Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-25-2015, 05:59 PM
jamesadam3 jamesadam3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 6
Default Keyboard Shortcuts Disabled When Certain Plug-In Windows are Open

I'm curious if anyone has noticed this. When I have a plug-in window open, my keyboard shortcuts are disabled. It seems to differ with different plug-ins and I have yet to identify which are the worst offenders or even to be able to make it happen as a test. Some plugins disable the entire keyboard...even the space bar "play/stop" command is gone. THIS SUCKS!! If someone thought it's a good idea, well...it's not. Does anyone know what's up with this and how to make it go away?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-25-2015, 07:00 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,851
Default Re: Keyboard Shortcuts Disabled When Certain Plug-In Windows are Open

It happens when the plugin "thinks" it is "in charge". It happens with several plugins(Superior Drummer and Ezdrummer do it here, but there are others). The solution is to mouse click anywhere on the Pro Tools screen(outside of the open plugin). That will focus the keyboard back on PT.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-25-2015, 07:13 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,793
Default Re: Keyboard Shortcuts Disabled When Certain Plug-In Windows are Open

It is typically only VI's that will do this as they take "focus". It's a pain though rather common with them.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-26-2015, 05:36 PM
jamesadam3 jamesadam3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 6
Default Re: Keyboard Shortcuts Disabled When Certain Plug-In Windows are Open

I've tried clicking away from the plugin...I've tried hitting return to close out an active plugin dialog box.... I haven't found one consistent way to get the plugin to 'let go' of the keyboard (other than to close the plugin window which is sometimes counter productive). I've been using PT for about 15 years and this is a new problem for me.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Keyboard shortcuts (like switching mix/edit windows) stop working RiF Tips & Tricks 8 05-23-2017 02:05 PM
A-Z keyboard shortcuts for GROUA-Z keyboard shortcuts forPS in the SECONDS ID group.. jessedtf Pro Tools 10 6 10-24-2012 09:42 AM
keyboard shortcuts for audiosuite plug-ins epm Post - Surround - Video 3 05-06-2008 07:45 AM
Keyboard Shortcuts in Dynamics III plug-ins RobbaDobba 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 08-17-2006 12:21 PM
Keyboard Shortcuts for 5.3 Windows Carl Fuehrer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-27-2003 02:53 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com