Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Dev > Pro Tools Scripting SDK Toolkit
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-13-2023, 08:18 AM
PatrickCusack PatrickCusack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Loa Angeles
Posts: 19
Default Memory Allocation issue?

Team,

I see the folllowing in line 53 of CppPTSLC_DefaultRequest:

// TODO: replace with smart pointer
#define SETUP_CALLDATA() CallData* callData = new CallData();

There is a define for FREE_CALLDATA() on line 58, but is never invoked in the code.

Is this a likely suspect for the memory leak I have encountered when performing the following code in a timed loop?

HTML Code:
    while (true) {

        PTSLC_CPP::CommandRequest getTransportCommandRequest;
        getTransportCommandRequest.commandType = PTSLC_CPP::CommandType::GetTransportState;
        std::shared_ptr <PTSLC_CPP::GetTransportStateResponse> gtsr = client->GetTransportState(getTransportCommandRequest);
        
      ....
        
        sleep(1);
    }
I apologize If I a missing something.

Patrick
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-13-2023, 01:07 PM
Dmytro L's Avatar
Dmytro L Dmytro L is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2022
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 41
Default Re: Memory Allocation issue?

Hi Patrick,

The team here has identified a couple of places with potential memory leak problems, we've been tracking this task as PT-297604. Thanks for bringing this up!

Dmytro
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-13-2023, 02:40 PM
nsureit nsureit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 216
Default Re: Memory Allocation issue?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dmytro L View Post
Hi Patrick,

The team here has identified a couple of places with potential memory leak problems, we've been tracking this task as PT-297604. Thanks for bringing this up!

Dmytro
Dmytrol,

I hope you are safe and well. Thank you for helping keep Avid products up and running.

Take care!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-13-2023, 06:26 PM
PatrickCusack PatrickCusack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Loa Angeles
Posts: 19
Default Re: Memory Allocation issue?

Thanks for the acknowledgement. Is there a workaround to the code I posted? Or should I wait for updates?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-01-2023, 04:55 PM
rmajors's Avatar
rmajors rmajors is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: WA
Posts: 73
Default Re: Memory Allocation issue?

Hi Patrick,


We don't have a specific patch that would fix this yet, though we are looking into it. I recommend waiting until we release an SDK update with a fix. If this is causing a critical failure in your application please let us know.



Also, a correction: PT-299612 will be the correct ID for this issue, which is a memory leak on the client app side.


Best,
Rob
__________________
Rob Majors
Avid Software Engineering
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memory allocation Rectifried Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 5 07-14-2011 08:06 AM
Memory Allocation 002 PT LE 6.7 sretepmada 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-02-2007 03:49 PM
Installation Memory Allocation Issue with Pro Tools Free (Message ID = -6008) mtbakerstu Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 02-01-2003 11:35 AM
DAE memory allocation...HELP! kalle74 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 08-02-2001 03:23 AM
Memory Allocation Dinkus 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 04-20-2001 06:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com