Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-11-2018, 03:15 PM
jamesleonard jamesleonard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 144
Default Reverting from 2018.3 to 2018.1

Hello, I wish to revert back to 2018.1. I am on 2018.3 at the moment and I have done all the specifics, i.e.:

Log in to my Avid Account > My Account > My Products and Subscriptions > Annual Upgrade Plan for Pro Tools (Reinstatement).
Clicked on 'Show' beside Product Details and Download Links.
Download my installers for Pro Tools 2018.1. (the usual...)

I have downloaded it twice now... But each time it is still showing the 2018.3 version. I have never even contemplated downgrading before - and I never had to - however, this time I need to re-examine a sonic technicality.

What is the procedure for this please?

Last edited by jamesleonard; 03-11-2018 at 04:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-11-2018, 03:43 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,600
Default Re: Reverting from 2018.3 to 2018.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesleonard View Post
Hello, I wish to revert back to 2018.1. I am on 2018.3 at the moment and I have done all the specifics, i.e.:

Log in to my Avid Account > My Account > My Products and Subscriptions > Annual Upgrade Plan for Pro Tools (Reinstatement).
Clicked on 'Show' beside Product Details and Download Links.
Download your installers for Pro Tools 2018.1. (the usual...)

I have downloaded it twice now... But each time it is still showing the 2018.3 version. I have never even contemplated downgrading before - and I never had to - however, this time I need to re-examine a sonic technicality.

What is the procedure for this please?
you should see it in your account (see pic)

and you did not mention if MAc or PC .. if MAc, you can install both (just change the name of the one that is installed now .. ie: 18.0.3.285 .. if PC, you cannot have multiple versions of pro tools installed at same time
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2018-03-11 at 2.41.52 PM.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	47.0 KB
ID:	10143  
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-11-2018, 04:02 PM
jamesleonard jamesleonard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 144
Default Re: Reverting from 2018.3 to 2018.1

Hello, I assume you read my post - because I have explained everything there. Maybe I should of explained myself more...

I have downloaded 2018.1, (thrice now!) - but, when I 'Launch' Pro Tools it is still showing the 2018.3.0 version in the bottom left hand corner.

I want it to show the: 2018.1 version.

It's a Mac.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-11-2018, 04:05 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,471
Default Re: Reverting from 2018.3 to 2018.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesleonard View Post
Hello, I assume you read my post - because I have explained everything there. Maybe I should of explained myself more...

I have downloaded 2018.1, twice now - but, when I 'Launch' Pro Tools it is still showing the 2018.3.0 version. in the bottom left hand corner.

I want it to show: 2018.1 version.

It's a Mac.

Thanks
Simply delete the app from the applications folder and run the installer for the one you want.

Or you can simply rename the app 2018.1 and run the installer to have them both installed. Make sure you clean up what's in the Dock so the correct version gets launched.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-11-2018, 04:18 PM
jamesleonard jamesleonard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 144
Default Re: Reverting from 2018.3 to 2018.1

I have never had to do this before so bear with me...

Quote:
Simply delete the app from the applications folder and run the installer for the one you want.
You mean the Pro Tools App?

And I will not have to do this, see below:

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...uninstall-PT11


Because the bit about...:


If reverting back to a previous version of Pro Tools (e.g. 12.0 to 11.3.1), simply move the following files to the trash to manually remove Pro Tools from a Mac system:

Mac HD/Applications/Pro Tools (app)
Mac HD/Library/Audio/MIDI Patch Names/Avid (folder)
Mac HD/Library/Application Support/Propellerhead Software/Rex (folder)
Mac HD/Library/Application Support/Avid/Audio (folder)
Mac HD/Users/home/Library/Preferences/Avid/Pro Tools (folder)

NOTES:

- The Audio folder contains "Plug-In Settings", "Plug-Ins" and "Plug-Ins (Unused)"
- Most 3rd Party Plug-Ins are also installed in this "Plug-Ins" folder. Please back up the folders or just move to your desktop if needed.


is kind of daunting!

And I am not sure if this will apply to the versions - I am currently on now...?


So... Which is the right way?

Thanks

Last edited by jamesleonard; 03-11-2018 at 05:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-11-2018, 07:48 PM
jamesleonard jamesleonard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 144
Default Re: Reverting from 2018.3 to 2018.1

Recap:
I wish to revert back to 2018.1 from 2018.3


Hello,


1. When you state:


''Before you install Pro Tools 2018.1, make sure to uninstall your current version first.''


How do I do that?

Are you saying I have to uninstall pro tools?



2. http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...uninstall-PT11

This link is nearly three years old! - surely there is a newer version?

And the information contained in it - is laborious.


Somebody told me I had to do this, see below:


''Simply delete the app from the applications folder and run the installer for the one you want.

Or you can simply rename the app 2018.1 and run the installer to have them both installed. Make sure you clean up what's in the Dock so the correct version gets launched.''



...And somebody tells me I have to do that! There seems to be conflicting opinions here.


Which method is the correct procedure for the Mac?

Could you go through this, step-by-step for me please?


I just want to go back to 2018.1 - how hard can it be?


Thanks

F

Last edited by jamesleonard; 03-11-2018 at 08:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-11-2018, 08:15 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,600
Default Re: Reverting from 2018.3 to 2018.1

ok, i get your thing .. sorry ..

does the version in your account, once chosen for download show this file ??? and you are saying this is Still .3 after you start the install process / or after it is done ?? ..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2018-03-11 at 7.09.54 PM.png
Views:	0
Size:	14.5 KB
ID:	10144  
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-11-2018, 08:21 PM
jamesleonard jamesleonard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 144
Default Re: Reverting from 2018.3 to 2018.1

Yes yes and yes.

That is correct - I don't know why? - but it does.

Thanks for replying.

James

Last edited by jamesleonard; 03-11-2018 at 08:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-11-2018, 08:42 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,795
Default Re: Reverting from 2018.3 to 2018.1

Ok. I may be reading your post wrong (If I am, please forgive me.). It sounds like you downloaded the Protools 2018.1 installer (twice), and When you launch Protools, it still shows version 2018.3 in the bottom right corner. Is that correct?

The part that I don't read you doing is "running" the installation process to overwrite the currently installed version of protools. As some have stated, it is recommended to delete the current installation of Protools before installing a different version of Protools. This used to require an uninstall program but I think for a simple 2018.3 to 2018.1 downgrade, you can simply deleted the Protools application from your "Applications" folder (others can correct me if they disagree). Afterwards, you run the Protools 2018.1 downloaded file to run the installer. When it completes, then launch Protools and verify the version that is installed.

To reiterate, simply downloading Protools 2018.1 does not updated the installed version of Protools. You must run the installation from the downloaded file. Does that sound clear?

I hope this helps
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.13.6 running Protools 2018.7.0
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-11-2018, 09:06 PM
jamesleonard jamesleonard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 144
Default Re: Reverting from 2018.3 to 2018.1

Hi,

Thanks for your reply.

The important word I omitted was install - I realise that now

I should have wrote downloaded and installed (and looking back at my original post it is not there).

And I thought - by Installing over the 2018.3 version - it would overwrite this with 2018.1.


...And the bottom right hand corner (not left) mind you it is late over here: 03.00AM - and I am 'shattered'.

I shall try this immediately

Update: Yeah it's sorted Mate, 'Nice one.'

Last edited by jamesleonard; 03-11-2018 at 09:26 PM. Reason: My original request has been completed.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac OS 10.13.3 and Pro Tools 2018.1 ehaber Pro Tools 2018 4 02-26-2018 09:26 AM
Going from PT 6.4 to 2018 CDB Studios WI Getting Started 7 02-25-2018 05:32 AM
Xpand!2 2018 & Air Instruments 2018 lgreen100 Pro Tools 2018 16 02-15-2018 06:01 PM
Pt 2018 os x 10.12.6 Stys64 Pro Tools 2018 5 02-06-2018 09:14 AM
2018.1 and no Automation jre3132 Pro Tools 2018 5 01-26-2018 04:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com