Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #501  
Old 01-28-2004, 09:10 PM
Matt Whritenour Matt Whritenour is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Posts: 2,031
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

woudl a 3gig P4 be more powerful
then a 1.6 centrino?

because i've read posts about peoples

1.5 centrinos outperforming there 2.4 gighz
P4s so i dont know what chip would be better
to get
__________________
www.klarityrecordingstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #502  
Old 01-28-2004, 09:33 PM
EDurney EDurney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 283
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

djd2
How is the performance of that Notebook in a real world escenario?
i mean ...is it stable??....
can you run Soft synths ( if you use them) on it?? (Sampletank,etc)
How is it at 128 samples buffer setting? (Davec test)

too many questions??
__________________
Pro Tools 10 / Duet 2 - Eleven Rack - Mbox 2 pro
MacBook Pro 2.2ghz Quad Core/ 8gb RAM/ 750HD

Pro Tools 9 HD / 192io / C24
Mac Pro Quad 2.66 / 8Gb Ram
Reply With Quote
  #503  
Old 01-28-2004, 10:15 PM
sventvkg sventvkg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 457
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

I am getting the 807 emachines laptop after the weekend and I should have some DaveC Results soon after...Patients!!!!! I'll bet it gets close to the 1.7 centrino...We'll see...
__________________
Sean M Mormelo
www.seanmormelo.com
sean@seanmormelo.com
Reply With Quote
  #504  
Old 01-29-2004, 12:21 PM
mahoney mahoney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 15
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

awsome sean

if the results are stable and you can use it on everything (like the apps stated above by the last poster) then this is def. the machine to get. it is so cheap at best buy

http://notebookforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=22

there is some lengthy discussion about the build/weight/heat/battery over there


this thing is, light , small, last long on batteries and flys like a mo fo
and its cheap!!

i think im sold





QUE- someone to come in and tell me some information i don't know and shatter my confidence on the decision lol
Reply With Quote
  #505  
Old 01-29-2004, 01:15 PM
djd2 djd2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 44
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

Quote:
djd2
How is the performance of that Notebook in a real world escenario?
i mean ...is it stable??....
can you run Soft synths ( if you use them) on it?? (Sampletank,etc)
How is it at 128 samples buffer setting? (Davec test)

too many questions??

I used it in a real session yesterday no problem. We were overdubbing vocals on a session that I started on my 001, a full band with about 24 tracks total. I had no crashes or latency troubles. I started a rough mix using assortments of eqs and comps and an aux for reverb. Didn't have to worry too much about CPU useage. I was at it for about 3 or four hours, at no time did we suffer computing issues just talent issues . I was using a dual monitor setup I have an external 19" trinitron.

I am used to running a 001 system on an AMD XP 2100 512megs of RAM, I would say it was a solid as this system and I never had trouble with that setup.

This new setupo is a 002rack with and Compaq x1010 centrino 1.4. I think I was working at 256/85% for overdubs but not sure, I usually mix at 512/85%.


Dave
Reply With Quote
  #506  
Old 01-29-2004, 01:34 PM
audiocase audiocase is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: London
Posts: 205
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

ok.here is my upadte on that Toshiba laptop purchase,using the mbox:

The Laptop in question here is:
Toshiba Satelite A20
P4 256mb ram
DVD/Cdrw
40gb(4,200rpm)
Integrated[shared] video
15" LCD
XP pro
Symantec Norton Anti-Virus

ok,performance wise:
After installting PTLE 6.1.1,it takes about 70 secs to start PT.I couldnt even do the test because it wont record at all-It comes with the HW buffer should be lower thing even at the highest number.

Verdict: This lappy is a big "zero"

Curiosity: Why does it come up with the additional message," CPU busy with other tasks"?

But I also tried the it with the mbox and logic5.5.1.It recorded,but it was quite distorted.I suspect this laptop could work with a PCMCIA audio interface like Echo indigo I/O.
__________________
Be ready to capture the magic... even in your sleep.
Reply With Quote
  #507  
Old 01-29-2004, 01:34 PM
besmusic besmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Seattle
Posts: 71
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

Hi Gents

I'm getting so much out of this thread, thanks. I'm patiently waiting for Sventvkg to post his DaveC results, that will be very interesting. Has nobody else done the DaveC with a AMD64?

My question for you gents: On the first page Allen posts the results from Dec. for these two laptops...

>Best Performers: (updated 12/6/03)
>Dell Inspiron 8600 Pentium M 1.7Ghz with ATA100 7200rpm DaveC= 32+15 DVerb= 42
>Acer Pentium M 1.5Ghz with external firewire ATA100 7200rpm DaveC= 32+16 DVerb= NA

...but for some reason the Acer didn't have Dverb results ("NA"). Why do some test results include Dverb counts and some don't? Unexplained, it makes it seem like the ones that have Dverb results are better...
Thanks for any insights...
__________________
Pete Turok
Powermac G5 dual 2.0 & Dell i8600
PTLE 6.2.2, 002r
Reply With Quote
  #508  
Old 01-29-2004, 03:23 PM
JPS JPS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Ohio
Posts: 924
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

AudioCase, I don't think anybody was really expecting a laptop with an Ali chip in it to work, but since this has a Pentium chip I was wondering if you disabled Hyperthreading in the BIOS?
__________________
John-Q6600,GA-EP35-DS3P, Zigmatec S1283: 235 D-Verbs @ 2.4 ghz
Reply With Quote
  #509  
Old 01-29-2004, 04:54 PM
audiocase audiocase is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: London
Posts: 205
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

The TOSHIBA setup wont allow me to go into bios-I've tried the DELETE key during reboot to no avail.

I'm not sure this ALI chipset thing would work with othet audio inteface(usb)
__________________
Be ready to capture the magic... even in your sleep.
Reply With Quote
  #510  
Old 01-29-2004, 10:41 PM
Matt Whritenour Matt Whritenour is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Posts: 2,031
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

im pretty sure its not delete

its like F2 maybe F8
but im pretty sure its F2
__________________
www.klarityrecordingstudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USB support with Pro Tools 9 Laptops moldenke Pro Tools 9 4 11-18-2010 05:46 PM
Dell Laptops and Pro Tools sgladm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 05-03-2006 11:32 AM
Best laptops for Pro tools felixflank 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 04-07-2006 07:41 AM
alien laptops and pro tools geefive 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-29-2006 11:17 AM
Pro Tools and Apple laptops Jsalam112 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-08-2002 10:28 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com