Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 04-13-2020, 11:18 AM
dg27's Avatar
dg27 dg27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 331
Default Re: Is Pro Tools behind the curve?

Quote:
Originally Posted by drumzalicious View Post
I think in this day and age you’ll likely not find many who stick to one DAW.
Count me as one of them. I cut my baby teeth looking over the shoulders of engineers using Pro Tools and have no interest in any other DAWs at all.
__________________
Dell Studio XPS 9100; Win 10 Pro 64X, i7 960@3.2GHz, 24 GB RAM, Samsung 840 Pro 512 GB SSD boot, Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB dedicated audio drive, Samsung 860 EVO 1 TB PT archive drive, 2X WD Caviar Black 2 TB storage drives, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 (EVGA), 2X 24" HP Dreamcolor LP2480zx Professional Display

Pro Tools 2020.3, PreSonus 26C, PreSonus Bluetube v2, PreSonus HP4, JBL LS305 monitors, Sennheiser HD 650 headphones
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 04-13-2020, 11:25 AM
itsjustmeee123 itsjustmeee123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: california
Posts: 56
Default Re: Is Pro Tools behind the curve?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM View Post
I can remember using the Scully 8 track with 2" tape back in the day. It was a university studio, which also sported a Moog and an ARP 2600, which is what I learned synthesis on. My first DAW/MIDI pc was one of the Atari ST's, which, at the time, was the ONLY desktop system with dedicated MIDI ports. We could do MIDI multi tracking with Dr. T's KCS. Later, a friend of mine helped me produce an audio recording of a pianist and we did it on Sound Tools (remember that?). For a while I used the earlier versions of Cakewalk, a brief foray with Voyetra. Then, I got into Pro Tools with PT 6.0. I've never looked back, and don't plan to. I've tried CuBase, Reaper, Reason, and Ableton along the way, but nothing comes close to PT for me.



If I were to use another DAW it'd probably be Reaper, only because it more similar to PT than most of the others.



I really don't care if PT is "behind the curve". Its not always about having the latest and greatest. Even with some of the ongoing bugs discussed many times over here, PT is still the best out there!
I used the Atari ST as well all throughout the 90's doing R&B. NOTHING locked in a midi beat like those computers.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 04-13-2020, 11:48 AM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 777
Default Re: Is Pro Tools behind the curve?

Quote:
Originally Posted by itsjustmeee123 View Post
I used the Atari ST as well all throughout the 90's doing R&B. NOTHING locked in a midi beat like those computers.
Super ultra tight. PT's midi is extremely loose in comparison. Could it have been the software and not the computers? If I remember right, Pro 24 became Cubase and I think Notator gradually morphed into Logic.
__________________
X99 | i7 5960x @4.6GHz | 64GB GSkill DDR4 | Nvidia GTX 950 | Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB | Samsung SM961 NVMe 1TB | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | Samsung MZ7PD256 SSD 256GB | Kingston 120GB SSD | WD Black 1TB x2 | G-Drive 4TB x2 | WD Elements 4TB | Audient ID14 | PT2020.5 | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 04-13-2020, 11:55 AM
lancemcv lancemcv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 503
Default Re: Is Pro Tools behind the curve?

I think Avid is behind the curve in that they don't have a version of Pro Tools for iPads. I have been testing mine out with different DAW apps and it is pretty amazing what you can do with them. I can do a 48 track backup record off my Midas M32r to my iPad now using N Track or better yet Audio Evolution which is only 9 bucks. Those are the two DAWs for iPad I have tried so far but both can handle recording that many tracks for a full length show. Also running a host of synths with AUM is awesome. Avid is missing out on a huge revenue stream as more and more people use iPads to make music and they could be making coin off them but they are not even in the game? Pro Tools Ultimate is still my DAW of choice, perhaps out of laziness and years of using Pro Tools and no real need to make a switch. My system is very solid for what I need and I stay a bit behind the curve. Still running High Sierra and PT 19.10 but will update soon to 2020 and take it for a test spin.
I would like to see Avid come out with Pro Tools for iPad app for recording on the go. If not they will loose out on a growing group of young tad poles who work on Garage Band, Beatmaker 3 , Cubasis, Auria, N Track, Audio Evolution etc. Why they haven't tapped into this market is beyond me and their stock price could use a shot in the arm from a good iOS / iPad OS app.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 20.9.1
opencore 0.6.1
Mac OS Catalina 10.15.6
Mac Pro 2009 upgraded to 5,1 12 core 3.33ghz
GPU RX5700XT, Samsung SM951 M.2 PCIe SSD (AHCI model) pcie boot drive, Sonnet usb 3.1 card
Midas M32r console. iPad Pro with Avid Control
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 04-13-2020, 03:14 PM
Prabha Prabha is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Santiago, Chile
Posts: 98
Default Re: Is Pro Tools behind the curve?

It is evidently behind the curve!!! in fact most (if not all) the new features we've got during the last years, where implemented in other daws way before.

Plus bugs that have been around for many years...
__________________
PC i56600K 3.5Ghz 16Gb ram
Win 7 64
SSL MX4
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 04-13-2020, 04:02 PM
capt kirk capt kirk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: vancouver
Posts: 482
Default Re: Is Pro Tools behind the curve?

oh im sure theyre working on an ipad version.......they cant sit there and watch apple annihilate them........has anyone here used garageband? its so much fun, you almost cant NOT create something fun and usable....Avid doesnt have a product like it.....gonna be hard to outdo a product that well made AND FREE!
why not just a 16 track version of PT?
__________________
www.kfaudio.ca
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 04-13-2020, 04:31 PM
itsjustmeee123 itsjustmeee123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: california
Posts: 56
Default Re: Is Pro Tools behind the curve?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lesbrunn View Post
Super ultra tight. PT's midi is extremely loose in comparison. Could it have been the software and not the computers? If I remember right, Pro 24 became Cubase and I think Notator gradually morphed into Logic.
I’m pretty sure that it was the Atari and not the software. And yeah, I believe I was using Cubase at that time as well. I remember around ‘98 or so, The Atari crapped out so we ended up getting the most expensive Mac we could for that time. We used it for one day and returned it and bought another used Atari. Looking back it was brilliant for them to include a midi port. That was the secret. No interface to have to go through and at that time all those Atari computers were doing was sequencing. Certainly no multitasking to worry about.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 04-13-2020, 05:20 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,756
Default Re: Is Pro Tools behind the curve?

Avid is just trying to flatten the curve.

...Sorry, I couldn't resist.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / HD|Native-TB / Protools Ultimate 2020.5

Home/mobile: Focusrite Red 8Pre / Clarett 4Pre
Road/hotel: Roland OctaCaputre / Apogee One
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 04-13-2020, 06:45 PM
deanrichard deanrichard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Waukesha, WI
Posts: 888
Default Re: Is Pro Tools behind the curve?

It's been a long time, and I I don't remember the details. But I remember that the Atari somehow clocked the MIDI ports to hardware, which is why the timing was so perfect - possibly better than any computer ever has been.

Quote:
Originally Posted by itsjustmeee123 View Post
I’m pretty sure that it was the Atari and not the software. And yeah, I believe I was using Cubase at that time as well. I remember around ‘98 or so, The Atari crapped out so we ended up getting the most expensive Mac we could for that time. We used it for one day and returned it and bought another used Atari. Looking back it was brilliant for them to include a midi port. That was the secret. No interface to have to go through and at that time all those Atari computers were doing was sequencing. Certainly no multitasking to worry about.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 04-13-2020, 11:13 PM
lae777 lae777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 171
Default Re: Is Pro Tools behind the curve?

It's not behind the curve if you want a solid workflow for feature films.

For example, which DAW allows you to receive AAF's from a NLE, edit thousands of audio files across hundreds of tracks, in sync with multiple videos, and then apply hundreds of plugins during the mix on the dub stage, finally outputting any mix configuration stems from mono to atmos (and more), while allowing you to move sessions/projects freely and reliably between huge numbers of facilities?

Sure, other DAWs will allow you to do some, or most, of these things, but none of them do it as comprehensively as Pro Tools.

If you do lots of MIDI or music production, I understand that it's another story.
__________________
5,1 Mac Pro, 3.46 GHz Six Core Xeon, 48gb ram, Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.9, HD Native card, Avid 96io interface, Avid 192io, Intensity Pro video card, Radeon HD 7950 graphics card, Mac OS X 10.13.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EQ Curve spoons Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 6 01-10-2017 04:16 AM
X-curve mr.armadillo Post - Surround - Video 0 04-27-2014 04:32 AM
Pro Tools Learning Curve DJKeys macOS 14 07-19-2011 02:57 PM
Learning Curve for Pro Tools from SX or Nuendo Use musicmanz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-06-2005 04:17 AM
How can I see my EQ curve? uno1234 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 08-11-2005 02:15 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com