glitch was Windows 10 populated my bios with a floppy drive.
That caused a 6 second delay in record and playback-after-record. Once I went into bios and removed (not disabled) the floppy all went well.
Thanks for pointing this out!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-12-2020, 06:16 PM
dg27 dg27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 283
Default Re: Moving from 12.8.3 to 2019.12

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
I suggest NOT installing those, but rather be sure to install the latest/greatest versions of all plugs. Typically, just go to each company's site and DL the latest versions. The latest AVID plugs are also available to DL. A few months ago I updated Win 7 to 10, got the current PTools, and all current plug versions ---> works!!!

Thanks SO MUCH for suggesting this. I've started going to sites and I'm seeing that most of mine are outdated.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-13-2020, 04:23 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,688
Default Re: Moving from 12.8.3 to 2019.12

Quote:
Originally Posted by dg27 View Post
Thanks SO MUCH for suggesting this. I've started going to sites and I'm seeing that most of mine are outdated.
Outdated plugs can cause problems ...
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.3 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X hex @ 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.3 / Win 10 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Info/Services link

Last edited by EGS; 02-13-2020 at 04:38 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-13-2020, 12:29 PM
dg27 dg27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 283
Default Re: Moving from 12.8.3 to 2019.12

One more question has come up: I'm currently using an MBox 3 interface.

The Avid instructions say to install the interface drivers before installing PT.

For 2019.12, do I use the HD Driver 2019.12 even though I have "regular" PT?

On the Avid page for MBox drivers, the information for the latest driver says it only supports up to 12.5, which is weird because I'm currently on 12.8.3.

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/d...d/Mbox-Drivers

Hoping someone can weigh in on this.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-13-2020, 12:33 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 18,414
Default Re: Moving from 12.8.3 to 2019.12

Supported and working are two different things. Sure it has been tested for High Sierra the latest and you can run 2019.12 on HS as a supported configuration. Anything beyond that and you are on your own.

HD driver is for HD hardware.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-13-2020, 12:34 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 18,414
Default Re: Moving from 12.8.3 to 2019.12

Quote:
Originally Posted by dg27 View Post
The Avid instructions say to install the interface drivers before installing PT.
It actually means you can install PT first but you should not expect to see your interface show up until you have installed proper drivers
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-13-2020, 12:47 PM
dg27 dg27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 283
Default Re: Moving from 12.8.3 to 2019.12

Thanks for the replies. I'm having no luck determining whether the most recent MBox 3 driver is compatible with 2019.12.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-13-2020, 01:09 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 18,414
Default Re: Moving from 12.8.3 to 2019.12

Quote:
Originally Posted by dg27 View Post
Thanks for the replies. I'm having no luck determining whether the most recent MBox 3 driver is compatible with 2019.12.
Hardware compatibility goes against OS.

2019.12 is compatible with High Sierra and mBox3 is compatible with High Sierra so yes, if you use High Sierra your combo is supported.

OS later than High Sierra is not supported but may very well work. You are on your own though.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-13-2020, 01:36 PM
dg27 dg27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 283
Default Re: Moving from 12.8.3 to 2019.12

JFreak,

Thanks for your reply.

As I said at the start of the string, I'm moving form Windows 7 Pro to Windows 10 Pro, then from 12.8.2 to 2019.12.

(I'm not on a Mac.)

If it's strictly tied to the OS, the latest MBox driver should be fine based on this:

1.1.10 Dec 16, 2014

Fixed: The "Updates" button in MBox control panel referred to outdated page
Supports Windows 7, 8, 8.1 & 1.1.10 Dec 16, 2014

Fixed: The "Updates" button in MBox control panel referred to outdated page
Supports Windows 7, 8, 8.1 & Windows 10
Supports Pro Tools 11.0.x - 12.5


Supports Pro Tools 11.0.x - 12.5
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-13-2020, 01:41 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 18,414
Default Re: Moving from 12.8.3 to 2019.12

Sorry, got confused as this topic is on another thread also
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Workspace Borked 2019.10 and 2019.12 KMcK Pro Tools 2019 0 01-17-2020 02:09 PM
2019 iMac vs 2019 Mac Pro Peterjk Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 7 01-14-2020 12:23 AM
Install pro tools 2019.10 over 2019.6? Clarkston Guy Pro Tools 2019 6 11-01-2019 08:12 AM
Updating from 2019 .5 to 2019.6? ihate100bees Pro Tools 2019 13 07-04-2019 08:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com