Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 08-18-2019, 02:46 PM
Led Led is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 242
Default Re: Windows 10 1903

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
Why is that happening to you? No issue here. Run as admin is just run as admin -- doesn't affect how the program interacts for me.
We might be talking about different things..I mean when you right click on the PT desktop shortcut and open the properties tab, then check the box that says 'run as administrator'. This fixed the random cpu spiking that happened with some earlier builds, but stopped you being able to drag and drop. It's different to running the program normally but logged on as an administrator. I don't run that way, but it might be worth seeing if it stops the spiking for OP..
__________________
Andy Evans
Sound Designer/Composer/Mixer
Melbourne, Australia
www.mud.net.au
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-18-2019, 03:36 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,997
Default Re: Windows 10 1903

Quote:
Originally Posted by Led View Post
We might be talking about different things..I mean when you right click on the PT desktop shortcut and open the properties tab, then check the box that says 'run as administrator'. This fixed the random cpu spiking that happened with some earlier builds, but stopped you being able to drag and drop. It's different to running the program normally but logged on as an administrator. I don't run that way, but it might be worth seeing if it stops the spiking for OP..
Yes, I'm talking as running from an administrator account and not the per application compatibility switch to "run as admin."
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-19-2019, 09:48 PM
ibbod0 ibbod0 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 41
Default Re: Windows 10 1903

Update: Still working fine after all. Not even running as admin.

I skipped from 1709 to 1903 using the ISO, not Windows Update, so maybe there was a difference there. It was not performing well until I installed Pro Tools 2019.6 over the top of the existing 2019.5 installation. I can't say if 2019.6 works better or if reinstalling 2019.5 would have done the trick just as well. I guess it's always worth a try reinstalling drivers/software just to be sure nothing got broken.

Just to conclude my original query: As others have confirmed, Windows 10 1903 itself doesn't have any issues. I actually get better performance now.
__________________
Gigabyte Z97X-UD7 TH / Intel Core i7-4790K @ 4.00GHz / G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB / Samsung 850 Pro SSD / WD Blue 1TB HDDs / Audient iD14 / running Pro Tools 2019.5 on Windows 10 1709
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-20-2019, 11:17 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,777
Default Re: Windows 10 1903

The 1903 builds before the July update had serious DPC latency issues. Some system drivers-kernals would hang on some processes and cpu spikes would go crazy. The July update resolved those issues.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2019.5 on Windows 1903 gnjlee Pro Tools 2019 3 05-11-2019 05:47 PM
Pro Tools tabbed windows in MacOs - Windows configuration not working hugocentrique macOS 2 05-07-2018 11:57 AM
Audio glitches with Fast Track Ultra on Windows 10 after updating Windows 10 GregS FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 6 12-25-2015 03:40 PM
Is standalone Windows Audio Drivers v8.0.3 compatible with WINDOWS XP 64 ? VonHelvete 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 03-28-2010 10:01 AM
Windows server 2003+windows resource manager. odysseys 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-20-2003 10:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com