Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Digidesign Hardware & Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-14-2018, 12:52 PM
seanmccoy seanmccoy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 438
Default 192 Crackling on two channels

Hey all. Using a 192 slaved to an Omni. Recently started getting consistent crackling from input channels 7 & 8 on the 192. Sounds much like a clock problem, but the setup is correct and channels 1-6 are clean. I've never had the box open, and I'm wondering if there separate internal cards for each channel or pair of channels? If so, it could be just a seating issue, or a simple replacement. Hoping to avoid having to ship the whole box out. Any advice from experienced users welcome.
__________________
ADK Core i7 4.20, 32GB RAM, W10 Pro, PT HD 2018.7, HD Native, OMNI, Digi 192, AJA Kona LHi, UAD-2 Quad; Mac Pro 8-core 2.67, 32GB RAM, High Sierra 10.13, Logic Pro 10.4.1, Apogee Rosetta 800, MOTU 2408 Mk II: MBP mid-2012, 16GB RAM, Sierra, MOTU LP32, Pro Tools 2018.3
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-14-2018, 07:25 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,029
Default Re: 192 Crackling on two channels

Not sure I would ship the box anywhere, but there are some things worth checking(assuming you have 2 BNC cables completing Loop Sync connections and the 192 has a Digital IO card in slot 3(IIRC, this is required). I would pull the unit out of the rack, pop the top panel and find the multi-pin connector on the Input card. Unplug it and do a thorough inspection of pins and sockets. Maybe hit it with some good contact cleaner and re-connect and test. If that makes no difference, instead of shipping the unit, I would just shop for a deal on another analog input card and replace the fouled card. If that fixes it, great. If that DOES'NT fix it, then you know its not the card, BUT, in that case, stick the old card in slot 4 and see if it works there(which might be worth a try anyway)
__________________
HP z820 12 core, 64GB RAM, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs, Warm Audio and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-15-2018, 07:23 AM
seanmccoy seanmccoy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 438
Default Re: 192 Crackling on two channels

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Not sure I would ship the box anywhere, but there are some things worth checking(assuming you have 2 BNC cables completing Loop Sync connections and the 192 has a Digital IO card in slot 3(IIRC, this is required). I would pull the unit out of the rack, pop the top panel and find the multi-pin connector on the Input card. Unplug it and do a thorough inspection of pins and sockets. Maybe hit it with some good contact cleaner and re-connect and test. If that makes no difference, instead of shipping the unit, I would just shop for a deal on another analog input card and replace the fouled card. If that fixes it, great. If that DOES'NT fix it, then you know its not the card, BUT, in that case, stick the old card in slot 4 and see if it works there(which might be worth a try anyway)
Excellent, thanks, I'll give it a look. I think I still have an ancient can of Cramolin sitting around here somewhere...
__________________
ADK Core i7 4.20, 32GB RAM, W10 Pro, PT HD 2018.7, HD Native, OMNI, Digi 192, AJA Kona LHi, UAD-2 Quad; Mac Pro 8-core 2.67, 32GB RAM, High Sierra 10.13, Logic Pro 10.4.1, Apogee Rosetta 800, MOTU 2408 Mk II: MBP mid-2012, 16GB RAM, Sierra, MOTU LP32, Pro Tools 2018.3
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-24-2018, 02:10 PM
danyull danyull is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Portland
Posts: 1
Default Re: 192 Crackling on two channels

Any luck fixing this? I have the same issue.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-24-2018, 02:46 PM
seanmccoy seanmccoy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 438
Default Re: 192 Crackling on two channels

Quote:
Originally Posted by danyull View Post
Any luck fixing this? I have the same issue.
Sorry, I confess I never followed up on it. It's so rare that I need more than the four channels on my Omni that I haven't gotten around to it. I do use the 192 as an input for my talkback channel, but I just moved that over to 5 and moved on.
__________________
ADK Core i7 4.20, 32GB RAM, W10 Pro, PT HD 2018.7, HD Native, OMNI, Digi 192, AJA Kona LHi, UAD-2 Quad; Mac Pro 8-core 2.67, 32GB RAM, High Sierra 10.13, Logic Pro 10.4.1, Apogee Rosetta 800, MOTU 2408 Mk II: MBP mid-2012, 16GB RAM, Sierra, MOTU LP32, Pro Tools 2018.3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Live Recording Mackie 16 channels into 16 PT channels 67Thunderbird Pro Tools 10 22 10-26-2014 01:10 AM
Not enough ASIO output channels available.at least 2 channels are needed. kudca Getting Started 1 05-26-2013 04:05 PM
Crackling DB-33 Drunken Mixer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 02-16-2009 05:27 PM
Crackling Pop - Please help tomyco 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-13-2008 10:03 AM
why crackling? mariushfm Digidesign Hardware & Software 4 04-10-2003 01:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com