Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-03-2006, 02:49 PM
amiller amiller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Posts: 207
Default Persistent \"Clicking\" on tracks. PT7 bug?

Hi all, since upgrading to PT7 I've come across this twice now. I have a fairly large session, trying to finish up a film project and every time I open the session now, there are 3 tracks that have this clicking on them. Wasn't happening before. It registers on the PT meters and sounds like if a piece of paper was hitting a fan slowly and constantly. The only remedy in this session that I've found is to duplicate those 3 tracks and then delete the originals. Clicking goes away, at least for now. If I BTD, they'll be in the bounce. I've tried Reinstalling PT, running Disk Warrior and Disk Utility, making sure my plugins are updated etc...

Could this be a DSP isue? I am taxing the system pretty well. Every time I try to create any additional send or outputs now it deactivates and reactivates the plug/sends. That might not be so good.

Anyone else seen this? Suggestions?

I have a feeling this won't go away next week when we're supposed to finish this and I'll be screwed.

MAC Dual 2.0 2.5 GB RAM
PT HD3 Accel
__________________
PT 12.7 HDX 2/Mac OS 10.10.5
2012 Mac Pro 3.46GHZ/64GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-04-2006, 01:47 AM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,668
Default Re: Persistent \"Clicking\" on tracks. PT7 bug?

Hi,
if you search my name threads you'll see what a feedback it got here. It also includes Digi responds to this topic.
There are many helpfull things out there but in short you can do following:
1. PT 7.2 is very RAM hungry, so having 2.5 GB of RAM or more is good idea. Especially it's important if you work with AS plug-ins (try it and you'll get why)
2. PT 7.2 became very capricious program, comparing to previous versions. You must be ALL plug-ins updated, and pay attention to Waves particulary.
Try not using Waves at all or at least avoid their Delay and Reverbs - from my experience they coused spikes and clicks.
3. Install CS2 update.
After all this done delete databases.
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2019.6 Ultimate ● macOS High Sierra 10.13.4
MacPro 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
Avid HD I/O ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Persistent DAE error 9073 TL4500 Pro Tools 10 40 11-15-2013 09:49 PM
Persistent effects possible? moff Eleven Rack 18 06-11-2011 09:07 PM
double-clicking grouped tracks removes group editingbehavior drguitar Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 11-07-2007 10:53 AM
Persistent 7.3 problems muzak13 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 04-08-2007 05:37 PM
Persistent clicking with Mbox truetoneman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-24-2005 04:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com