Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-23-2006, 07:09 PM
andrewkstone andrewkstone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 29
Default Chipset Question/Hard Drive Question

Hello All,

I just bought an Mbox2 today and am reading thru the documentation. I noticed that my chipset (Intel 925X) isn't supported. How big a problem could this be? I haven't yet hooked up the unit, as I want to read thru everything first. Will it not work or limit functionality? Any ideas for fixes? (Can chipsets be upgraded ...?)

My other question is about hard drives. I'm inferring that I should buy another drive that's dedicated to the Mbox2. Can anyone recommend an internal drive (as it would be cheaper). I'm on a limited budget.

My system: A Dell Demension 8400, Pentium 4 3.00Ghz, 2.99 Ghz, 1.00 GB RAM.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,

Andy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-24-2006, 02:39 AM
ejwells's Avatar
ejwells ejwells is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 4,530
Default Re: Chipset Question/Hard Drive Question

Well...if your chipset isn't supported, another hard drive won't do you much good.
That said, I like Seagate Barracudas. I have 4 of them in my machine, and they've never let me down.
__________________
Pro Tools 10.3.3 | HD Native | HD I/O 8x8x8 | Mac Pro 8 Core Westmere | 24GB RAM | OSX Lion 10.7.4 | API 3124 | Chandler TG-2 | UA 4-710d | Empirical Labs Distressor EL8X | Kemper Rack |
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-24-2006, 04:49 AM
andrewkstone andrewkstone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 29
Default Re: Chipset Question/Hard Drive Question - Help!

Thanks for the reply. But I'm wondering what to do -- has anyone had any chipset issues? I don't know anything about them. Can I get upgrades for it? New drivers, etc? If I don't do anything, will Protools not work, have limited functionality, etc? I'm hesistant to even install Protools if it's not going to work.

Thanks in advance

Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-24-2006, 06:23 AM
thenchel thenchel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Athens, GA
Posts: 163
Default Re: Chipset Question/Hard Drive Question - Help!

The only thing you can do is try and see. If you run into problems, then you'll know.
I would change out the motherboard with one that has a compatible chipset. Driver changes wont help.
Check out the compatibility section of Digidesign.
__________________
PTLE 7 Digi002R, Intel P4 HT 3.0GHZ w/ 865 Chipset, 2GB (4x512)RAM PC3200, WinXP Home SP2, 160GB 7,200rpm, 74GB 10,000rpm
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-24-2006, 06:53 AM
andrewkstone andrewkstone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 29
Default Re: Chipset Question/Hard Drive Question - Help!

So there might be a chance that my chipset may have little or no affect on Mbox2? The specs on the site are a bit vague - digi seems to be pointing the finger at Intel, while Intel is pointing it right back.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-24-2006, 06:59 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Chipset Question/Hard Drive Question - Help!

It doesn't really matter whose fault it is; Your chipset will not work with the mBox. Period. You will only frustrate yourself trying.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-24-2006, 08:19 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,762
Default Re: Chipset Question/Hard Drive Question - Help!

Assuming you can replace the motherboard, you may be able to get a new motherboard with a compatible chipset.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-25-2006, 02:15 PM
oneyeball oneyeball is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 13
Default Re: Chipset Question/Hard Drive Question

Okay just talked to Dell support person. Long wait so try it only if you have entertainment. The following information was extracted:

1. Even though I thought I had a 925x chip, after reading the support guy the service number on the back of my 8400, he said I actually have the 925xe. That's good. The erroneous information on what chip I had came from my own query of my system using freeware called PC Wizard 2006. So make sure you indeed have the 925x.

2. Yes, if it turns out you have to change chips, you can do so by replacing the motherboard. Go to dell.com for that, or give up in advance and call them at 800-759-8437.

I have a question: The Pro Tools information is that it will not run if it is asked to record multitrack edits onto the startup (boot) disk. Anybody know how hairy it is to install an additional internal drive in an 8400?

Thanks.
__________________
Pressing on with
Dell 8400 with 3.0GHz hyperthreading -
PTLE 7.3 - Mbox2 - Glyph - Rum - Coke - Repeat
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-25-2006, 06:33 PM
andrewkstone andrewkstone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 29
Default Re: Chipset Question/Hard Drive Question

Thanks to everyone who chimed in with help. And, oneeyeball, I, too, spent a few hours on the phone with Dell. I had already downloaded PC Wizard and found out I did have the 925X. So I ordered a new mother board and hard drive, to dedicate to audio. It's all PCI based, so shouldn't be too difficult, But if you buy from Dell, you can call their tech support and they will walk you thru the install process. I'm still waiting for mine to arrive.

Thanks again.

Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-25-2006, 09:53 PM
oneyeball oneyeball is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 13
Default Re: Chipset Question/Hard Drive Question

Okay, let me update this post. Wrongo. It turns out that I do have the 925x after all. PC Wizard one, Dell guy zero.

So if you're still there, what motherboard did you get? And I assume you're adding a separate dedicated hard drive. Looks like you'll need Dell part number A0151972, which can be seen at http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/p...&sku=A0151972. It's the internal Serial-ATA cable, which plugs into the motherboard. $9.95.

Which drive did you end up getting? Sounds like we are doing exactly the same thing.

Thanks.
__________________
Pressing on with
Dell 8400 with 3.0GHz hyperthreading -
PTLE 7.3 - Mbox2 - Glyph - Rum - Coke - Repeat
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about what hard drive to get.. jabr macOS 5 08-02-2012 09:35 PM
Hard Drive Question RichrdC Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 3 12-13-2010 08:48 AM
The Hard Drive Question Bro 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 05-21-2009 07:34 AM
Hard Drive Question? malfunction 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 11-25-2004 07:00 AM
Hard Drive Question METAFOR 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 06-15-2004 06:21 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com